Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year rum

Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year

United States | Aged | 40% ABV

5.9/10
81 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
2
7
7
9
21
27
7
1
0

Rate Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

81 Bacardi Gran Reserva 8-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Mark 🇨🇦 | 11 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I think the "bat device" took a massive guano in this barrel.... every year for 8 years. Serious gut rot. Serious water trots.

rhumjesus 🇨🇦 | 31 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

What a mistake this one was! I thought possibly Bacardi could make a good product if it was aged long enough... Wrong! this still taste like low tier shitty old standard bacardi gold! Don't waste your money on this.. Hangover waiting to happen, and adds nothing to a mix drinks flavor profile other than nastiness.

Pierre 🇨🇦 | 86 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

I’ve had worst Bacardi rum. I was expecting more from this one. Still not a very good rum. I come to the conclusion that Bacardi rums are not for me.

Wolfe Tone 🇳🇱 | 124 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Another sweet, flat and uninspiring bottle from the boys at Bacardi. More expensive than the reserva or gold, but just as bad.

Wahlman 🇸🇪 | 53 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

It tastes like you anticipates when you buy a bacardi but nothing special.

SkinnyRumPilot 🇭🇺 | 5 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

- Please take my review as a particular issue, I do not want to generalize. - I've bought this bottle of Bacardi with very high hopes, but I had to face my biggest disappointment in rums so far. The price is average for an 8 year old rum, maybe even a little less. The bottle looks especially appealing, classy, creates the impression of quality in the buyer. But let's check what's in it. After opening, I have to say, I encountered with the strangest smell of rum ever. It smelled totally like plastic, mixed with a bit of alcohol. Similar to when you buy new shoes with that stinky rubber sole... I tried to taste it, but this chemical scent was unfortunately present in the flavor as well. After taking another look at the bottle that's when I realized what has happened. It has a plastic corking - and the bottle I assume must have been stored somewhere for ages - and this plastic got interacted with the alcohol somehow, and started to release the penetrating chemical smell. Tasting was over. I've poured the rum into a clean scentless glass bottle and leave it for a while, just to give it another chance. Two weeks later, the smell improved a bit but the taste is still awful. So I decided to contact Bacardi about this, I'll try to update my review after receiving their reply. I wonder if this issue with the 'cork' affects all their product range, and whether some fellow rum fans had the same issue.

Rob 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

So, take this with a lot of salt, as this is my first rum review.
I gotta say, having drank Bacardi all my life (with coke) this was a major disappointment. I tried this neat, to experience all the flavors, and couldn’t discern anything good. There was just bitterness. I couldn’t finish the shot, dumped a bit of coke in it, and still tasted paint thinner. I preceded it with another rum neat, so I know I can enjoy rum, just this isn’t one to do it with.

Ron (Rum) 🇨🇦 | 4 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Well now, I expected a bit more from an 8 year rum particularly when the 12 - year Eldorado was priced a good 8 dollars less and was a much fuller, smoother taste. Not my favorite by any means. Is this a blended rum?

Christoph 🇦🇹 | 5 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I think the difference is that this one is from the Bahamas, while all the others are from Puerto Rico.
A little bit smokey and not too sweet. The taste itself is quite average.

xTarot 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

This is my go to option for a rum old fashioned. This, a splash of coconut syrup, some grenadine, and a cherry. It's a solid choice for sipping as well. Don't let the rum snobs scare you off. This is a great aged option for the price!




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Bacardi
Country: United States
ABV: 40%
Name: Gran Reserva 8-Year
Years Aged: 8
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: Yes

Articles

1. RumRatings
Loading...