J. Wray Silver rum

J. Wray Silver

Jamaica | Light

5.3/10
13 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
5
4

Rate J. Wray Silver

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

13 J. Wray Silver ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

neatonly πŸ‡­πŸ‡Ί | 3 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Has a lot of alcohol smell and bite, so not the smoothest to drink neat. Despite this I keep finishing and buying bottles. Ofcourse the price is great and it has a happy taste that I haven't found elsewhere: the taste of marshmallows. Notes: alcohol, candy, tropical fruits, sugar, vanilla.

(I think this is the same as Appleton White)

Seko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 166 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

This one is a very straightforward white mixer, with alcohol smell, a bit of a lemon in taste, relatively smooth, slightly sweet but unsweetened. It is not bad, but there is no Jamaican traits in it which would make me to look for this rum next time I am going to buy a white rum. Still good value for money though, as a basic white mixer it works quite well.

IceMan πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 12 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

There is nothing remarkable here. Not that there pretends to be, but this is a somewhat bland, oily, and rather pedestrian rum priced to compete with Bacardi. It is smoother than Bacardi, with slightly more flavor, but for only a few dollars more you can get a vastly superior rum somewhere else on the shelf. It has an aged note with some vanilla, and a fleeting bit of funk, but this is a rum you buy when you want to make a drink with rum but not taste rum. Sold for $16 at a local liquor store at the time of my purchase a year ago, but now selling for $20. At $16 it's okay. At $20, keep looking.

James πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 19 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Smooth for a lower price white rum. I get something of a rum flavor that almost appears before my mouth and insides are thoroughly disinfected. You get a slight gasoline aftertaste too. Bottle says it was aged...maybe they mean aged in the glass bottle before you buy it.

For $16 I'm not devastated.

MatLen πŸ‡¬πŸ‡· | 15 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

White, light rums are mixers. I see people ratting white, light rums very low mentioning the "sipping" factor. Nobody said that this kind is good for sipping. These are party, mixing, cocktail rums and should be rated as such. J Wray is an absolutely fine, fruity and tasteful rum. Far better than average found in grocery stores, got the funk and really enjoyable either with fruit juice or classic coke. Had it with sparkling pink grapefruit and a few grains of cinnamon. Fantastic. J Wray silver is Jamaica in the mix!

xrodriguez πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 23 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Definitely a mixer. But a very good one. Way better than Bacardi.

coolkayaker πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 16 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Good quality white rum with a good price. I always drink on ice or in my Pina Coladas. On the rocks, I get a smoky, smooth almost earthy and kind of roasted marshmallow taste. Not too bad!

Paul B πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 447 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I had already tried their horrible overproof as well as their gold rum, so I was hesitant to try this one. At only $16 in the hopes of finding hogo funk in a white rum, it was worth a try. Well, as I sip this one neat, all of the hogo has been filtered out. It is not offensive, but cannot quite compare to my top white rums. The back of the label recommends mixing it with fruit juices or using it in mojitos, and I agree on both counts. However, the fruit juices need to be more assertive than guava. This one is simply Appleton Silver in a new bottle and label. Much better than Bacardi Superior or anything from Captain Morgan.

scallywagg444 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 20 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Solid, but nothing special. Plain, but smooth, very little burn. I did read someone else say it is oily - I would need to sip again, but that sounds accurate. Not syrupy, no real flavors to detect (ultra-filtered?), but I drink my rum neat and this will do. No complaints, you could do worse. This rum at least has no added sugars or flavors (per the law in Jamaica).

Tikiducks πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 54 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

I can't really tell you why I like this rum. I could not get any real flavors from it, but to me it just tasted good.

whyisalltherumgone πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 6 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

It's an ok rum, and just that. The smell, somewhat tropical, is more pleasing than the taste. Poor for sipping, bad for shots, okay for mixing.




Brand Details

Name: Silver
Company: J. Wray
Type: Light
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading