Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Appleton Estate 21-Year rum

Appleton Estate 21-Year

Jamaica | Aged

Distilled using small-batch copper pot stills uniquely designed for Appleton Estate, this rum is a blend of several rums aged 21 years in American oak barrels. Once blended, the rum is re-casked for two years to marry the flavors.

Appleton Estate 21-year rum is produced in Jamaica on one of the country’s oldest and most renowned sugar estates. Each bottle is individually numbered and comes with a signed aging certificate by master blender Joy Spence.

8.3/10
342 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
16
42
100
132
45

Rate Appleton Estate 21-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

342 Appleton Estate 21-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Felipe P 🇺🇸 | 70 ratings
Posted almost 10 years ago

Very heavy wood notes from agging. Can be too rough for those ill prepared. A great rum for those that can appreciate the work put into the bottle.

Sykes024 🇦🇺 | 56 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I've had this bottle sitting at home for 18 months and decided to crack it open.This rum for me has the best lingering aftertaste of anything I have ever drank it's definitely worth the money and don't be like me and sit on it,

Captain_Tyson 🇺🇸 | 99 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Another reviewer summed this up very well, comparing this to Walker Blue. Age, distinction, quality, consistency. Honestly it just felt good to drink! Great nose. Not really funky. Sweeter than expected, in a good way. I thoroughly enjoyed this one.

Tattoocarl 🇬🇧 | 1 rating
Posted over 2 years ago

No mixers Should ever dilute this rum!!
Expensive but worth every penny

jwevenson (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

A little pricey for an '8' overall rating. However, it is high quality and mixes well. In addition, you will be pleased with the aroma and smooth taste.

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 402 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I bought this bottle for Christmas. Bottled in 2018, bottle no. 563.
The rum was matured in ex-bourbon barrels. It is a blend of several barrels, each barrel is at least 21 years old. Unfortunately only in 43% strength.

Smell: This rum needs time in the glass, after that it is quite balanced and pleasant on the nose. It combines sweet and heavy flavors. First I notice a mix of wooden barrel aromas and dried fruits with a nice caramel sweetness. At first it develops sweeter and then woody. There are some typical Demerara fruits with a viscous impression.
After that I smell wood polish, orange zest and some leather notes. Some earthy aromas can be found deeper in the glass.
This is a beautiful and complex nose, which at the same time seem dry from the amount of wood. It has also some similarities with the Hearts Collection.

Taste: The taste is heavy and mild at the same time. I get tobacco first, dried fruits like raisins and some caramel sweetness. The tannins develops stronger and stronger, they increase the bitterness. Then I perceive oak with vanilla, which is typical for bourbon cask aging and orange peel with some grape seeds.
The orange zest develop very dominantly and take over the taste, the mouth becomes dry. You can still easily perceive leather notes. The finish is spicy with lots of wood notes, some wood polish, dried fruits, tannins and orange zest.

Aftertaste: dried fruits, wood, orange zest

Conclusion: It is a complex rum that still works well despite being diluted. It is also well suited for beginners to get to know an old, matured rum without being overwhelmed immediately.
This rum has typical aromas of a long tropical aging. Because of this balance and complexity, I would give it 90 points.
I would give more points if it were in barrel strength.

Overall rating: 90 points

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 3/5
Spice: 2.5 / 5
Complexity: 4/5
PL (75 €): 5/5

Edwwa 🇱🇹 | 50 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Grab it for 70euro. And... worth it. If someone can grab it for good price and you will not regret

Pirate 🇬🇷 | 30 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

My immediate wishlist targets was this, and Flor de Cana 25! And since Appleton is rebranding, getting this one first, was actually a no-brainer! The bottle says: 2013. The price was 87 euros, but strange thing is, other vendors in my area, all sell it for 136 euros. Nice bottle design, as a plus. The smell is extremely pleasant, bringing tones of wood and smoke, but a bit of a sweet aroma and not too harsh. Velvety texture, extremely smooth. The taste is fruity. The burn medium and pleasing, warms your throat. The aftertaste feels like wood and fruit, with a natural sweetness that feels way superior to those El Dorados, Zacapas, Plantations and Diplomaticos. Drinking this staff feels like bliss! I couldn't find it in my heart to rate it anything other than a perfect 10. Besides, i appreciate their practices, transparency, faithfulness to tradition and Jamaican law! This one and my St. Lucia 1931 are me real treasures! Bought them both at the exact same price, too! Next stop, Cana 25.

RRose (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 44 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

As the title states, I found this to be surprisingly enjoyable. Warm, sweet aroma, full-flavored & a nice, smooth finish. I really can’t complain much here other than to question if it’s really worth the price.

Acutulus 🇺🇸 | 12 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

I took my five boys to our squash club and I told “Harry” to serve us the best rum he had. The nose is amazing, the warm pallet is “just right”, alcohol levels are perfect. It was a unanimous 6 vote “top of the heap”. Pricy, but worthy of special events. Buy, but don’t have it on display so you can reserve it for close friends & family.

jwbono 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I want to like this rum because it’s hard to find and expensive but it finishes with that same plastic taste of mass produced liquor. The oak flavor and mellow heat are good but I can’t get around the aftertaste. I couldn’t recommend spending the money on it, but if someone offers you a sample try it for yourself.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Appleton Estate
Country: Jamaica
Years Aged: 21
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

Loading...