By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year rum

By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Indonesia | Aged

4.6/10
59 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
8
9
13
12
6
3

Rate By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

59 By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

ElPato 🇳🇴 | 38 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

First, I must admit I am not very experienced with arracks, so before I state “typical arrack” I must admit I would not know what I am comparing with.

Nose: Classic smell of aged molasses rum, with a touch more grass and herb, and a sweet smell you could be fooled into associating with spontaneous fermentation.

But on the palate it is very distinct, with subdued funk, and reveals the effect of the addition of rice in complex, pleasant notes of fresh yeast- a bit like boiling, red rice from Thailand but elegant and discrete.

The aftertaste is absolutely not bad for youngish rum. A clear 8, it feels easily like having the sophistication and wisdom of far older rums, yet the little rebellious je-me-sais-quoi from the rice component is certainly present.

Mihai 🇷🇴 | 212 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Un alt rom plecat din agricole cu arome subtile, fresh.

Wahlman 🇸🇪 | 48 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Väldigt spritig smak som river i halsen, gick knappt att ens blanda med cola för att få ner den.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 323 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Tested just a sample so it’s just a first impression, but I won’t dig deeper into it.
Molasses is used in this Indonesian rum and it’s distilled in pot stills. A special thing is that they are using some red rice in the yeast.
After distillation it’s aged in teak barrels for some years before transported to the Netherlands where it’s transferred to oak barrels.
The final blend consists of spirits aged 8 months, 3, 5 and 8 years, and bottled at 48% ABV.
From nose via palate to the finish, which is medium long mostly depending on on the alcohol content, I can recognize fruits, bananas and some notes of spices and arrack. I was expecting a lot more flavor of arrack.
Overall I think that everything is much too weak to catch my interest.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 515 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

I was kind of excited to try this rum do to its fancy packaging, its aging, and its relatively high price of over $50. But this rum really disappointed me.

Smells and tastes of rubber, sugarcane, oak, brine, grassy funk and leather. This rum is way too dry for my liking. But ignoring the dryness, it just tastes odd. The rice sounded interesting, but maybe that's what doesn't work here. A bit strong for the flavor as I only like strong rums when they're really good.

I'd rate this below the Bacardi & Captain Morgan rums, the Pusser's British Navy rums, and the St George California Rhums, none of which I particularly like. Other reviewers seem to agree with me. I typically rate rums about a point below their consensus rating, but this one is two points below - I think it's overrated a bit due to the high price.

2ephyr 🇨🇿 | 41 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Ve vůni se mi zdálo, že cítím trochu medu. Čekal jsem tedy jemnější chuť, ovšem to jsem se přepočítal. Zpočátku po napití je především ostrý s převládající hořkostí. Postupně však ustoupí a přejde do zemité chuti, která není zas tak nepříjemná. Něco na té Mary je :) Od indonézského rumu jsem čekal horší zážitek :)

Jonny Olsson 🇸🇪 | 162 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

It is a lot of arrack and vanilla in this, could have been a little bit more body but a positive surprise.

Corneliusl 🇳🇴 | 89 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Tried this at a rum festival. Not really my favourite. Sharp taste of alcohol, the barrel-ageing removes alot of the good tastes of the 1-year old.

ShakingSince95 🇳🇱 | 28 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Heavy on the esters, probably why maby reviewers are not used to the taste.

Heavy notes of nutmeg and clove with a taste of spicy and fruity esters. The oak aging really lingers in the finish.

Nkt as refined but a lot of character in flavours.

Staal 🇩🇰 | 59 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Very light amber color. Undefined artificial odor. Horrible burning sensation in your mouth. Only little smokey taste. Horrible!

Hedlund 🇸🇪 | 22 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Fy helvete. God eftersmak men inte värt jobbet att ta sig dit. Jisses.




Brand Details

Name: Batavia Arrack 8-Year
Company: By The Dutch
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading