St. Nicholas Abbey 18-Year rum

St. Nicholas Abbey 18-Year

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

8.8/10
16 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
4
6

Rate St. Nicholas Abbey 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

16 St. Nicholas Abbey 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Alaska Joe ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 41 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

First point, this is the best, smoothest rum I have tried coming out of Barbados. It is incredible! The aging and maturity gives it a huge edge over the 5 & 12 year old expressions. Not even close. Any harshness has been aged away and whatโ€™s left is a smooth sweet rum that can hardly be believed. So close to a ten that I may upgrade my rating, depending on my mood after 2-3 pours. I ordered and received my back up bottle and will plan for another as I can see myself over indulging on this heavenly elixir. Somehow this is sweet without being sugary. Please my fellow Rummies, get yourself a bottle and either back this review up, or tell me Iโ€™m full of shit. To date, this IS my favorite rum in the universe! ( After sampling some other expressions, I realize this is a true 10. Simply amazing.)

Michael LaRocca ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

I had the pleasure of visiting the St. Nicholas Abbey distillery, and tasted the 5-year and 12-year rums (both of which were great). After the tasting, I purchased an 18-year bottle and patiently waited until arriving home to taste it. I wasn't disappointed!

The flavor of the rum is so complex, and almost hard to pinpoint what flavors came at me first. It's not overly sweet, but starts off with a taste of pineapple, then a bit of raisin, then a deep wooden oak flavor. It's not the typical flavors that would pull me into a rum, but it seemed to really work here.

I gave it a weighted score of 8.55, which I rounded up to 9 for rumratings.com. My scoring system (with weights) is as follows:
-Packaging (10%): 8
-Color (20%): 8.5
-Nose (20%): 6.5
-Palette (25%): 9.5
-Smoothness (25%): 9.5

The Warren family are good people, and Simon led our rum-tasting event. He did a great job of explaining the rums, telling jokes, and entertaining those of us on the tour. We had a great time!

Ricardo Knight ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Nice aromatic nose with vanilla, flowers, citrus and spice. The mouth feel is soft and round, and holds a long time. Itโ€™s lighty sweet but in a gentle way, there is a little bitterness mid-way that lags a bit. Very good sipping rum.

Fred ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 1 rating
Posted almost 4 years ago

I cannot say more than has already been posted here. This is without a doubt one of the finest distilled spirits in the world. I have sampled as many as I could over the past 44 years, this is my rum of choice (when available). I am not a fan of Barbados, so I will be looking for a way to St. Nicholas Abbey on the dark side.

Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2925 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Enjoyed a glass of St. Nicholas Abbey 18y while vacationing in Versailles. Okay bottle design, but could be much fancier taken into consideration how ridiculously expensive this rum really is. Color is deep amber. Very strong whisky flavors to both nose and palate. A hint of burn at the end. Add 2 points if you like your rum aged 18 years in a whisky barrel. Otherwise a score of 7 is more than generous for this whisky rum. Not my cup of tea.

Jan Mynar ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 53 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

It is from Barbados what is some kind of quality proof, but this one is different, slightly spicy and leathery. But amazingly smooth and surprising.

mistercoughy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 239 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Forget all that nonsense about the North Pole and the toy workshop. The REAL St. Nicholas is alive and well in Barbados...making rum. The 15-year-old offering from St. Nicholas Abbey is probably my favorite rum of all time, the one rum I would pack for the desert isle. I think it's the best of the Bajans,any brand, any vintage. This 18-year-old, on the other hand, is surely excellent but it cannot compare with its younger sibling, in my opinion. It has an amazing aroma, full of chocolate and toffee and sweet fruit. The tasting, however, is a little disappointing. It starts off well, with warm molasses and treacle, some butterscotch, and it finishes with oak and a little spice...and...well, sour olives. This rum really needs to sit in your glass for at least 20 minutes, more if you have the patience. The sharp aftertaste still doesn't disappear, but the full elegance of this rum shines through. It's still a bit thinner, less "chewy" than the 15yo, and so for me it's an excellent but not fully-realized experience. Is it worth paying twice as much for this rum as you would for Mount Gay 1703, arguably the gold standard of rums from Barbados? And is it worth 5 times the cost of MGXO? As the man says, Suum Cuique. For me, the extraordinary 15yo offering from St. Nick is priceless. If I could afford a cellar full of it, every day would be Christmas...




Brand Details

Name: 18-Year
Company: St. Nicholas Abbey
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 18

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading