Posting your rating...
Real McCoy Limited Edition 12-Year rum

Real McCoy Limited Edition 12-Year

Barbados | Aged | 46.0% ABV

8.3/10
28 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
11
9
4

Rate Real McCoy Limited Edition 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

28 Real McCoy Limited Edition 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

Bottled at 46% aged in madeira & bourbon casks. Unadultraded rum from what I am quickly realizing as the vanguard rum distillery Four Square form Barbados. If you see it get it without hesitation.
Fantastic limited barrel aged rum. An absolute no brainer buy.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Gotta from Czech Republic with 9 ratings

Velice příjemný, dobře pitelný FQ. S nejlepšími rumy z této palírny soupeřit asi nemůže, ale doporučuji ochutnat.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 83 ratings

The Madeira really shines. Smooth coconut like mouth feel

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 1 year ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 321 ratings

I have a problem with private branding of others products, even if it slightly changed. This is no FourSquare, just an over priced rum with an extra middle man and marketting company. Why not just buy the real deal from the guy who makes it. Don’t get me wrong it was a decent full body dark aged real rum with some character, but not an 8, 9, 10

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by nomad from United States with 132 ratings

The bump in proof really makes this shine. The sweetness (created without additives, just impressive use of barrels) is absolutely perfect. My favorite style of rum, if you can call it that, are these wine finished spirits that impart sweetness while not being sweet. Masterfully done.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 252 ratings

The color is dark, probably imparted by the Madeira casks. The nose hits you with coconut, plums, brown sugar, subtle overly ripe bananas, sweet tobacco and leather. Given a little time, it's extremely inviting. Apart from the Madeira ageing, this is also a slightly beefed up version of the original 12 year, weighing in at 46% vol. The taste is very full and devolps quickly with dark notes of leather, tobacco, roasted coconut, and slightly spicy pepper. There's an underlying and rounded sweetness underpinning the power perfectly. This is bloody good and pure old barbadian rum. Love it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 485 ratings

I had this side by side with the Real McCoy 12-Year and I think they're both very similar and very close. I slightly prefer the regular Real McCoy 12-Year.

I find that stronger rums are better if they're very highly rated to me, and this one is right on the borderline where the regular version is still just barely better to me.

Smells and tastes of oak, bourbon, caramel, and spice. Smooth for 46%abv. Almost a tie with regular 12-Year, though again I slightly prefer that one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

The color is lighter brown hue, the label claims no "artificial colors or additives", so if something "natural" like tannin infusion was used, I cannot say. I would not mind, since color adjustments is defacto standard practice of the industry, bar some independent bottlers.

The nose is intense and pleasant, especially after adding a splash of water (recommended, since it's a 46 ABV rum), harmonious notes of gingerbread, apricots, dried apples.

The palate is on the sweet side, more apricots, brown cake, brown sugar, some vanilla, with pronounced Madeira cask influence, tempered by tannin astringency from the oak, medium-bodied with lingering, pleasant, warm finish.

The main selling point is the perfect harmony of this rum, both on the nose and on the palate. Currently my favorite rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 455 ratings

barva nahnědlá
- vůně velmi příjemná, Barbadoská, nasládlá, ovoce, koření
- chuť velmi jemná, nasládlá, spousta ovoce, koření

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 2 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 177 ratings

taste - 9/10
smell - 9/10
sweetness - 7.5/10
price/value rating - 7.5/10