Ron Maja 8-Year rum

Ron Maja 8-Year

El Salvador | Aged

7.5/10
12 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
2
6
1

Rate Ron Maja 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

12 Ron Maja 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 11 months ago by Simson 🇨🇿 | 79 ratings

A rum from El Salvador, aged for 8 years in bourbon barrels. So it's not a solera. 40% ABV.

Bottle: unusual, conical.
Colour: Quite light, golden.
Nose: Intense and quite dry. It smells mainly of vanilla, overripe fruits (mango, banana, orange), floral nectar, wood and a little pepper.
Taste: Quite pungent at the beginning, then it fades slightly. It is drier at first, then turns sweet. I don't think it's a very sweet rum, though. On the palate I detect vanilla, fresh honey on the honeycomb, a slight bitterness from the wood and a lot of overripe orange. The flavour lacks subtlety for me.

Conclusion. This is more of a slightly above average rum.

Overall rating: 6.5 points from 10

Posted 4 years ago by Tomas 🇨🇿 | 173 ratings

Realy smooth start is followed by nicely full body and ends with chilli like burn. Pleasant surprise at this price.

Posted over 1 year ago by Seko 🇨🇿 | 161 ratings

This rum is not a unique in any sense, smell is for me the best part, oak, tobacco, demerara sugar and vanilla, the taste is smooth, but also also quite sweet and not very deep and elaborated, with toffee, butter, vanilla, the aftertaste is on the short side. Overall the rum is quite muted and the only strongly present tones in smell and taste are sugar and vanilla. I expected much more oak in 15y old rum, I expected the tobacco accent which is present in Malteco, Malecon and Abuelo rums, and overall much deeper smell and taste profile. None of these things I could find in this rum, which is a great shame. If you like light and sweet rums, you can add a point or two to my rating.

Posted 3 years ago by Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings

Rum from Panama, Contadora Island, which has matured in oak barrels for fifteen years. It has a very strong taste of vanilla, chocolate, mild hints of coconut and a sweet finish. It is a typical representative of Central American rums. Excellent price / quality ratio. Packed in a gift jute bag.

Posted 3 years ago by Mihai 🇷🇴 | 212 ratings

Deși destul de ieftin, surprinde cu o aromă ce aduce cu un parfum franțuzesc, plăcut și fin. Un rom ce poate fi degustat și sec dar on the rocks e cel mai bine primit..

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Ernest 🇨🇿 | 124 ratings

Spolu s Colomba rumem jsem ochutnal tento sladký rum. Je cítit po skořici, vanilce a kávě s mléčnou čokoládou. Musím říct, že z tojce Zacapa, Colomba a Contadora je podle mne nejsladší a nejvíc pitelný. Bude se tudíž docela rychle odařovat. :)

Posted almost 2 years ago by Simson 🇨🇿 | 79 ratings

Beautiful amber color. It smells nice of vanilla what is dominant there. There is no pungent alcohol in the glass.
The taste is delicate and very slightly sweet, although slightly stinging on the tongue. It lacks such density a bit. E.g. Diplomatico 12 tastes sweeter and is denser. There are some hints of chocolate and coconut in the taste. 15 years old should reportedly be the youngest component of the blend.

This is a cheap rum from Panama (24 EUR), which pleasantly surprised me. I think it's a little underappreciated. One of the best value for money. You can't expect a top experience within this price category, but in my opinion, whoever buys it, I believe, will not be disappointed. I also compared it with the similar and more expensive Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 and this one is a bit better for me.

I give 8.5 from 10.

Posted 2 years ago by tortemd 🇩🇪 | 65 ratings

Klasse Rum. Weich, harmonisch, vollmundig. Den oft bemängelten scharfen Abgang schmecke ich nicht. Würde ich erneut kaufen.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mike (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 145 ratings

Really not bad rum. Very smooth with nice aroma of vanilla, chocolate and sherry. The same flavours you can feel also in mouth followed by oak. Less sweet and it could be solid 8 but still very good rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by CsampoXL 🇨🇿 | 5 ratings

Jedná se o Panamu,klasika vyvážený ostřejší nejem aroma ale i dozvuk chutný rum co má co nabídnout neurazí ale ani nějak neosloví. Pozitivem je příjemný hřejivý pocit co graduje spolu s dozvukem sladkých tónů co se dostaví až po dalším doušku

Posted over 2 years ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 529 ratings

Příjemná Panama, sice ostřejší, ale voňavá a jemně nasládlá




Brand Details

Name: 8-Year
Company: Ron Maja
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2915
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514