Havana Club Anejo Classico (PR) rum

Havana Club Anejo Classico (PR)

Cuba | Aged

5.5/10
45 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
10
7
16
6
3
1

Rate Havana Club Anejo Classico (PR)

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

45 Havana Club Anejo Classico (PR) ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Troy 🇺🇸 | 29 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I bought it based on The Rum Manual. I got a little bottle behind the counter. It’s okay to say the most. I mean if this your first time drinking rum or short of cash, get it. You would hope the name would tease you a little to try it. Not for me.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 452 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

About a year ago, I saw a bottle of this at Hard Rock Cafe. Since Obama was still President, I figured some of the Cuban products were finally allowed into the USA. Wrong! So I did some research on it.

Way back in 1959 when Fidel nationalized Cuba, the owner of this secret recipe fled back to his native Spain. Meanwhile, the beginnings of the Bacardi rum family fled to neighboring Puerto Rico. Eventually, the man with the original Havana Club Rum recipe hooked up with the Bacardi family. This rum was born. And then the Cuban version of Havana Club sued them, which is why these USA bottles must label it as "Puerto Rican Rum". As far as I am concerned, since soil and climate conditions are similar on both islands, the one with the original recipe has every right to call it Havana Club. Meanwhile, back in Cuba, they are stockpiling Havana Club Rum with new labels called Havanista. They are waiting for the USA embargo to be lifted to export Havanista Rum to the mainland USA. Guess what? That won't happen in the near future. This whole story sounds like, "What came first? The chicken or the egg?". Who cares! I am just glad that this rum is available in the USA for only about $20.

I would describe the taste as being fruit forward with nothing offensive. It is okay on the rocks, but not as a neat sipper. I like to mix it with various tropical nectars such as guava, mango, guanabana, or tamarind. I also have bought quite a few bottles since I tried it, but most merchants in this area call it a slow seller because bourbon drinkers do not know what to do with it.

Craiglee 🇳🇱 | 97 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I'm not sure if this is sold outside the United States. Background is debatable to say the least. Grabbed a couple of miniatures, among many others, for the flight back from Miami. One of the worst tested that night.

Jason 🇺🇸 | 135 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I was surprised with this one. The color looks a little watered down and the nose is almost straight alcohol, but the flavor was a nice surprise. Notes of sweetness and some spice but a little rough on the finish. It’s not the best sipper but can be done in a pinch. However, this would make for a very good mixer. Either way, can’t go completely wrong either way.

abel4us 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I love the Cuban version when I had it in Mexico. Thought I'd try the Puerto Rican Havana Club. Does not taste similar. This is a good mixer. Nothing terrible, just not great.

Color - Light Golden
Aroma - Perfumy, alcohol
Flavor - Black licorice
Finish - Black pepper
Mouthfeel - Thin syrup
Balance - Slightly harsh

Troy 🇺🇸 | 27 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Makes my brain feel nice. I don't know if it's actually good, but I like it

Russ 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Nothing objectionable here, just a nice smooth mellow rum with no strong flavors. It may not be deep, rich or complex but it's good.

David 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Only good for mixing with a coke . Dont waste your money .

PapaKielbasa 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Watered down, color added, no character. Kinda sweet and woody. Use this if you're out of all other aged Spanish style rums. It'll be fine.

Pirate 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Was looking for a mixer for a party so didn't want to spend a lot. Saw this on sale so decided...why not? I was surprised that in spending just under $20, that it far outpaced all the "standards" like Bacardi and Myers. Would I drink it neat or on the rocks? Only if I had no mixers. Would I buy again? Yes.
Taste: A little citrussy, a little bitter, hints of tobacco, and oak, but nothing that jumps forward in the taste. Recommend to only use it with your favorite mixer for those used to buying Bacardi or Captain Morgan. I think you'll find it a great swap.
Smoothness: Not very, but smoother than many of the more "well known" rums.

Kychy28 🇺🇸 | 25 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

6.50/10 decent priced mixing rum for cocktails, doesn't hold any weight against the real "Havana Club" though.