Appleton Estate 21-Year rum

Appleton Estate 21-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Distilled using small-batch copper pot stills uniquely designed for Appleton Estate, this rum is a blend of several rums aged 21 years in American oak barrels. Once blended, the rum is re-casked for two years to marry the flavors.

Appleton Estate 21-year rum is produced in Jamaica on one of the countryโ€™s oldest and most renowned sugar estates. Each bottle is individually numbered and comes with a signed aging certificate by master blender Joy Spence.

8.3/10
307 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
14
40
91
117
38

Rate Appleton Estate 21-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

307 Appleton Estate 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Jaybird ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 48 ratings

Aromas of oak, cinnamon, brown sugar and lightly fruity. Alcohol is very soft and smooth. No heat to speak of in the aroma. As it sits and opens up a bit more sweetness comes forward in the aroma.
Flavor is warm on the palate. Leather, oak, hints of vanilla, spices. Dry and spicy, little sweetness but not overly dry, bitter or tanic. Good balance. Very smooth, warming but not at all hot. Hints of unsweetened chocolate. Nothing hits you over the head here, just a lot of subtleties that can be hard to pin down. Again as it opens up a bit more sweetness comes to the front but still great balance.
The rum has a medium/long finish that starts a bit sweet and finishes dry. Super smooth here as well. The more you sip the more you want. The longer it sits here in my snifter the more complex and smooth it seems to get. I'd suggest letting it sit and open up in your glass for a good 5+ minutes before starting to enjoy it. You will be rewarded for your patience as the longer it sits in the glass the more complex and enjoyable it becomes.
This is a pricy bottle for sure but every pure rum enthusiast and collector should have a bottle in the collection. It's truly a great rum. To me this sits at an 8.5, not quite an 8 but maybe a bit shy of a 9. So for rating purposes here I vote a 9.

Posted over 6 years ago by craig72 ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 42 ratings

SO good, this stuff is. Rich and sweet with enough oak-spice warmly pushing through the flavor profile, most any discerning rum-drinker alive would be happy with this in his/her glass! Neat, on ice, or mixed with Coke or Sprite, this one's a winner on all fronts.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 229 ratings

Mild aromas of caramel and vanilla and some oak but not sweet. While FC12 is not as complex as other premium rums I've tried, it is nevertheless a nice "go to" rum. FC12 sells for $38 CAD in my area and for that price, you can't go wrong.

UPDATE: The more I try FC12, the more I like it. In addition to the a/n comments, I find that the sweetness of this Rum from the Sugarcane really comes through after a 30 seconds or so, more so than most Rums I've tried. In spite of its affordability, this rum does pretty well as a sipper. I wish we could give 1/2 points in our rating sustem as in my opinion it deserves at least an 8.

Posted 6 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 17 ratings

Flor de Cana 12 40% (Nicaragua)

Eye: Deep, dark, reddish mahogany

Nose: Starts with rum raisins, mahogany and whiffs of diesel fumes. A sharp cloud of alcohol numbs the nose. Then developments of marzipan and modeling clay followed by orange soaked honey and a huge load of nuts such as macadamias, hazel and Brazil nuts. The smell is still sharp even after ten minutes.

Mouth: This is new! De Cana has a very delicate sweetness to it which entwines around a heavenly creaminess in the middle register. Very exciting! Unfortunately this is almost lost in the immense alcohol cloud de Cana refuses to let go of. It is troubling to say the least and overshadows nearly everything. Here we have the most appealing rum possible (in a small doze) and it seems to be diluted by vodka. How sad! The nuts are still the main theme with the cream and fine sweetness as passive wingmen.

Reaction: Iยดm thinking older siblings in the Flor de Cana family could be interesting to meet with. The twelve year old feels young and uncertain but the pedigree is there and should be able to produce something more astute. This one feels adolescent, thin and a little cheap which it really isnยดt. This version would never be my first choice among the many other tasty friends I have in my cabinet so when do I drink it?

74p

Price: 400 SEK
Tasted: 2016, in a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jack ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 27 ratings

Was expecting more from this. Find it a little harsh for it's age.

Posted 6 years ago by mistercoughy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 239 ratings

It's dry, which I like, and the heat dissipates quickly, which keeps it smooth. But, the flavor also disappears too soon, and it's not at all complex. Probably should get a 7.5 rating but I pushed it to 8 because it's a good, honest, no-frills rum.

Posted over 6 years ago by Ghandimaster CZ | 29 ratings

Nice mellow and warm woody notes. Very rich. Very smooth afterburn. Little dark chocolate and caramel notes. Best rum value ever.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Barclay Webster ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 9 ratings

I like this rum and it's natural complexity. The flavor can at times have a lot of similarities with good bourbons. A little short of the finish in a way that makes me think it's not aged quite as long as stated, but it's still really smooth and complex nonetheless. Unique tobacco aromas and flavors are apparent and think it offers a great value at it's price point.

Posted over 9 years ago by Gwawr ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 27 ratings

Less sweet than rums from the Carib - but price point and flavor profile make this just about my favourite sipping rum. More bang for the buck than almost anything.

Posted over 6 years ago by jsanca ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 57 ratings

This single state rum is one of my favorite from the Flor de Caรฑa range, might be it is not than smoother as a 18 years but I like the balance.

The colour is amber and mahogany, the density and legs are good in the glass.

In the nose initially you can smell alcohol, with a water spoon opens and the sweetness become, sugar cane of course, the alcohol still present but you can start feeling this balance between the alcohol and the sugar/woody notes, beautiful to drink straight up or in a elegant coctel.

The taste is smoother than you can smell, burns just a bit when you keep it in your mount.

The medium body, and kinda long finish, you can feel the wood and bitter chocolate in your taste, some sweet notes as well.

I general for the price is more than recommended rum, cheers!

Posted 4 years ago by Tomas ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 16 ratings

To be honest I don't understand a good rating here.
A lot of effort needed to finish this bottle. Not much smell and taste, just alcohol.

For its age a big disappointment.




Brand Details

Name: 21-Year
Company: Appleton Estate
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 21
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2908
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514