Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Hamilton 86 Demerara rum

Hamilton 86 Demerara

Multiple | Aged

7.3/10
54 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
0
0
3
4
25
18
4
0

Rate Hamilton 86 Demerara

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

54 Hamilton 86 Demerara Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

JackOrion ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 61 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is a great tiki mixer. Cut grass, molasses and licorice. Dry which is perfect for keeping the โ€˜sweetโ€™ down. The proof is spot on and comes through.
Perfect for those that like their tropical floating cocktails on the dry side.

Alas ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท | 534 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Overly burnt caramel nose and taste, burns way too much for being 43%, needs more time in the barrel

AdmiralRumsgood ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 11 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

The quintessential Demerara mixing rum is also a pretty good sipper. Side-by-side with El Dorado 8 (purportedly without dosage now in 2023 and sometime prior) and Hamilton 86 is an easy winner. All of the typical Demerara notes are there, burnt sugar, dark chocolate, a bit of smokiness, leather, caramel, a sort of peppery spicy bite to it. If you are looking for a budget Demerara rum for cocktails, especially tiki drinks, this is the one to have for sure.

Overall: 7.8 - great mixer, also very sippable, has a complexity to it that some of its contemporaries lack.

Jason ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 173 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Nice sipper with a lot of attitude. Several strong flavors such as smokiness, light sweetness, and some fruitiness. Nice caramel coloring with a smooth finish. Very surprised and very glad I got to try this.

Cool Breeze (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 606 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Bottle purchased in Wichita. Pours auburn color. Delightful aroma of caramel and hazelnut. Flavor is a bit disappointing- woody, spicy and vet bitter. I must admit that it makes a great Pearl Diver though.

Brooksington ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This rum is one of my favorites. It is my go-to for a rum and coke, the burnt toffee/caramel really work in that capacity for my palate. This isn't really a rum that I would relish sipping but making cocktails? Good lord, give me strength. I would give this rum a 10 if Plantation OFTD and Hamilton 151 didn't exist as this rum has lost it's priority in my liquor cabinet as my floater of choice. Major flavor bomb, my favorite budget demerara rum on the market(that I've tried mind).
My tasting notes: Nose is burnt toffee, palate is burnt toffee/caramel, molasses, hint of vanilla, finish is short.

Cork Review: 6.5/10 could be a lot more sonically satisfying, BUT! It does this thing where it kind of *clicks* into place right when you're done putting the cork back in. Reminds me of a Lustau sherry bottle for those familiar.

TheJayHawk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 75 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Aroma - molasses followed by caramel and brown sugar

Taste - brown sugar followed by molasses, cooked sugar, raisin, and a charred oak finish.

bjburris ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 3 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Smoky molasses flavor up front and great for mixing.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 502 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Real rum here folks. Tons of body. Beautiful in its purity. Nose of molasses and licorice. Entrance of molasses and dark fruit with banana notes. Almost a Demerara funk. Wood, smoke and plenty of body. Canโ€™t wait to try this in a Tiki drink. Short finish. Small bite. Decent sipper. Very respectable and has earned a permanent place in my liquor cabinet.

Corneliusl ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ด | 89 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This was a nice surprise. I am a huge fan of Guyanese rum and this didnโ€™t disappoint!

ScottN ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 35 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This has the caramel notes that you'd expect to find in a demerara. I still have a preference for another demerara rums, but you can't go wrong with this one for all mixing and tiki needs.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Hamilton
Country: Multiple
Name: 86 Demerara
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Chips Liquor
2. Total Wine
Loading...