Appleton Estate 21-Year rum

Appleton Estate 21-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Distilled using small-batch copper pot stills uniquely designed for Appleton Estate, this rum is a blend of several rums aged 21 years in American oak barrels. Once blended, the rum is re-casked for two years to marry the flavors.

Appleton Estate 21-year rum is produced in Jamaica on one of the country’s oldest and most renowned sugar estates. Each bottle is individually numbered and comes with a signed aging certificate by master blender Joy Spence.

8.3/10
307 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
14
40
91
117
38

Rate Appleton Estate 21-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

307 Appleton Estate 21-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 6 years ago by laurent 🇫🇷 | 60 ratings

(This is for the"old" bottle, with blue metallic cap like on the picture. Not sure the new bottles contain the same liquid...) As I liked the 12 year I tried a sample of the 21 years. Nose : typical Jamaican rhum. Taste : as expected it is oaky... Too much in my opinion, it tends to dominate the other aromas. I did not found it as balanced as the 12y. A good aged rhum but for one third of the price I still prefer the 12y. I am a bit suspicious about this rum : very verrrry smooth, almost artificial and absolutely odd for a 21y spirit .Sugar tests seem to be OK, what the hell they have added in it ?! There are so much true gems and genuine rums, less ""premiumized"" for the same price.

(Je parle de l'ancienne bouteille avec le bouchon métallique bleu. Je ne crois pas qu'il y ait exactement le même liquide dans les nouvelles bouteilles) Nez : typique de la Jamaïque. Par contre en bouche j'ai du mal à sentir autre chose que le côté boisé.... c'est un peu normal après 21 ans mais je trouve que ça écrase un peu tout le reste. Pour moi il n'est pas aussi équilibré que le 12 ans et pour un tiers du prix je crois que je préfère le 12 ans. D'autre part ce rhum est d'une rondeur exagérée et inimaginable pour un rhum de 21 ans... ce côté quasi artificiel me dérange. Apparemment il n'a pas été sucré, mais alors qu'est-ce qu'ils ont ajouté là-dedans ?! Pour le même prix on trouve de vraies perles, souvent plus authentiques et moins "premiumisées"

Posted over 6 years ago by craig72 🇨🇦 | 42 ratings

SO good, this stuff is. Rich and sweet with enough oak-spice warmly pushing through the flavor profile, most any discerning rum-drinker alive would be happy with this in his/her glass! Neat, on ice, or mixed with Coke or Sprite, this one's a winner on all fronts.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 229 ratings

Mild aromas of caramel and vanilla and some oak but not sweet. While FC12 is not as complex as other premium rums I've tried, it is nevertheless a nice "go to" rum. FC12 sells for $38 CAD in my area and for that price, you can't go wrong.

UPDATE: The more I try FC12, the more I like it. In addition to the a/n comments, I find that the sweetness of this Rum from the Sugarcane really comes through after a 30 seconds or so, more so than most Rums I've tried. In spite of its affordability, this rum does pretty well as a sipper. I wish we could give 1/2 points in our rating sustem as in my opinion it deserves at least an 8.

Posted 6 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone 🇸🇪 | 17 ratings

Flor de Cana 12 40% (Nicaragua)

Eye: Deep, dark, reddish mahogany

Nose: Starts with rum raisins, mahogany and whiffs of diesel fumes. A sharp cloud of alcohol numbs the nose. Then developments of marzipan and modeling clay followed by orange soaked honey and a huge load of nuts such as macadamias, hazel and Brazil nuts. The smell is still sharp even after ten minutes.

Mouth: This is new! De Cana has a very delicate sweetness to it which entwines around a heavenly creaminess in the middle register. Very exciting! Unfortunately this is almost lost in the immense alcohol cloud de Cana refuses to let go of. It is troubling to say the least and overshadows nearly everything. Here we have the most appealing rum possible (in a small doze) and it seems to be diluted by vodka. How sad! The nuts are still the main theme with the cream and fine sweetness as passive wingmen.

Reaction: I´m thinking older siblings in the Flor de Cana family could be interesting to meet with. The twelve year old feels young and uncertain but the pedigree is there and should be able to produce something more astute. This one feels adolescent, thin and a little cheap which it really isn´t. This version would never be my first choice among the many other tasty friends I have in my cabinet so when do I drink it?

74p

Price: 400 SEK
Tasted: 2016, in a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jack 🇨🇦 | 27 ratings

Was expecting more from this. Find it a little harsh for it's age.

Posted 6 years ago by mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings

It's dry, which I like, and the heat dissipates quickly, which keeps it smooth. But, the flavor also disappears too soon, and it's not at all complex. Probably should get a 7.5 rating but I pushed it to 8 because it's a good, honest, no-frills rum.

Posted over 6 years ago by Ghandimaster CZ | 29 ratings

Nice mellow and warm woody notes. Very rich. Very smooth afterburn. Little dark chocolate and caramel notes. Best rum value ever.

Posted almost 7 years ago by Barclay Webster 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings

I like this rum and it's natural complexity. The flavor can at times have a lot of similarities with good bourbons. A little short of the finish in a way that makes me think it's not aged quite as long as stated, but it's still really smooth and complex nonetheless. Unique tobacco aromas and flavors are apparent and think it offers a great value at it's price point.

Posted over 9 years ago by Gwawr 🇬🇧 | 27 ratings

Less sweet than rums from the Carib - but price point and flavor profile make this just about my favourite sipping rum. More bang for the buck than almost anything.

Posted over 6 years ago by jsanca 🇺🇸 | 57 ratings

This single state rum is one of my favorite from the Flor de Caña range, might be it is not than smoother as a 18 years but I like the balance.

The colour is amber and mahogany, the density and legs are good in the glass.

In the nose initially you can smell alcohol, with a water spoon opens and the sweetness become, sugar cane of course, the alcohol still present but you can start feeling this balance between the alcohol and the sugar/woody notes, beautiful to drink straight up or in a elegant coctel.

The taste is smoother than you can smell, burns just a bit when you keep it in your mount.

The medium body, and kinda long finish, you can feel the wood and bitter chocolate in your taste, some sweet notes as well.

I general for the price is more than recommended rum, cheers!

Posted 4 years ago by Tomas 🇨🇿 | 16 ratings

To be honest I don't understand a good rating here.
A lot of effort needed to finish this bottle. Not much smell and taste, just alcohol.

For its age a big disappointment.




Brand Details

Name: 21-Year
Company: Appleton Estate
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 21
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2908
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514