Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year rum

Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year

Jamaica | Aged | 43.0% ABV

6.6/10
116 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
16
29
46
16
5
1

Rate Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

116 Appleton Estate Reserve 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Mo McGurk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 215 ratings

Flavorful oak. A little strong afterburn. Mixed not quite there.

Posted 8 months ago by cmcalpine (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 8 ratings

such a great everyday sipping wine that transports me back to the Caribbean every time. Yeah, not top shelf but reliable, affordable, full flavour, a real cigar of a rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 228 ratings

Thought I would try the new Appleton Estate Reserve 8 Yr & Appleton Rare Casks 12 yr Rums recently released from Jamaica. I was really surprised with the younger rum which I find even better than the Older version of the Appleton Rare Blend 12 yr version and Its quality is definitely worthy of being drank neat. The new version of the 12 year (Rare Casks) is also much better than the older version and in my opinion both dessrve a โ€œ9โ€ rating.

Update (21-11-25): Reviewed score on this rum, still a very good sipping rum but not worth a โ€œ9โ€. Score reduced to โ€œ8โ€.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 362 ratings

Not one of my go to rums but I would drink it again if it was on a great sale. Decent rum for range but prefer Mt Gay.

Posted 3 months ago by lulabrooks ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 14 ratings

Works in drinks but plenty good to sip. Love Appleton so much.

Posted 4 months ago by Rcbobs ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 16 ratings

We did a vertical tasting of the Appleton range from the standard all the way to the 21, and this was the standout rum. A big jump up from the bottom of the range, but only a few dollars more. If you like heavy Jamaican funk, the 12 year may be more your style, but this 8 year is definitely the best value Appleton offer. The 15 would be the most similar step up from this one.

Posted 5 months ago by Polou ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท | 60 ratings

This rum is really good.
Good for mixing and sipping.
On the nose, we smell brown sugar with a hint of orange zest, vanilla and nutmeg.
The Hogo is here.
The mouth: we find the same flavors with a touch of honey, caramel and pronounced vanilla.

Posted 5 months ago by hopsquatch ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings

This rum surprised me, although I didnโ€™t exactly know what to expect. For clarification, being a HUGE fan of Jamaican rums (the more hogo the better!), I want super impressed with Appletonโ€™s Signature Blend. Itโ€™s fine, donโ€™t get me wrong, and Iโ€™d surely use it in cocktails, but itโ€™s not being drank neat. I was missing the funk and character of the Jamaicans I so eagerly chase. That all being said, I was hoping the 8 year Reserve would Reserve something a little more special for me. And it did! It had enough funk to remind me of its origin, and a nice smooth, lightly caramel and toffee backbone that begs for another sip. Think Plantation 5 year without the added sweetness/sugars. Superb rum for mixing, or sipping, and particularly at its modest price point.

Posted 9 months ago by MaxMunafo (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 67 ratings

I don't really ever drink this neat, but it certainly isn't offensive that way. I keep 2 bottles on hand for my home Tiki bar because it's priced reasonably enough to be an everyday mixer for me. I reach for this bottle whenever I need a little extra character without too much funk.

Posted 9 months ago by Tad Generic ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 28 ratings

I tried this alongside of the Bacardi 8. Both have that hint of molasses that I like, but this one is more spicy or peppery - it has some burn. It certainly has more character than their basic offering.

Would buy again.

Edit - Bumping this up to 9 to match the current 12 year rare casks offering, as to me they are almost identical. This is a better deal, however, and is looking to become my goto for sipping rum.

I guess I like the Funky Stuff

Edit - Hell with it - this one's my personal "10" for enjoyment/value

Posted 10 months ago by Djmillard (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 24 ratings

A fairly flat nose to this rum. Light oak and fruit, but really quite nondescript. This follows in the taste itself. It is easy to drink, even neat, and moderately sweet, but without a lot of character.

One of the woodiest rums I've experienced, adding water or ice just waters this down rather than opening it up. This has a pleasant flavor, but little more than that. It tastes like it was aged enough to smooth it out, but not long enough to develop much flavor.




Brand Details

Name: Reserve 8-Year
Company: Appleton Estate
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 43.0%
Aged: 8
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2886
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
545
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514