English Harbour 10-Year rum

English Harbour 10-Year

Antigua and Barbuda | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

7.6/10
62 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
21
21
10
2

Rate English Harbour 10-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

62 English Harbour 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

don 🇨🇦 | 12 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Wish I could afford this all the time .This rum has it all very good

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is a delicious rum for sipping neat because it has an abundance of warm flavors...toffee, coffee, vanilla, burnt sugar and some spice. It's mighty fine and perhaps worth a nine rating but the price (US $95) knocks it down a solid notch. I can buy 4 bottles of Seale 10yo rum for less than the price of just 1 bottle of this rum, also 10 years old. No contest.

Golfm 🇩🇰 | 154 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Rums under the English Harbour label are produced from fermented molasses via copper pot distillation. Maturation takes place in small 220 litre x-whisky and bourbon barrels. This 'Reserve' bottling has been aged for a minimum of 10 years, with components up to 25 years of age included in the final blend.
Taste like EL15

Montana 🇩🇪 | 74 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

A smell of vanilla, oranges, cinnamon.
A well balanced taste of sweetness and bitterness, a little bit fruity.
The finish is long and mild, later on it gets sweeter.

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 247 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The English Harbour Reserve 10 yr rum is a new addition to the Rum lineup available in my area, which retails $62.48 in Nova Scotia, Canada. This is a dry rum (as many have expressed) and it is indeed very tasty. Definitely a rum I will keep in my cabinet

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 337 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I’m a fan of English Harbour and this one doesn’t disappoint me.
Today there’s only one remaining distillery in Antigua which is the Antigua Distillery Ltd (ADL). It was founded when some local rum shop owners got together in 1929 mainly to streamline purchasing and management of the molasses and to get better control over the production, and three years later the company saw the light of day.
1933 they moved to the new built distillery on Rat Island in St. John. Then they had a 4-column copper Savalle Still. At that time the molasses was bought locally.
In the beginning the owners blended and bottled the rum under own label to sell in their shop. It was first in 1947 they released a joint rum, the Cavalier.
In 1991 they replaced the Savalle still with a new 3-column copper John Dore still, and just three years later the English Harbour Rum was released named after the harbour in the south of the island which Admiral Horatio Nelson and the English fleet used during the 18th century.
Today there’s no sugar cane plantation in Antigua instead the molasses is bought from Dom. Rep. and Guyana. After arrival it’s fermented in open-top fermenters were the added yeast marries with wild yeast.
This rum is after distillation aged in former used bourbon barrels of American oak which are charred inside for between 10 and 25 years. To enhance the oak taste is a handful of oak chips added to each barrel. After the aging it’s blended and bottled at ABV 40%.
In the aroma and in mouth and palate I recognize vanilla, sugar, oak, toffee, vanilla and a hint of black pepper. The finish is balanced and very round.
Overall it’s very dry and oaky.
It can’t compete with the 1981 but it’s a fantastic rum which I always enjoy when I find the way to the bottle.
Picture: My ADL shelf.

Stabby 🇨🇦 | 68 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Purchased this due to my love of English Harbour 5 year. I is better than the 5 year but only slightly. Would give it an 8.5 if i could. Surprisingly, not very sweet but has a great finish of vanilla.

borgmanb 🇺🇸 | 46 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

A pleasant surprise for the $30 I paid in St. Kitts (seems like more than double that elsewhere). N: Oak and some honey, almost scotch-like. T/F: big early spice and then an almost candied sweeter fade. Solid aged rum without any of the alcohol notes or hollowness that can drag a score down.

Nielf 🇩🇰 | 188 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Denne rom er smagt til whiskymesse 2022 i Kolding.

RumGuy1 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

It has a strong alcoholic taste for something in this price range. Not much complexity and it’s a bit thin. Not a horrible rum but the English Harbour 5 year is a better buy for the price.

filovo 🇨🇿 | 331 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

barva svetlější mahagon
vune slabší, vanilka, dřevo
chut jemná, bez vyraznějších chutových profilu. sušší
zaver bez alkoholu, s lehkou vanilkou
hodnoceni 80
koupit ano z 75%