Abuelo XV Tawny Port Cask Finish rum

Abuelo XV Tawny Port Cask Finish

Panama | Aged

Looking beyond Panama for inspiration, Tawny is innovatively
finished in Port casks from Portugal for bold layers of sweet red
fruits and opulent summer berries.

8.2/10
69 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
14
18
29
5

Rate Abuelo XV Tawny Port Cask Finish

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

69 Abuelo XV Tawny Port Cask Finish ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Markus Lehto 🇫🇮 | 44 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Port, port, so very port! The aroma might not be the most awesome, but the taste is so much port… love it!

Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Medium Dry, with full sweet red grapes taste. Very woody. Long finish. Superb color, great high notes, one can really feel the Tawny Porto wine in it.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 515 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I prefer this to the Abuelo XV Oloroso and XV Napoleon. To me, the port has a much nicer smell and taste than the sherry or cognac does.

Semi-sweet, which smells and tastes of port, brown sugar, spice, leather, berries (from the port), and cacao. Definitely good. But for port aged rums I prefer the Foursquare 9-Year Port Cask Finish even more as it has a little better flavor. :-)

@nonymous 🇦🇺 | 2 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

As a South American who grew up driving by the sugar cane plantations, rum has always been close to my heart.

This expression of Panamá's Abuelo is absolutely refined and smooth, punching above its weight when compared to other sublime and more expensive drams.

It's sweet and polished, thick on that first sip and not at all sharp on the palate. Notes of port and sticky date pudding. Superb!

Jacko 🇳🇱 | 22 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Very delicious zipper...Easy to drink.. A lot of Tawny port flavours in it....Nice

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 371 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

First night in Panama the Hilton had the entire double aged series on display. I am partial to Port aged rums and tried this one first. Deep dark color in the bottle smooth and not to sweet with a nice port finish. Highly recommend.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 347 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Beautiful. Port cask aging shines through. Oak and white pepper notes. Very smooth. Great balance. Another superior rum from Abuelo. Long sweet finish. I like the Sherry cask finish just a bit better but this is sumptuous. A definite 9.

Tony Lindo 🇵🇦 | 132 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

u nombre dice mucho añejado por 14 años en barrica de roble blanco americano y un año en barril de oporto este rum se hace presente con notas dulce en boca lo va a dejar como el favorito de las niñas ya veran un sabor para enamorarse por solo 65.00 excelente calidad

randycous (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings
Posted 21 days ago

This is a great rum. Great flavors, very smooth, nice finish. It has a little more body - some rums are watery compared to this one.

djswitch007 🇺🇸 | 22 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

This is a very smooth rum. My favorite is Foursquare, but this rum is definitely in my top 5!

Kevin 🇺🇸 | 45 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

This rum which is aged at 15yrs has a nice flavor to it but at 15yrs old most rums don't require additional flavoring so I'm sceptical with the age. There's no way to tell it's 15yrs old except the printing on the label. I have found most 15yr old rums I've tried have a definite tell tale sign of the wood cask it sat in. This does not have that note! Now maybe 10 or 12 yrs max, maybe! Now, is it the port casking that inhibits those wood notes? At $80 a bottle I will not look any further. At $40-50 as other 15yr old rums go for I might give it another try. So I move on as that is my favorite ride with rum! It got a 7 because it was an interesting ride. If it was properly priced I would've given it more.




Brand Details

Name: XV Tawny Port Cask Finish
Company: Abuelo
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading