Flor de Caña 18-Year rum

Flor de Caña 18-Year

Nicaragua | Aged

A sugar-free 18-year old, ultra premium rum that is sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade certified). From a 5th generation family estate, it is naturally aged without artificial ingredients, distilled 100% with renewable energy and KOSHER certified. A full-bodied rum with a long and smooth finish that lingers in the palate. Best enjoyed neat or on a rock, with a peel of orange.

7.3/10
500 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
9
15
62
147
181
63
15

Rate Flor de Caña 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

500 Flor de Caña 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Stefan 🇨🇭 | 17 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Geschmacklich dominieren bei diesem Rum eine aromatische Mischung aus Bitterschokolade, gerösteten Nüssen und Gewürzaromen. Der Abgang ist lang mit Eichen- und Karamellnoten.

ShakingSince95 🇳🇱 | 44 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

For an older rum the initial smell and taste is refreshingly grassy and citrus like. It evolves into notes of cherry raisins and oak in a nice long finish. Great sipper!

MaxMunafo (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 67 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Unremarkable. It’s certainly not bad, but if you like Flor De Cana just stick with the 12.

Bonandy 🇵🇱 | 81 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Rum light brown in color. Pleasant aroma. Slightly dry for me. Slightly sweet with no added sugar.

DMG 🇺🇸 | 15 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

An easy rum to compare this to is the El Dorado 15 Year. Similar enough in age and price. I find this smoother but sweeter, and a bit less complex than the ED 15. I dunno the pricing everywhere, but here the ED 15 is also usually a couple bucks cheaper (both sitting between $40-50).

This is a bit lighter, creamier, and sweeter. I'd describe the ED 15 as almost thick in texture. It feels and tastes more robust while a bit rougher around the edges. Neat, they are both quite good while different. I think I would prefer ED 15 on the rocks and this neat if I had to choose. On that note, if you are mixing with either for some reason, this probably would be the better mixer due to smoothness.

Overall a good rum, I would rate this 7.5 vs an 8 for ED 15. Gave it the full 8 since it's close enough. I recommend the ED 15 just a tad more but you can't go wrong with this.

Rhoffer97 🇺🇸 | 58 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Smooth and flavorful. Nice aroma up front, nice backend taste, and smooth going down. Definitely a nice sipper to end the night

Bramski 🇳🇱 | 21 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

The smell is mainly vanilla. Taste is quite smooth, little bit spicy, considably dry and balanced. There is nothing that is too predominant in it. Nice present afterburn that leaves you with a nice aftertaste and a longing for the next sip. Not top of the line, but really enjoyable.

NinjaHippo 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Smooth but not interesting enough to keep on my permanent shelf. Rated 7/10 for the full price ~$50 but recently grabbed a bottle on sale ~$38 during quarantine. I would bump rating to 8/10 at that price point.

Acutulus 🇺🇸 | 12 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I did a “vertical” tasting of the 4, 7, 12 & 18 simultaneously w/one of my sons. The results were exactly predictable and guided by the price points. It’s not unusual to have a lower aged rum best it’s elder “brother” but not here. The 4 & 7 are good for Cuba Libre’s while the 12 & 18 older brothers are better for sipping. Bottom line is that when I see the distillery promoting “ sustainably produced (Carbon Neutral & Fair Trade“ rather than the layers of flavors you know you’re not in the +8 range.

Guy 🇨🇦 | 9 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

After paying the price I was expecting more. I did not enjoy as much as diplomatica reserva, which is a fair bit less expensive... but I do have a bit of a sweeter taste pallet.

Florin 🇷🇴 | 49 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Fin. prezentarea e superba , atat desenul de pe cutie cat si sticla arata intr un mare fel, iar sticla e grea, si se simte premium. Iar sunetul dopului la momentul deschiderii e minunat ) ;dar sa trecem la ce conteaza cu adevarat :

Mirosul ma duce cu gandul la nucile care cad din pom si inca mai au nervuri fine verzulii pe coaja, ceva zahar ars , deasemenea se simte si taria .

Gustul e clar de nuca, asta ar fi gustul predominant, se simte inclusiv acea senzatie amaruie pe care o lasa si nuca in postgust . e o senzatie interesanta. Alcoolul isi face prezenta si se simte arsura imediat dupa gust, nu i puternica incalzeste putin inclusiv pe gat, e placuta . e usor uleios parca , o dulceata difuza impreuna cu aroma de zahar ars . Un rom sec, nu pare a avea zahar adaugat , in afara de aroma de nuca restul sunt difuze , nimic strident . am vorbit de nuca, nu cred ca mai e necesar sa amintesc de aroma usor lemnoasa )

Un rom fin fara indoiala, isi merita locul in orice colectie .