El Dorado 1988 25-Year rum

El Dorado 1988 25-Year

Guyana | Aged

9.7/10
20 ratings
Truly a fantastic choice
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
16

Rate El Dorado 1988 25-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

20 El Dorado 1988 25-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 126 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Really nice candy apple nose. Incredibly smooth, almost no bite and just the right amount of spice. Oaky with slight nut flavour, nice mix of dark berry and molasses.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 358 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Earns all the superlatives you know. A truly fantastic rum, but it’s always discussable if it’s worth the money. Because of the price it cannot be an everyday rum for me. Instead it will be a rum for special occasions.
Nose fantastic, taste very good and afterburn fantastic.
Truly recommendable if you have around 500€ left.
Picture: My top five shelf.

Michael LaRocca 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

This is a truly special rum, and without a doubt the best I've ever had. The presentation of the bottle is already special, matched by a mouth-watering color. The taste is perfect and smooth, with not an ounce of burn. El Dorado has created the perfect rum!

My scoring system (with weights) is as follows:
-Packaging (10%): 10
-Color (20%): 10
-Nose (20%): 8.5
-Palette (25%): 10
-Smoothness (25%): 10

-Total Weighted Score: 9.7 (rounded up to 10 for rumratings.com)

The nose was very good, but to me isn't as flavorful as I'd expect and doesn't reflect the perfection of the taste. Apart from this, it is a perfect rum in every way.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 535 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I was hesitant to buy a bottle of this, because of the extremely high price of $499 (DrinkUpNY 2016) and because I'm not really a big fan of El Dorado rums. But this one is very good.

I like the 43%abv on this. Good rums always taste better stronger. Smells and tastes of toffee, brown sugar, caramel, chocolate, and vanilla. Smooth, especially for 43%abv.

I rate this at the top of the 9 scale; very good, but just shy of a 10.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2994 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Well over 2,600 aged dark rums enjoyed and El Dorado 25 year is easily on my Top 30 list. It is sublime, super smooth, like molten chocolate, no burn at all and contains plenty of amazing flavors. I tried this amazing rum the first time at the Marriott hotel in Georgetown Guyana and have had the luxury of enjoying it 4 times since that in rum bars in New York and in Chicago.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 10
10/100 Color of this rum 10
15/100 Nose test 14
20/100 Palate test 20
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 15
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 11
15/100 Ultimate value for money 2
Total score 82

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 442 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

I wanted a special rum to break 400 ratings and have seen this on the shelf of the lock box at ABC for several years. They finally put it on sale but still over $400 US. I am a big fan of Guayana rums and have huge expectations. Great dark brown color, rich scent, wow this is incredible similar to Centenario Real & 30, Zafra 30 & Don Pancho 30. Very smooth lots of depth I think the best rum I have ever tried. Spoiled for life now 43% mildly sweet very delicious nice lingering burn in a good way.need to put this away for my next special occasion.

caillan 🇨🇦 | 30 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

The best I've ever had, amazingly smooth and delicious

VikingXO 🇩🇰 | 169 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

You can truly taste the 25years - What a taste experience and GREAT nose!
It is my understanding that this vintage 1988 is a bit on the sweeter side compared to other vintages. I would say that the sweeter side together with this complex rum brings out the masterpiece.

Golfm 🇩🇰 | 154 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Had expected a little more for that price. 9.5 would have been the right grade.

SveinMagnus 🇳🇴 | 27 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

While the El Dorado series of rums are good and especially the 15yo, I was disappointing by the 21yo and thus was a bit apprehensive of getting the 25yo, especially in light of its considerable cost. There was no reason to hesitate however as the rum was probably the best I have ever tasted. The flavour was of a sweet oakey syrup with deep toasted notes, in near perfect balance with both the aromas and alcohol. Worth the money for true connoisseurs!

Whiskas 🇳🇴 | 3 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Rich, smooth and mellow with
caramel and heavy fruit cake.




Brand Details

Name: 1988 25-Year
Company: El Dorado
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 25
Distilled: 1988

Loading

Loading

Loading