Posting your rating...
Havana Club Anejo Classico (PR) rum

Havana Club Anejo Classico (PR)

Cuba | Aged

5.5/10
41 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
10
5
14
6
3
1

Rate Havana Club Anejo Classico (PR)

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

41 Havana Club Anejo Classico (PR) ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Captain Ron from United States with 9 ratings

If you're breaking away from rum mixed with anything this is a good intro to rums that can stand on their own. Smooth with light vanilla notes. Put it on ice for bit to calm it down and let the vanilla shine.

Posted 4 years ago by Paul B from United States with 420 ratings

About a year ago, I saw a bottle of this at Hard Rock Cafe. Since Obama was still President, I figured some of the Cuban products were finally allowed into the USA. Wrong! So I did some research on it.

Way back in 1959 when Fidel nationalized Cuba, the owner of this secret recipe fled back to his native Spain. Meanwhile, the beginnings of the Bacardi rum family fled to neighboring Puerto Rico. Eventually, the man with the original Havana Club Rum recipe hooked up with the Bacardi family. This rum was born. And then the Cuban version of Havana Club sued them, which is why these USA bottles must label it as "Puerto Rican Rum". As far as I am concerned, since soil and climate conditions are similar on both islands, the one with the original recipe has every right to call it Havana Club. Meanwhile, back in Cuba, they are stockpiling Havana Club Rum with new labels called Havanista. They are waiting for the USA embargo to be lifted to export Havanista Rum to the mainland USA. Guess what? That won't happen in the near future. This whole story sounds like, "What came first? The chicken or the egg?". Who cares! I am just glad that this rum is available in the USA for only about $20.

I would describe the taste as being fruit forward with nothing offensive. It is okay on the rocks, but not as a neat sipper. I like to mix it with various tropical nectars such as guava, mango, guanabana, or tamarind. I also have bought quite a few bottles since I tried it, but most merchants in this area call it a slow seller because bourbon drinkers do not know what to do with it.

Posted 1 year ago by Craiglee from Netherlands with 87 ratings

I'm not sure if this is sold outside the United States. Background is debatable to say the least. Grabbed a couple of miniatures, among many others, for the flight back from Miami. One of the worst tested that night.

Posted 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 102 ratings

I was surprised with this one. The color looks a little watered down and the nose is almost straight alcohol, but the flavor was a nice surprise. Notes of sweetness and some spice but a little rough on the finish. It’s not the best sipper but can be done in a pinch. However, this would make for a very good mixer. Either way, can’t go completely wrong either way.

Posted 2 years ago by abel4us from United States with 11 ratings

I love the Cuban version when I had it in Mexico. Thought I'd try the Puerto Rican Havana Club. Does not taste similar. This is a good mixer. Nothing terrible, just not great.

Color - Light Golden
Aroma - Perfumy, alcohol
Flavor - Black licorice
Finish - Black pepper
Mouthfeel - Thin syrup
Balance - Slightly harsh

Posted over 4 years ago by Troy from United States with 27 ratings

Makes my brain feel nice. I don't know if it's actually good, but I like it

Posted over 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 2 ratings

Nothing objectionable here, just a nice smooth mellow rum with no strong flavors. It may not be deep, rich or complex but it's good.

Posted 5 years ago by David from United States with 7 ratings

Only good for mixing with a coke . Dont waste your money .

Posted 1 month ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 292 ratings

This is pedestrian. But would make a great mixer. Want to add punch to your punch? This is the one for you. Smooth without vgaracter or demarcation. Boring but not offensive. Blows Bacardi away.

Posted 4 months ago by Chaffinman from United States with 25 ratings

Not much character to this one, not bad but this bottle will probably last a while with other better choices in my bar.

Posted 6 months ago by dzheyden from United States with 10 ratings

mixes amazing with coca cola. would be a great gift for somebody.