Fortress Gold rum

Fortress Gold

Canada | Dark

7.0/10
24 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
6
10
2

Rate Fortress Gold

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

24 Fortress Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Stabby 🇨🇦 | 68 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Great rum! Nice amber colour with a great bouquet. Initial sip was a bit strong but let the bottle breath several minutes and it has mellowed. Nice oakey flavour and hint of molasses and caramel. It originates in Cape Breton. Hard to find because it is so new but worthy purchase.

Andrewofcalgary 🇨🇦 | 164 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Smells stringent but finishes smooth. Sweet and satisfying. Not bad for the price. Goes best with lobster tails and garlic butter with chives.

Admiral Tyler 🇨🇦 | 7 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Tried this at the recommendation of the liquor store owner. Smaller distillery but I qanted to give it a try. Very nice smell and on tasting a hint of vanilla and some sweetness. Not overpowering but just a nice smooth slightly sweet rum. Well worth picking it up.

Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 239 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Fortress Rum

Received this bottle of Fortress Rum as a birthday gift from my daughter from Nova Scotia. To my knowledge the rum originates from Jamaica but is bottled in Nova Scotia and the Fortress on the label is that of the “Louisbourg Fortress” in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. I must say that the bottle presentation and label are “First Class” are very appealing.

My first impression from the nose was disappointing in that I did not detect much other than a faint smell of molasses. My first sip was also reminded me that this rum is very young and hasn’t had the opportunity to age for any length of time yet it is much better than many young rums I have sampled. The more I sipped on this rum, the more I enjoyed the experience. Fortress Rum is by no means on par with many aged rums that I keep on hand but nevertheless is very enjoyable.

I would rate the rum itself a 7 BUT must admit the presentation warrants an extra point, therefore an 8 it is. Well Done. 👍

Josh Osborne 🇨🇦 | 4 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Once uncorked, my first reaction was to the pleasing aroma of oak and apple. The taste is remarkable, strong at first like the other two reviewers noted, but balanced and flavourful once it breathes. Very impressed and proud to see such an excellent spirit come from the province next door.

Andrew Lantz 🇨🇦 | 19 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Being from NS we haven't had a number of great local rums until now. Over the last 2-3 years there have been some great local rums being produced here at home that rival the big boys. Great taste, like the other rater said, rough on the initial sip, but once it breathes it's much better.

MapleKing 🇨🇦 | 13 ratings
Posted 17 days ago

Bought it to support a Canadian product was surprised by the quality but you can find better elsewhere for the same price: Nicaragua, haiti.

Sbf2022 🇨🇦 | 5 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

This rum has great flavors and a great story behind it. Buy it when you can you won't be disappointed

Jleveille 🇨🇦 | 22 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Really enjoyed, not the best I have had but pretty smooth compared to some others of a higher price. Not sure how ages it is. Slight maple taste?

Barterfamily0407 🇨🇦 | 9 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

I was surprised that it is made in NS. Not easy to find but worth a try




Brand Details

Name: Gold
Company: Fortress
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading