Monymusk Gold rum

Monymusk Gold

Jamaica | Aged

6.2/10
10 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
7

Rate Monymusk Gold

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

10 Monymusk Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 521 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I'm not a big fan of most gold rums. This is no exception. It's not bad, but it's not great either.

Smells and tastes of oak, spice, molasses, and a hint of brine.

An ok gold rum, but nothing special to me.

Skipper Joe 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Nose is rich with dried fruits. Light and lingering to taste with the American oak to finish. Medium level of hogo, with above average bite for the ABV, though not harsh. Decent on its own, or blended in a drink to punch up a cocktail with that signature Jamaican funk. Retail price a bit above mid-shelf peers, but is a fair quality, especially when discounted even slightly.

Neman3 🇨🇦 | 168 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Classic Jamaica taste, rich enough. Easy on the nose and smooth

András Péter Balogh 🇭🇺 | 41 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

A standard aged Jamaican rum. Nothing more and nothing less.

Kieron wood 🇬🇧 | 577 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

This is a premium by any stretch of the imagination but it is a nice drop on the rocks . I imagine it mixes better but I prefer my funk on ice ... For the price it's a good Jamaican rum in the market

Mark 🇨🇦 | 59 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

This rum has a nice dark amber / gold colour and when I pulled the cork for the first time I was enthralled with it's sweet and complex melon-like bouquet. This led to some high expectations which were quickly dashed when I actually tasted it. Sipping the rum straight was not a good idea - It had a strong alcohol taste - Period. It was ok when mixed with cola, although the rum was quickly lost in the soda. The rum had a Jamaican funky smell, but the flavour was not there to back it up.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2929 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Monymusk Classic Gold has a nice and deep color, quite a strong alcohol smell to nose very similar to the cheaper Appleton's, and then you get the familiar Jamaican glue to your taste buds. Just awful. Struggles for a 4 score.

Pierre 🇨🇦 | 86 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

The classic gold has a colour that lives up to its name. It's smells like regular rum, no spices, no other smell than what you expect. The taste is a bit stingy at first but the finish is oak. Light tasting all together. Its very good with ice and sprite on a hot summer afternoon.

Don 🇨🇦 | 161 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

The rum is presented in a stubby bottle with a cork top. The aroma is of a typical Jamaican pot still rum, a rich bouquet with notes of spice and fruit. The palate is rather delicate, making it quite unusual for a Jamaican rum. The initial taste is spicy on the front palate, developing into tropical fruit on the mid-palate with a smooth long dry finish. A truly unusual but impressive rum perfectly suited for cocktails and sipping.

Russell 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

A standard aged Jamaican rum similar in many ways to the aged Appleton rums. Flavors of allspice, vanilla and a bit of a very slight afterburn.