Kill Devil (Hunter Laing) 1998 Jamaica 16-Year rum

Kill Devil (Hunter Laing) 1998 Jamaica 16-Year

United Kingdom | Aged

5.5/10
2 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1

Rate Kill Devil (Hunter Laing) 1998 Jamaica 16-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

2 Kill Devil (Hunter Laing) 1998 Jamaica 16-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by laurent πŸ‡«πŸ‡· | 60 ratings

Quite typical in every aspect : a bit of varnish, ananas, olive, brine, well balanced wood... At 46Β° it is not a beast but the distillate in itself is so flavorful that it is still very good after some drops of waters. A good introduction into Jamaican funky rums (and the exact opposite of south american over-sweetened rons).

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 141 ratings

Tastes like rum
Smells like rum
It is rum
This rum is strong and flavourous
You will enjoy it

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bernard πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ | 14 ratings

... un peu court en bouche, manque de maturitΓ© si on aime les rhums qui ont plus de corps

Posted over 4 years ago by Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2912 ratings

Tried the Plantation Jamaica 8 year old and it has a very weird rubber smell to it. Maybe it's the Jamaica Glue which other reviews are referring to. It is offputting to start with and the taste test does not convince me either. There is a surprisingly strong burn at the end. I'm not convinced at all.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 228 ratings

Jamaican rum is not in my comfort zone for rum enjoyment. I prefer heavier body rum. However, this rum is pretty good though I like the Appleton 12 rare better. I don't think this rum is available anymore, but if it is, I would buy it. Some alcohol burn with a strong tropical fruit flavor.

Posted 5 years ago by Reto πŸ‡¨πŸ‡­ | 89 ratings

Not to compare with the XO from Barbados. Not a good taste.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Per πŸ‡©πŸ‡° | 45 ratings

This is a okay and tasty rum. Not among the top class rum.

Posted over 6 years ago by Beukeboom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 304 ratings

I was expecting something a little more smooth from an 8-year rum but this took me by surprise. Definitely a drier rum with a woodiness in flavor. Some sweetness detected but the burn hits and hits hard almost immediately. This is a tongue-tingler at 90 proof. Folks who like bourbon and scotch may like this rum more than the sweeter ones. Works best in mixed drinks, especially frozen ones.

Posted 7 years ago by Carl Saxmark πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 114 ratings

This isnΒ΄t as sweet as plantations use to be.. Nice taste and a strong finish.. Fades down to orange taste..

Posted over 7 years ago by Bryan Sprang πŸ‡©πŸ‡° | 21 ratings

Very light and pale in appearance and when you first pour a glass you receive a powerful cognac aroma. When tasting it you get a bombastic first wave of alcohol but then afterwards tastes of roasted bananas and coconuts. I've tried it neat, but would be willing to venture it would be better on the rocks.




Brand Details

Name: 1998 Jamaica 16-Year
Company: Kill Devil (Hunter Laing)
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 16
Distilled: 1998
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2912
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
546
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
514