Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
J. Wray Gold rum

J. Wray Gold

Jamaica | Gold | 40% ABV

5.4/10
30 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
1
1
1
12
6
9
0
0
0

Rate J. Wray Gold

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

30 J. Wray Gold Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

JackOrion ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 61 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Nothing of great interest here. Useful for the party well when making inexpensive drinks. Only the slightest hint of funk and pretty neutral. Nothing offensive so not a bad choice for making non rummies a tropical drink.

iedalgic ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I was pleasantly surprised by this rum. It has a little bit of the Jamaican funk, slight sweetness and oak. Not much burn for a rum that doesn't appear to be aged for too long, and very easy sipper. Not overly complex but the finish has a decent length, and the flavor is really nice.
Light in color but decent amount body. In my opinion this is better (and cheaper) than Appleton Signature blend.

RumGuy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 23 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

At $15 I doubt this is for sipping but let's give it a go...

Nose:
Very nice little funkiness going on. Very mellow on the nose, you really have to inhale deeply to get even a burn. Tropical fruits, honey, mango nectar, cooked banana is really strong.
Palate:
Surprisingly bland as it hits the tongue but develops as it goes down. The funkiness comes through really nicely. I would almost describe it as tangy.

Overall, this is a great cheap bottle to mix with or to sip on if thats your style. Very good example of a funky Jamaican rum with not too many frills. Very nice value for the price range.

Tim ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 82 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Decent enough as a Jamaican mixer, but lord have mercy bumboclaat, there is so much better.

Kurt Lauerman ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 41 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

No idea why Appleton Special renamed to this. Standard Jamaica rum, got that funk and probably not a sipper. Still an authentic Jamaica rum. Ya mon

revsteph (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 396 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Tasted 1/28/20 at Laka Lono
From the notes:
"ok. This is super strong. but/and I like it. I shouldn't, but I do."
Original rating was 4/5 rum barrels, so translated to a 7 in this system.

jru ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 114 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Not really great. But not bad either.
I get some aromas that arenโ€™t delightful but then sipping I get whisky like caramel, flanโ€ฆ
Some heat, also not ideal. Who has all perfect..
Edit , I agree itโ€™s a little plain. But a lot of people want a flavor where clean = plain-ish

Cool Breeze (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 606 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Bottle purchased in Tulsa, OK. Pitch golden color. Mild funkiness to the aroma. Slight tongue numbing palate. Mild cane sugar sweetness with some white grape notes. Slight cardboard finish. The aroma carries this.

Seko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 205 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This one goes right into coke and makes a very good job there. The Jamaican sweet banana and pineapple is present in the mix, not over the top, but pleasant and still recognizable in both smell and taste, without any added sugar. Would the smell and taste be stronger just a tad more - it would be an eight.

RosieSox ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 49 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

This is a non-confrontational gold rum. Just a hint of funk and no real burn. I would probably use it in mixed drinks but I am afraid it would not add much besides the alcohol.

rumtrinker ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 45 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

There is very little that would be remarkable about this rum. It has a little dundery funk, which is great. But only a very little. It is otherwise very tame, a bit of spices, a bit of orange or lemon maybe.

But it is quite dry. I do not think they added sugar to this. Or if they did, it is very little only. And this is great and deserves some credit.

Plus it works great as a mixer and it is inexpensive. Hard to recommend for sipping, unless one is looking for a very tame Jamaica experience. But a great choice if the goal is to get a little drunk and not spend to much time or effort on this.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: J. Wray
Country: Jamaica
ABV: 40%
Name: Gold
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No
Loading...