Abuelo XV Napoleon Cognac Cask Finish rum

Abuelo XV Napoleon Cognac Cask Finish

Panama | Aged

Looking beyond Panama for inspiration, Napoleon is expertly finished in Cognac
casks from France for a deep explosion of ripe autumn fruit with elegant hints of
oak and dark chocolate.

8.0/10
87 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
15
40
23
5

Rate Abuelo XV Napoleon Cognac Cask Finish

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

87 Abuelo XV Napoleon Cognac Cask Finish ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

collinmaillard007 🇧🇪 | 34 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

This rhum has a very attractive nose and a great cognac taste.
Maybe in the same style as the Plantation XO 20th anniversary but moe straight to the cognac point.
Very warm kiss on the whole. A good daily pleasure

Chris 🇧🇪 | 100 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Last one of the finish collection I have tasted.
In glass, it looks sugary and leave streaks but once you taste it, it is more dry ( not too much ) as expected on the noze specially if you have tasted the Olorosso and/or the Tawny Finish before.
Again, like the 2 other ones from the collection, the Abuelo Napoleon is fruity and the kind of finish is easy to find. The aftertaste is quite short but well .. nothing is perferct , right ?
Good job from Abuelo.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 347 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Great distillery. Another superb rum. Smooth, smooth, smooth. Balanced. So easy to drink. Nice brandy flavor. Some oak and butter notes too. Shorter finish than the sherry cask. Less complex than the sherry cask but really good. Terrific sipper. Slightly better neat than in ice. Bravo Abuelo!

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 324 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Had just a sample for this tasting so it’s just a first impression, but I will probably not dig deeper into it.
It’s produced by Varela Hermanos which is one of the largest, if not the largest, producers in Panama.
The rum is produced of molasses in a four column still then aged in ex-bourbon oak barrels for fourteen years and one year in former cognac barrels whereafter it’s bottled at ABV 40%.
The aroma is dominated by sugar and vanilla. In mouth and palate is it possible to feel that it had been in cognac barrels but much lesser than expected otherwise is it the sugar and vanilla that dominates. The rather short finish taste about the same.
It’s overly sweetened, read somewhere that it was added 35g/l.
I had hard to judge it and stopped at 7-.
Picture: My emptied sample

Giovanni Bomoll 🇮🇹 | 37 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Ron Abuelo XV Cognac Cask Bottling Note
An interesting expression from Panamanian Rum range Ron Abuelo - a well-aged expression which has been given a finishing period in casks that previously contained Napoleon Cognac!
Ought to be a fascinating tipple...
-
Taste of:
caramel, chocolate, apple, vanilla, berries, cognac cask....
-
Awesome rum, sweet, aromatic, rich flavor,
one of my favorites.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 515 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

This is my least favorite of the Abuelo XV's. My favorite is the Tawny, then the Oloroso, then this. But it's good, and to me it beats the Abuelo 12, though none of the Abuelo XV's match the Abuelo Centuria, imho.

Smells and tastes of cognac, spice, leather, oak, and cacao.

Again, a pretty good rum, but if you only try one Abuelo XV, I recommend their Tawny.

Marc Cardinal 🇧🇪 | 399 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Cognac and oak are very present with some fruits notes like peach. Very sweet in mouth with floral aroma on final. Short aftertaste. A good rum to discovery special finish. Plantation will always be my favorite for this kind of work but a good job from Abuelo.

RummyDog 🇨🇦 | 34 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

This Rum leaves heavy lines, or fingers, on your glass, it’s enticing. The nose is of sur pineapple, apricot and hints of molasses. It pleasant and perhaps has a hint of honey in there too. The first hit is easy, even as I hold it in my mouth. Not big burn there, but after the first swallow there is a bit of an alcohol burn. I’m thinking I held it a bit too long (20 seconds).

The second hit is all pleasure. Pineapple and molasses are the main flavours that jump out. Oddly I get a hint of lemon in there too. It’s a rich flavour and nice blend that has it’s roots in the warm and tropical climate of the mountain wetlands of Panama. As a demerara/cognac Rum, it’s easy to sip and calls me back for more.

In the throat it’s easy but still noticeable. The heat is mild and does not put you off having another taste. The finish is sweet to start, yet after a few minutes fades to leave a slight bitter orange flavour behind. Not bad, just something to keep in mind if you don’t like a long finish. I can taste that the cognac barrel aging has had an impact on the Rum, it’s not a big component of the spirit as a whole.

Nzinni 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted over 1 year ago

Smooth start and a depth of flavor that develops over time and a smooth finish. Pleasant bite with no harsh burn. Almost too easy to drink

M. Geisser 🇨🇭 | 43 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I like the taste. It‘s sweet but not overly sweet. Nice colour. You can taste the cask pretty well but had Rums with Cognac cask finish that have been better. Would drink again.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2925 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Enjoyed a glass of Ron Abuelo XV Napoleon Cognac Cask edition while vacationing in Amsterdam. I'm surprised Ron Abuelo team did not choose a slightly different bottle design from their regular rums. At least the label design is a bit updated from the usual. Color is deep brown. You get a strong banana flavor to both nose and palate. It is very close to the Plantation 20th Anniversary rum both in nose and palate tests. Hardly any burn due to large sugar contents. My ranking for Special Edition Abuelo Rums is Napoleon (8), Tawny (7), Oloroso (5).




Brand Details

Name: XV Napoleon Cognac Cask Finish
Company: Abuelo
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading