Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

ZN
had this rum recently

Guyana | Aged | 43% ABV

El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year rum is crafted from 15 to 25 year old rums that are then blended and married together in bourbon oak casks. Prior to blending the original batches are distilled using 4 unique stills - the Enmore and Diamond Coffey stills, the Port Mourant double wooden pot still, and the Versailles single wooden pot still.

The bottle of El Dorado Special Reserve 15-year was inspired by the the old hand-blown flasks used by sugar planters on the banks of the Demerara river.

8.0/10
961 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
3
20
50
159
392
264
68

Rate El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

961 El Dorado Special Reserve 15-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Mike McPhee 🇨🇦 | 13 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Similar to the 12 year old as it can be enjoyed on the rocks or mixed. It adds a variety of flavours to cola & truly enhances it. With the dark colours & attractive aroma it is one every rum connoisseur should have on hand.

Amalas 🇺🇸 | 71 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Perfect for drinking on the rocks. Strong start with a full flavorful middle. Not too much linger, so it keeps you wanting more. A bit of a one-note, but well-balanced. So glad I got to try a glass.

forrest loftis 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

My favorite store ordered this for me. I was in Guyana years ago and had the pleasure of tasting all their rums at that time, the 1960's. Some very good, some so so. This 15 year has a sharp after burn when swallowed. Since I only enjoy sipping rums, the burn was surprising. In it's defense, it is delicious cut with two fingers of water and lime twist. But why pay the 50.00 price and not enjoy it straight up. Give it 7.

Tito Jackson 🇺🇸 | 28 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

And that makes sense, doesn't it? Less sweet than the 12 and stronger with the wood.

Delicious but I prefer the 12

nimrodrose 🇮🇱 | 7 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

I love this one

John Papas 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Great rum I can't imagine not being part of my collection. It's a bit expensive for me but worth it when I want a treat.

Case 🇬🇧 | 15 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Lush, rich, complex, delicious. On the sweet side with dried fruit, brown sugar, chocolate, oranges, oak, some spiciness and much much more... This should appeal to everybody, there is no harshness, just pure pleasure.
EDIT: To reach this level of softness, El Dorado have added a record-setting 35g of sugar per litre. Will need a long time to figure out how I feel about this.

Dai 🇬🇧 | 15 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Gorgeous rum plenty of taste to it smooth fruity a rich type of fruitiness to it. A lot of the smoothness of this rum is down to the added sugar which will also account for the sweetness of this rum.

Tikihead 🇺🇸 | 23 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

The only reason this one didn't get a ten is because I'm new to rum tasting and I believe there's always something better out there. Near perfection is this rum. Wonderfully balanced, slightly sweet, smooth and mellow. Almost non-existent burn going down. Great neat or with a small ice cube, which I prefer. This is my favorite to date.

Thomas Jesen 🇩🇰 | 41 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Smager godt og følger fin tråden fra 12'eren. Måske lige så nem at gå til som 12'eren.
Et genkøb.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: El Dorado
Country: Guyana
ABV: 43%
Name: Special Reserve 15-Year
Years Aged: 15
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

Loading...