Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize rum

Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize

Multiple | Aged

7.2/10
135 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
3
19
55
40
12
2

Rate Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

135 Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

SP3000 🇬🇧 | 8 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This rum is way to whisky-esque in my opinion. Having been mostly a whisky-drinker, I just recently got into rum. I think the fun thing about the rum world is that there is absolut confusion and differing opinions about what makes a good rum. My impression is that a lot of rum makers in an attempt to establish rum as a 'serious' drink go 'the whiskey route', hence dry, whisky-esque rums (this one has a very spicy & alcoholic finish).

This rum is one of those. I would spend 10 bucks more and get the XO 20th anniversary which has a lot more to offer in my opinion.

J. E. Clapham 🇬🇧 | 5 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This is a very enjoyable sipping rum. The flavour has complexity, though I must agree with other reviewers: the bourbon casks haven't left much elbow room for the subtler, tropical rum flavours. In fact, I'm planning to get some of my Jack Daniels-drinking friends to taste this stuff blind, tell them it's Tennessee whiskey, and see whether they smell a rat. Having said that, the bottle doesn't seem to be lasting all that long, which always seems to happen with Plantation rums in my cabinet...

HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 329 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Směs rumů, které zrají nejdříve ve své domovině a pak dozrávají v sudech po koňaku ve Francii.
Alkohol: 42 %
Původ: Guatemala a Belize
Aroma: Med, rumové pralinky, staré dřevo, trocha laku. Sladší kořenitost, taky něco málo kokosu, vanilka. Taková klasická rumová vůně. (86 b)
Chuť: V prvním dojmu mě překvapil výraznou sladkostí. Dřevo, čokoláda, med, sladké koření, z něj je tu vanilka nejvíc patrná. (90 b)
Body: 88
Shrnutí: Ochutnal jsem díky českolipskému podniku Kavárna/bar Kocour, kde mají velmi pěknou nabídku rumů. Veskrze příjemná záležitost, hlavně v chuti mě oslovil a určitě časem pořídím celou lahev.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2925 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize offers a lot of exciting flavors and very clear but sweet flavors like raisins, hardly any burn at the end, but a very long and lingering sweet taste in your mouth. I think this Plantation rum would have been spectacular if it would have been aged a few more years. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize is still a very long distance away from the amazing Barbados XO 20th Anniversary rum, but comes as a good second best Plantation rum in my opinion.

Duckstab 🇨🇿 | 76 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Hodně ovocný, lehký, hezky zabalený a překvapivě levný rum.
Osobně mi přijde výrazně zajímavější, než třeba rovněž guatemalská Zacapa (do 23y včetně - dražší jsem nezkoušel), ale to jistě může být čistě věc vkusu.
Podobně jako Relicario jsem i tuhle flašku lehounce nadhodnotil s ohledem na poměr cena (momentálně cca 600 Kč) / výkon + adjustáž. Vynikající a originální dárek - v hezké krabičce, chutově nepochybně vcelku obecně přijatelný a přitom neběžný (= v Tescu to nemají).
Avšak i zcela bez ohledu na cenu má tenhle rum pro mě zdaleka nejlépe vybalancovanou chuť vanilky ze všech vanilkových rumů, jaké jsem kdy pil. V kombinaci s příjemně nahořklým koženým pytlem plným tropických dobrot skrývá spoustu postupně se rozvíjejících a překvapivých tónů, z nichž ani na okamžik nevykoukne nějaká nepříjemná pachuť (jaká na mě kouká třeba z Presidente úplně furt).
Prostě ideální společník na celý večer...
A v každém případě experimentujete-li s produkty firmy Plantation, tenhle je prostě povinnost!

Marc Cardinal 🇧🇪 | 399 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

This is the new version of the Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala available since 2015. Matured in casks for 3 years in Guatemala, and finished in ex-cognac caks in France. Vanilla is very present with almond, marzipan and honey. Well balanced with cocoa, woody vanilla notes. Elegant finish.

Andrewofcalgary 🇨🇦 | 162 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

I love rums from this area because they are sweet and taste of molasses. I would have made this an eight because the blend is well done, but there didnt seem to be much unique character or flavour profile. Dont get me wrong, I would drink this all day long if I could afford it, but its just brown sugar lingering with a hint of bourbon. Smells of brown sugar and plantains as well which doesnt hurt.

Root-theory 🇵🇱 | 84 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Solidna pozycja, miałem niewygórowane oczekiwania a tu jak zwykle plantation nie zawodzi

OCENA: 79/100

Michal Ernest 🇨🇿 | 126 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Podobně jako Xaymaca jsem tento rum musel ochutnat poté co jsem dostal na Vánoce ochutnávkový set Plantation. Rum mne velice mile překvapil. Z ochutnávkového setu mi kromě XO, který je ale cenově trochu jinde, chutná tento nejvíce. Mohu jej doporučit a rád se k němu budu vracet.

Rocky 🇸🇰 | 75 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Po Barbados 5Y skúšam o niečo drahšieho súrodenca. Ten je o chlp tmavšej farby, fľaša až na vignetu identická. Vôňa je znovu krásna, tentokrát o čosi silnejšia, pri hlbšom nádychu až zaštípe v nose. Chuťovo silná podobnosť s prv menovaným, no je evidentne silnejší a ostrejší, Barbados 5Y mi prišiel veľmi jemný. Pritom obsah alkoholu je len nepatrne väčší (42%). Rum je tak akurát nasladlý, so širokým spektrom tónov karamelu, citrusov, vanilky a dubu, vážne kvalitné pitie. Ak by som mu mal niečo vytknúť, tak jedine ten silnejší burn. Vypiť naraz viac ako pohárik je trochu kumšt. Subjektívne 7,5, zato súrodenec je jasná osmička. K ratingu 8 sa napokon prikláňam z titulu stále priaznivej ceny a kvality v porovnaní s inými druhmi, naozaj mi vyhovuje.
24,-€

Immiketoo (PREMIUM) 🇬🇷 | 60 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

If you can get past Plantation’s business model of blending rums from other places and possibly adding sugar or other flavors, they do make a very enjoyable product!

I adore their XO, and this is right up there with it as far as flavors and drinkability is concerned. I get molasses, honey, golden raisins and a hint of chocolate, it’s smooth as would be expected at only 42%.

It has a gentle burn and is the kind of rum I drink neat. It might be excellent in a cocktail, but you’d lose much of the flavor notes I’d think.

Time for another glass!




Brand Details

Name: Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
Company: Plantation
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading