St. Nicholas Abbey 18-Year rum

St. Nicholas Abbey 18-Year

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

8.8/10
16 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
4
6

Rate St. Nicholas Abbey 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

16 St. Nicholas Abbey 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen πŸ‡©πŸ‡° | 254 ratings

You can recognize the Barbadian soul and profile, but to me, it does something that no other rum does. It has some kind of x-factor that just sets it aside from every other rum. It might be an acquired taste, but once your there, it probably doesn't get any better... especially if your into pure, unsweetened bajan rum. It's amazing craftsmanship. The extraordinary 15 year little brother has evolved from a slightly frail and very delicate beauty into something slightly more refined, full and complex, without going overboard. This one just blows my mind every time I have a glass. As with the 15 year version, it's a little hard to describe the feel of this rum, but I'l give it a try.
Given time, the nose slowly greets you with a broad palette of notes. I pick up pineapple, banana, faint wooden lacquer, oak, sweet tobacco, hay and sugarcane juice. At the risk of sounding a little romantic, it's simply a beautiful symphony. These notes follow through in the mouth and is supplemented by oily leather, roasted hazelnuts and a slightly spicy tingling. The finish is very long with a buttery and nutty character. The balance is fantastic. I'm amazed by it's delicacy. It's expensive but absolute luxury and to me worth the price. If I could only choose one rum for the rest of my life, this one would probably be the first one coming to mind. It's no secret that it's originally a foursquare distillation, so let's hope to god that the very talented folks at st. Nicholas Abbey manage to recreate the miracle with there own new distillations. Fingers crossed.

Posted 4 years ago by Alaska Joe πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 41 ratings

First point, this is the best, smoothest rum I have tried coming out of Barbados. It is incredible! The aging and maturity gives it a huge edge over the 5 & 12 year old expressions. Not even close. Any harshness has been aged away and what’s left is a smooth sweet rum that can hardly be believed. So close to a ten that I may upgrade my rating, depending on my mood after 2-3 pours. I ordered and received my back up bottle and will plan for another as I can see myself over indulging on this heavenly elixir. Somehow this is sweet without being sugary. Please my fellow Rummies, get yourself a bottle and either back this review up, or tell me I’m full of shit. To date, this IS my favorite rum in the universe! ( After sampling some other expressions, I realize this is a true 10. Simply amazing.)

Posted 3 months ago by Uwpaleoman πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 10 ratings

Fantastic, initial sweetness yields to a slight bourbon finish. Notes of oak, tobacco and fruit. Amazing.

Posted over 4 years ago by Neville Midwood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 11 ratings

This is so different from the sweet heavy christmas cake rums I usually love. This is a relaxed, sitting watching the sun and waves and feeling the breeze. Leave it 20 minutes in a Norlan glass and then enjoy. What does it taste like? I wasn't paying attention. Whatever the other guys said.

In 3 months it's due to be renamed the 20 year old - already one barrel is and that's supplying the 20cl white/5/15/20 gift pack bottles. Note there is also now a new 5 year old cask strength and a overproof of the white rum both of which are excellent. And the barrels are running out for this 18/20 yr old.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 514 ratings

This is one of the better bourbon aged rums I've tried, except I'm not really a fan of bourbon aged rums.

Eighteen years of bourbon barrel aging makes bourbon the predominant flavor.

It's a very smooth rum, with additional smells and tastes of spice, pine, tobacco, leather, and a hint of oak, vanilla, brown sugar, and cinnamon.

If bourbon aging is for you, you'll likely love this rum. But bourbon aging isn't my style.

I'm curious to find out if I'll like their younger rums better, as those should have less bourbon and more rum flavor.

Edit: I tried the St Nicholas 15 year, and I ever so slightly prefer this, as the 15 year also has a very heavy bourbon influence, but this is a little more sophisticated with the 3 extra years of aging.

Posted over 5 years ago by YMHC πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 162 ratings

Sinds 2006 is de Abdij in bezit van de Warren familie, die 350 jaar oude recepten gebruikt voor hun Rum.
Daarom hebben ze ook nog geen echt oude rum. Deze 18 jaar oude komt van de Foursquare Distilleerderij en heeft een paar jaartjes gerijpt op de abdij.

Dit is een hele mooie Bajan rum. Zacht, licht zoet en droog. Tropisch fruit, tabak, hout.

Geen suiker en of kleurstoffen toegevoegd.

Prijzig, dat wel.

Posted 1 month ago by ripperussr πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 150 ratings

Quite intense flavour, acidic taste, full body, smoky tail.

Posted 1 month ago by Tomas πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 173 ratings

A friend brought it from Barbados.

Tones of wine even when it's bourbon aged. The tail is smooth and rather short.

Posted 3 years ago by Morthrag πŸ‡¨πŸ‡­ | 95 ratings

Man erkennt definitiv am Geschmack seine Herkunft.
Interessante Aromenvielfalt und eine leicht scharfe Note.

Posted over 3 years ago by Andresbs1991 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2 ratings

Even the smallest drop on your tongue will bring pleasure. A smooth and very richly flavored rum with subtle hints and goes down your throat like if it was lubricated by wd40. Excellent.




Brand Details

Name: 18-Year
Company: St. Nicholas Abbey
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 18
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2912
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
546
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
514