Appleton Estate 21-Year rum

Appleton Estate 21-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Distilled using small-batch copper pot stills uniquely designed for Appleton Estate, this rum is a blend of several rums aged 21 years in American oak barrels. Once blended, the rum is re-casked for two years to marry the flavors.

Appleton Estate 21-year rum is produced in Jamaica on one of the countryโ€™s oldest and most renowned sugar estates. Each bottle is individually numbered and comes with a signed aging certificate by master blender Joy Spence.

8.3/10
307 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
14
40
91
117
38

Rate Appleton Estate 21-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

307 Appleton Estate 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Alas ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท | 161 ratings

After tasting the 12yr version of appleton which was great, even better than appleton VX (also good although a bit harsh) I was convinced that the 21 yr version was going to be insanely good....unfortunately not so much. It's good but tastes a bit watered down and much sweeter than the 12 yr version...much sweeter and weaker than I expected. It's too smooth in the wrong sort of way.

Posted over 6 years ago by TommyVinegar ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช | 46 ratings

Im inclined to rate the Flor 25 as a 10, but I too feel its overpriced at well over a 100 euro's. The packaging and bottle are really swanky though. You do feel you are buying something special. Tastewise this one sits halfway between the Flor 18 (lots of caramel, oak and vanilla) and the Flor 12 (zesty and spicy). But its smoother than both. You can feed this to a baby. Its has no burn whatsoever. Also it is, as expected, more complex than both. Less sweet than the 18, slightly more adult and masculine tasting. There's a hint of old books in the smell and taste. But delicate too at the same time. Let it sit and breath, clean your palate and taste consiously otherwise it won't register fully.

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 213 ratings

Sugar: estimated at 15 GPL. I found this rum to be sweeter than any of the other rums in the Flor de Cana lineup and I like my rums in the 15 to 20 GPL range.
It's my opinion that this is the All Star rum in the Flor de Cana lineup. Can't help myself, it's World Series time of the year. You will find this to be a perfectly balanced mixture of oak, vanilla, caramel, with a hint of smoke, spice and maybe a touch of leather in your glass. Smooth on entry then an explosion of the flavors mentioned. All of this is followed by a nice long warm aftertaste. Note: Let this breath a bit before sipping. This rum is in the same league as the Abuelo Centura and not surprisingly it's the same price. Save this rum for special occasions or it will be gone before you know it.

Posted over 6 years ago by Beukeboom ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 304 ratings

Definitely adding this to my sipping rum list. There isn't anything about this rum that I don't like. The aroma in the bottle is awesome. I cannot really describe it save to say it smells wonderful with just a little bit of sweetness. The flavor is simply luscious. Silky smooth on the tongue with subtle sweetness married brilliantly with soft oakiness leading to an enveloping warmth and leaving with a satiny vanilla aftertaste.

Sounds like something from a romance novel but frankly this rum will evoke romantic notions. This is a very special rum well worth the $100+ price. Highly recommended! In my humble opinion, having this as anything other than a sipping rum would be criminal. As close to a 10 as I can get thus far.

Posted over 3 years ago by Partagas&rum ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ด | 7 ratings

My experience with this one was a bit disapointing.. Lack of rich taste and complexity. A bit harsch on the nose. A possible high expectation, but this was what my pallets told me.

Posted over 5 years ago by Jrtorres ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท | 34 ratings

En la copa, tiene un color รกmbar oscuro.
En la nariz, hay caramelo, vainilla, almendra amarga y aromas de roble suaves.
En boca, es seco, no tan fuertemente amaderado como era de esperar de un 25 anos. Las notas de madera se equilibran junto con caramelo, vainilla y almendras amargas.
Compleja, termina agudo y seco con el roble suave, no es dulce ni empalagoso Fenomenal

Posted over 7 years ago by tftowner106 ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 23 ratings

Beautifully balanced wood, caramel, vanilla notes. Very smooth and soft nose.

Posted over 3 years ago by Bert Bouquet ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 5 ratings

When I buy a Rum I expect it to tast like Rum. This rum has been aged so long in sherry cask that it has taken on the tast. I think there best rum is the 7 year old, it tastes like rum.

Posted 4 years ago by Adam ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 98 ratings

I tried all of the them collection. 25YO - ok is the best. Very good balance, nice nose and colour.
It is good rum but sorry...worst one from 25YO rum what I drunk. For 25YO you expected more. Disappoitment.

Posted over 4 years ago by LarsF ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 39 ratings

Flor de Cana 25-Years comes in a very nice and classy black box.
ย 
You really have to let this rum rest in the glass. I think the equation one minute per year old works fine. The sticky alcohol disappears and smooth aromas of caramel, vanilla, honey and oak becomes clearer.
ย 
Flor de Cana 25-Year is very smooth and you taste nice flavours like vanilla, caramel, dark chocolate, oak and a little bit of smoke. You also get some spice. Flor de Cana 25-Year is less sweet than expected.
ย 
The aftertaste is smooth and long. This is a very good rum but it has a bit too much oak and spice for my taste. Flor de Cana 25-Year is a bit dry and I like my rums a little bit sweeter.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jack ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 27 ratings

It is very good, just did not live up to the hype. It is strong and bold.




Brand Details

Name: 21-Year
Company: Appleton Estate
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 21
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2902
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514