Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Hamilton 86 Demerara rum

Hamilton 86 Demerara

Multiple | Aged

7.3/10
54 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
0
0
3
4
24
19
4
0

Rate Hamilton 86 Demerara

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

54 Hamilton 86 Demerara Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is a great tiki mixer. Cut grass, molasses and licorice. Dry which is perfect for keeping the ‘sweet’ down. The proof is spot on and comes through.
Perfect for those that like their tropical floating cocktails on the dry side.

RumGuy 🇺🇸 | 23 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Nice and dark, sweet and (subtly) smoky on the nose. I would almost say its scotch-y but the roundness that the sweetness brings wouldn't make that true. Some underripe fruits and a bit of berry.

Amazingly smooth, a nice bite on the finish, really a development across the palate. This is a really rich, sweet (not artificial whatsoever), and subtly fruity rum. Very unique and a great introduction to unadulterated Guyanese rums.

dl3000 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Very smooth, with all the smokiness and caramel tones one expects from a quality demerara rum. Great as a sipper or in classic tiki cocktails, but I think this rum really shines in a rum old fashioned. A must have for any rum enthusiast

nomad 🇺🇸 | 137 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

Sweet without being cloying. A tiki drinker MUST have.

AlbionKristof 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

Delicious sip tonight, smooth with a hint of barrel flavor. Solid lasting finish of spices. Very excited to try in some cocktails.

GH 🇺🇸 | 45 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Purchased in Charleston. SC, 10 years ago. Terrific mixer with coconut water, deep vanilla notes, rich tones across the palate.

GreyHoustom (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 39 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Tasted at the King Kahuna in Longmont, CO on February 24th, 2024. A go to/must have for cocktails.

Nose: Burnt molasses with some smoke
Taste/Palate: Brown Sugar
Finish: Medium

jcdelong 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Nice dark golden color. Definitely a sweet fruity taste. Bought it at a tasting by the FL rum society.

BravoTwo2 🇺🇸 | 19 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Good Demerara, plenty of smoky flavor. Goes great in drinks.

Gran Matteo 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

This one is nothing less than fantastic. I don't think I've rated anything above an 8, which maybe shows where I'm at in my rum journey, but this definitely sits happily with my favorites at the moment.

On the nose, deeply caramelized sugars, vanilla.

Palate is quite complex where you pick up a bit of the smoke, molasses, maybe even a nice chocolately coffee... And yet a hint of some funk that adds well desired complexity. Distinctly Hamilton, in my opinion.

Finish is very dry and pleasant, more vanilla, toasted bread, and maybe some black pepper.

After I finished my pour, I came back to smell the empty glass and it was pure brown sugar -- amazing. Love this rum. Maybe an 8.5. haven't had too many in the Demerara style to compare it to, but it's delicious.

Invertiguy 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

This is my first Guyanese rum, and what a rum it is! Dark in taste and color, this stuff is packed with all sorts of rich flavors. Chocolate, caramel, molasses, raisins, leather, and tobacco are all present in abundance on both the nose and palate, with a bit of a lingering sweetness despite not having any added sugar. A little too much young rum burn to be a great sipper but it really shines in a cocktail, especially in combination with something Jamaican for contrast. Definitely a bottle worth keeping behind your bar! I know I'll be making good use of it soon!




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Hamilton
Country: Multiple
Name: 86 Demerara
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Chips Liquor
2. Total Wine
Loading...