Posting your rating...
Abuelo XV Tawny Port Cask Finish rum

Abuelo XV Tawny Port Cask Finish

Panama | Aged

Looking beyond Panama for inspiration, Tawny is innovatively
finished in Port casks from Portugal for bold layers of sweet red
fruits and opulent summer berries.

8.2/10
64 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
13
16
27
5

Rate Abuelo XV Tawny Port Cask Finish

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

64 Abuelo XV Tawny Port Cask Finish ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 74 ratings

Beautiful color. It's a smooth sipper that's not overly sweet, but sweet enough for my taste. Seems I can appreciate port cask rums. Will try more :)

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 496 ratings

I prefer this to the Abuelo XV Oloroso and XV Napoleon. To me, the port has a much nicer smell and taste than the sherry or cognac does.

Semi-sweet, which smells and tastes of port, brown sugar, spice, leather, berries (from the port), and cacao. Definitely good. But for port aged rums I prefer the Foursquare 9-Year Port Cask Finish even more as it has a little better flavor. :-)

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 440 ratings

Medium Dry, with full sweet red grapes taste. Very woody. Long finish. Superb color, great high notes, one can really feel the Tawny Porto wine in it.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by @nonymous from Australia with 2 ratings

As a South American who grew up driving by the sugar cane plantations, rum has always been close to my heart.

This expression of Panamá's Abuelo is absolutely refined and smooth, punching above its weight when compared to other sublime and more expensive drams.

It's sweet and polished, thick on that first sip and not at all sharp on the palate. Notes of port and sticky date pudding. Superb!

Small 20201212 180925

Posted 10 months ago by Jacko from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Very delicious zipper...Easy to drink.. A lot of Tawny port flavours in it....Nice

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 10 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 346 ratings

First night in Panama the Hilton had the entire double aged series on display. I am partial to Port aged rums and tried this one first. Deep dark color in the bottle smooth and not to sweet with a nice port finish. Highly recommend.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 286 ratings

Beautiful. Port cask aging shines through. Oak and white pepper notes. Very smooth. Great balance. Another superior rum from Abuelo. Long sweet finish. I like the Sherry cask finish just a bit better but this is sumptuous. A definite 9.

Small la ruta del ron oficial logo

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 132 ratings

u nombre dice mucho añejado por 14 años en barrica de roble blanco americano y un año en barril de oporto este rum se hace presente con notas dulce en boca lo va a dejar como el favorito de las niñas ya veran un sabor para enamorarse por solo 65.00 excelente calidad

Ffffff

Posted 8 days ago by Gastovski (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 92 ratings

Aroma: Karamel, med, ovocnost a travnaté tóny
Chuť: Zvláštně ovocná poté lehce kořenitá, sladká
Dozvuk: Koření, směs bonbónů a úplně nakonec rozinky
Sladkost: 3/3
Dosti se podobá XV Oloroso, ale je o dost sladší a kořenitější. 2. místo z trojice Abuelo XV.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 41 ratings

Port, port, so very port! The aroma might not be the most awesome, but the taste is so much port… love it!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Martin Roman from Slovakia with 46 ratings

Abuelo XV Tawny Port Cask Finish - Bitter taste with good aroma