By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year rum

By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Indonesia | Aged

4.6/10
60 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
5
9
9
13
12
6
3

Rate By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

60 By The Dutch Batavia Arrack 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Hedlund 🇸🇪 | 22 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Fy helvete. God eftersmak men inte värt jobbet att ta sig dit. Jisses.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 349 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Only Bacardi is worse. I give it a 2 for uniqueness. It is very different. But different doesn't always mean good. Dog crap rum would be different too.....obviously not good. I can see how some might like this. But I am not into pain and suffering. Dtinking shoukd be enjoyable!

F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k 🇸🇪 | 31 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Annorlunda rom, del av 25 Ruhms boxen. Inget jag skulle köpa en hel flaska av

BinoBRUCHHH 🇸🇪 | 31 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Väldigt annorlunda de rom som jag redan testat. Knappt någon fatkaraktär och smakar till viss liknelse som saké. Jäst ris och Gräsiga/blommiga toner. Helt OK men kommer inte köpa igen.

Teemuh 🇫🇮 | 24 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

aroma: hint of smokiness, grainy (maybe the rice?)
Taste: woody, oak, spice, dry with a tiny bit of sweetness

Somehow reminds me of scotch. Not my type of thing.
I think it would taste better unaged. Aging in a oak cask for so long hides its potential for me.

Going to try it in a punch recipe. Maybe that's where this shines.

To sum up:

+Unique aroma and flavor
+Nice bottle
-Pricy
-Too oaky

Marijke 🇳🇱 | 26 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Na de scherpe Plantation is deze een stuk zachter. Wel zuinig geschonken, als eerste rum van de avond zal hij misschien wat heftig zijn. Gezellige spelletjesavond weer!

Harrie 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Being from the Netherlands arrack (or arak overhere) is not a strange phenomenon; every well stocked liquer store will have a few bottles. I had different bottles in the past without knowing it was part of rums; I thought it stood on its own. Knowing better now I couldn't resist to give it one more go.

On the nose it really stands apart from other rums as there is hardly any fudge or vanilla there. Spices (ginger, cloves), fermented rice (it reminds a bit of sake), sweet flowers and passion fruit come to mind. On the palate it is remarkable mellow despite it has an ABV of 48%. The fermented rice becomes more prominent while the sweet flowers and fruit change a bit towards oranges with cloves. It has a lot of flavour but remains rather light and crisp at the same time. It is in between a sipper and a shot with a prolonged aftertaste of salty grasses.

Interesting and pleasant change of flavours compared to the average rum (as such a rum even excists) and while this will not become my daily glass it is definitely worth to give it a try.

Mastamt 🇳🇱 | 30 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Krachtige kruidige rum met een sterke afronk. Sterke geur en sterke krachtige smaak.

Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 537 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

- vůně květiny a med, částečně připomíná agricole
- chuť zpočátku jemná, nastupuje voltáž 48%, hořkost, květiny a med, závěr hořký, dochuť částečně agricole.
Panák, max dva bych zvládl, ale nákup láhve v žádném případě a to agricole mám rád

ElPato 🇳🇴 | 38 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

First, I must admit I am not very experienced with arracks, so before I state “typical arrack” I must admit I would not know what I am comparing with.

Nose: Classic smell of aged molasses rum, with a touch more grass and herb, and a sweet smell you could be fooled into associating with spontaneous fermentation.

But on the palate it is very distinct, with subdued funk, and reveals the effect of the addition of rice in complex, pleasant notes of fresh yeast- a bit like boiling, red rice from Thailand but elegant and discrete.

The aftertaste is absolutely not bad for youngish rum. A clear 8, it feels easily like having the sophistication and wisdom of far older rums, yet the little rebellious je-me-sais-quoi from the rice component is certainly present.




Brand Details

Name: Batavia Arrack 8-Year
Company: By The Dutch
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading