Fortress Gold rum

Fortress Gold

Canada | Dark

7.0/10
23 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
5
10
2

Rate Fortress Gold

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

23 Fortress Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Stabby ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 68 ratings

Great rum! Nice amber colour with a great bouquet. Initial sip was a bit strong but let the bottle breath several minutes and it has mellowed. Nice oakey flavour and hint of molasses and caramel. It originates in Cape Breton. Hard to find because it is so new but worthy purchase.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andrewofcalgary ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 157 ratings

Smells stringent but finishes smooth. Sweet and satisfying. Not bad for the price. Goes best with lobster tails and garlic butter with chives.

Posted 2 years ago by Admiral Tyler ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 7 ratings

Tried this at the recommendation of the liquor store owner. Smaller distillery but I qanted to give it a try. Very nice smell and on tasting a hint of vanilla and some sweetness. Not overpowering but just a nice smooth slightly sweet rum. Well worth picking it up.

Posted 4 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 228 ratings

Fortress Rum

Received this bottle of Fortress Rum as a birthday gift from my daughter from Nova Scotia. To my knowledge the rum originates from Jamaica but is bottled in Nova Scotia and the Fortress on the label is that of the โ€œLouisbourg Fortressโ€ in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. I must say that the bottle presentation and label are โ€œFirst Classโ€ are very appealing.

My first impression from the nose was disappointing in that I did not detect much other than a faint smell of molasses. My first sip was also reminded me that this rum is very young and hasnโ€™t had the opportunity to age for any length of time yet it is much better than many young rums I have sampled. The more I sipped on this rum, the more I enjoyed the experience. Fortress Rum is by no means on par with many aged rums that I keep on hand but nevertheless is very enjoyable.

I would rate the rum itself a 7 BUT must admit the presentation warrants an extra point, therefore an 8 it is. Well Done. ๐Ÿ‘

Posted almost 5 years ago by Josh Osborne ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 4 ratings

Once uncorked, my first reaction was to the pleasing aroma of oak and apple. The taste is remarkable, strong at first like the other two reviewers noted, but balanced and flavourful once it breathes. Very impressed and proud to see such an excellent spirit come from the province next door.

Posted over 5 years ago by Andrew Lantz ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 19 ratings

Being from NS we haven't had a number of great local rums until now. Over the last 2-3 years there have been some great local rums being produced here at home that rival the big boys. Great taste, like the other rater said, rough on the initial sip, but once it breathes it's much better.

Posted 24 days ago by Sbf2022 ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 5 ratings

This rum has great flavors and a great story behind it. Buy it when you can you won't be disappointed

Posted 1 month ago by Jleveille ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 19 ratings

Really enjoyed, not the best I have had but pretty smooth compared to some others of a higher price. Not sure how ages it is. Slight maple taste?

Posted 5 months ago by Barterfamily0407 ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 9 ratings

I was surprised that it is made in NS. Not easy to find but worth a try

Posted 6 months ago by keithfoster00 ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 12 ratings

Once it breathes it has a nice oak and sweet smell. An easy sipping rum on ice. Very affordable.




Brand Details

Name: Gold
Company: Fortress
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2886
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
545
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514