Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Flor de Caña 12-Year rum

Flor de Caña 12-Year

JA
had this rum recently

Nicaragua | Aged | 40% ABV | Column Still (1-4)

A sugar-free 12-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed in a Rum Old Fashioned or with a splash of premium sparkling water or ginger ale and an orange twist.

6.9/10
634 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
13
38
140
244
150
33
7

Rate Flor de Caña 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

634 Flor de Caña 12-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 89 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

A nice taste of vanilla, but a lingering aftertaste of hand sanitizer. Not my favourite.

Myrthe 🇳🇱 | 39 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The flavours aren't very strong in this rum but it's very smooth. No harshness at all so it's a great sipper for anytime.

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 256 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This is an affordable bottle of classic spanish column destilled rum. It mainly offers barrel influenced notes with a nose of vanilla, caramel, raisin and light tobacco but perhaps also a whiff of sweet orange. The taste is semidry and fairly rich with oak and a notable nutty and nougatlike sweetness, ending in some mild black pepper heat and tingles. The alcohol is also notable and perhaps not as refined as the 18 year expression, but it's not throwing the balance. Decent.

A1Lexo 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Was hoping for better, since it's relatively low priced, and ubiquitous. Has a bit of an acrid and rubber taste, with very little finish, and less molasses than I expected. I will use the rest of this bottle for guests who want a drink and haven't developed a palate yet.

Ed 🇪🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

I have edited my previous praising review (in fact erased it). My experiece dated back to the previous incarnation of this rum in its more beautiful rounded bottle. I rated it with a 10, so good it was for me.

I have been tasting the current offering on its new bottle and it's not as good. It's a real shame because I loved it before, sweared by it and recommended it as the best rum I knew, haven't tasted anything like it ever since. Previously I liked how dry/whisky like it was, its oakyness and depth... now it's more caramel tasting and less complex. I want to try again the 7 year Flor de Caña, maybe it would me more to my liking...

RumStrainClub 🇪🇪 | 1 rating
Posted 4 months ago

Best dry sipping rum for that prize. But flavor dissipates too quickly.

CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 95 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Fetch me up daft, but this be a decent rum! On the nose, she smells sweet, but not too much, with caramel, vanilla, and oak - standard rum fare - but she also has a bit of butterscotch, and every now and again, chocolate. As for taste, the caramel, vanilla and oak come on board first. At first past, she seems to list a bit on the dry side, but further samplin' shows her to be a decent balance between sweet and dry. There be little burn goin' down the hatch, and after, the chocolate surfaces along with spices that were clearly hidin' below deck. This be a crisp rum thru and thru with nothin' gummy or sugary lingerin' around to click your jaw about. Might this rum be suitable for pollutin' with other beverages? Not on my ship! I says this rum be strong enough to stand on her own... or I be a lubberly Dutchman.

Tom 🇺🇸 | 230 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

I love the Flor de Cana line of rums and the 12 year is no exception. For those of you that enjoy whiskey and bourbon, this is for you. For you rum lovers, you won't be disappointed either. No harsh flavor with limited heat going down. Complex characteristics with a nice contrast of oakiness and sweetness made for sipping neat. I would go with Flor de Cana's younger siblings for mixing with a less expensive price tag.

Emmanuel 🇸🇪 | 11 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

This rum is somewhat inbetween a sipper and a mixer.
Iits good enough for sipping without ice but its not the best at it.
It mixes well in drinks but lacks a bit of the punch of its younger siblings.
I would get a 7yrs and the 18yrs one for each purpose.

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 236 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Sugar: 0 gpl. Solid rum for mixing and if you want a sipping rum just add this to some ice and you will be quite happy. Not as smooth as the 18 year old but it is great value for the money here in Ontario. A step up from the 7 year old version. It's a must have in your collection at $40 a bottle.

HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 394 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Alcohol: 40%
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Nikaragua
Aroma: Hřejivá, nasládlá vůně s hutně hlubokými tóny skořice, kůže a medu. (85 b)
Chuť: Jemná, sametová chuť. Čokoláda, dřevo, karamel. Vše extrémně jemné, pro mě až lehce nevýrazné. V dozvuku trochu čokolády a dřeva. (81 b)
Body: 83
Shrnutí: Pokud někdo u rumů oceňuje jemnost, mohl by být s Flor de Caňou spokojen. Osobně mi jemnost nevadí, pokud se chuť ještě nějakým způsobem vyvíjí, tady se po jemnosti už nic zajímavého neděje. Od 12 let starého rumu očekávám více. Testoval jsem vzorek od kamaráda, kterému jsem tento rum sehnal.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Flor de Caña
Country: Nicaragua
ABV: 40%
Years Aged: 12
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
Women Led: Yes

Professional Reviews

1. Luxurious Drinks
2. Luxurious Drinks
3. Luxurious Drinks
4. Chips Liquor
5. RumRatings
6. Total Wine
Loading...