Tres Hombres 2015 Captain's Choice 21-Year rum

Tres Hombres 2015 Captain's Choice 21-Year

Multiple | Aged

8.7/10
9 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
1
5

Rate Tres Hombres 2015 Captain's Choice 21-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

9 Tres Hombres 2015 Captain's Choice 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 516 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

There are a lot of reasons I didn't expect to like this. The price was very high due to the limited production (only 250 bottles); it had a high abv of 62.9%; and I hate the bottle, as the wax was difficult to remove, you can't see through it to see how much you have left, and it doesn't pour well into a shot glass without spilling a few drops.

Still, the smell and taste were excellent. Has a very nice sweetness with sugarcane, caramel, spice, and a touch of oak. Hot at 62.9%abv, but surprisingly tasty, and the high abv can obviously be cooled down with a little cold water if you prefer. Not my all time favorite, but VERY good.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2925 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Phenomenal rum tasting with Falcon91Wolvrn03 continued with a super rare Tres Hombres 2015 Edition 10 Captains Choice XXI Dominican Republic. Beautiful red ceramic bottle and label design. Light golden color. Explosion of flavors to your nose and palate. Plenty of heat at 62.9% alcohol content. Limited to 250 bottles.

Marc Cardinal 🇧🇪 | 399 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

The noze is strong on the alcohol with vanilla and there are also some very sweet notes of fruit. Need long oxygenation.Taste: Oak, caramel, chocolate and cacao. Very long aftertaste. Solera method, 21 Years.

Staffan 🇸🇪 | 26 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Yes it is very expensive, but that's IF you find it! I tasted this at a rum tasting event. Only 250 made it's extremely rare and the price is actually fair compared to other brands of less impressive rums for an equal price.
Very well balanced, rich in nose and in flavor. Sweeter and smokier than most other Tres Hombres, closer to what Oliver y Oliver's rums taste like, with a lot of butterscotch as well as dried fruits. Comes in a beautiful vintage red jar which with a little dust on feels very authentic... This straight in a tulip tumbler is my Friday-night-in-my-favorite-chair choice! If I could afford it. And if I could find it.

henrik pedersen 🇩🇰 | 120 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

mega kraftig rum. skal stå 15 min. i glasset inden den kan nydes

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 120 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Wow, huge flavour and strong, punches you in the face then you want more. Sweet fruit carries through, finish lingers.

Anders Skjødt Hansen 🇩🇰 | 65 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Tra la la la la al smsmsmmsmsmsfbnfnkgkrkdkdkfidkg

Luffsman 🇸🇪 | 26 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I love the rums that has a certain level of sweetness in them, this one does not have one ounce of it... So sorry

Kenneth Olesen 🇩🇰 | 77 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Beautifull golden colour and more gentle in the nose than last year. A lot more typical dominican. Burnt sugar, karamel and something spicy like liqurish.
In the mouth its a massive explosion of inputs. Dried spices, toffee and molasses that gives it a bit of sweetness in the end. A slight afterburn on the tongue, logical with those percentages. But also a good long semi-dry aftertaste that really brings forward the oak and molasses.

History in theese productions means alot, but the Captains Choices are really extraordinary bottles. I cannot compare this to much else rum. Captain has still got me hooked!
Tres Hombres Captains Choice - 2015 Dominikanske republik 62,9%
9/10