Jonah's Curse Black Spiced rum

Jonah's Curse Black Spiced

United States | Spiced

6.0/10
42 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
3
13
12
6
2

Rate Jonah's Curse Black Spiced

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

42 Jonah's Curse Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

DG 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Drinkable but mix it with something. A gift in my Christmas stocking. A nice, tiny, gift.

MityMo69 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

First, most people don't seem to get that Black Spiced Rum ("BSR") was originated as a mixer. You were never meant to drink it neat. Thus the paint thinner feel and taste of Kraken when drunk straight. Jonahs Curse has given us a BSR that could both be a mixer and could be had neat. Still a bit harsh, but not nearly as Kraken or Captain Morgan. Captain Morgan BSR, by the way is becoming harder and harder to find.

Second, people also don't seem to get that you need to chill BSR before mixing it, or drinking it neat. Chill, chill, chill. When brought home from the store, any BSR should find a place in your freezer for at least 40 minutes before finding a home in your refrigerator.

One thing I really like about Jonahs Curse ("JC") is the caramel flavor that is sweet but not too sweet when mixed properly. It goes down in such a way that makes you want to keep your glass refilled.

As with any BSR you have to watch out. It will sneak up on you in such a way you in one moment will be able to fully understand Brexit and can easily explain to either the General Assembly of the United nations or a layperson off the street the complexities therein however suddenly (after a few glasses) will find yourself viewing english as a second language you took way back in high school and have since forgotten and have resorted to sign language and word salad as a means to communicate since neither your audience nor you seem to know what the hell you are trying to say.

Jonahs Curse, when prepared and or mixed properly makes this seem acceptable as a way of life and even guilt or embarrassment free, unlike Kraken which seems to leave you (in moments described above) feeling like Marty Feldman from 'Young Frankenstein' looking for Nurse Diesel in 'High Anxiety' to give you an adjustment. If you don't get the Mel Brooks references, pour yourself some Jonahs Curse, kick back and prepare to laugh and exclaim at what you believe is your indoor voice but is really loud enough to wake the neighbors and convince them you have found your higher calling with a robust "I get it!! I totally get it!!"

Prepared correctly, drunk responsibly, this is a great drink for anytime, any season.

Ian Mack 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

I was fooled by a "international awards" and cheap price..."92 point" for $14 wow....No. You can't make a bullet from a turd. Too much Chinese made flavours, to much sugar, smells like booze, mixed with fake vanilla, fake caramel, fake clover etc. No mas amigos.

Kieron wood 🇬🇧 | 571 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

This spiced rum is down there with one of the worse . Think of kraken but with a dollop of sugar dumped it in .

The flavouring starts in the smell , smells awful think of black tar.

Then when you taste it just burns like a navy grog but a really bad grog... Like its been left in someones shoe for a long time .you can really taste the caramel sugar .

The only positive is that it is labelled kinda properly, not in line with RL sealed categorisation but at least admits to added sugar and colouring

Handsome Alex 🇺🇸 | 88 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I hadn't heard of this one, but it was the "Staff Favorite" at Total Wine. As soon as I opened the bottle, I could smell the chocolate and caramel notes without coming near the glass. With the first sip, the sweetness hits the front of your tongue. There's a little burn to let you know this is a 94 proof (not the 70 proof you often see in a spiced rum). With an ice cube, it settles down a bit, but still too sweet for my tastes. Good for a sweeter rum & coke or a mudslide type cocktail, but not a sipper.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2924 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

After 15 years of aged rum tastings and after well over 300 aged rums later I ventured to try out the Jonah's Curse Black Spiced rum for the very first time in my life. And the very last time. I have to tell that it is a bit better than Blackheart and much better than Captain Morgan, but when you are scraping the bottom of the barrel, you compare ratings 1, 2 and 3 against each other. The Jonah's Curse does not have as bad burn as the other low ranking rums, but the artificial caramel taste and flavor is not that good at all. For your own sanity, go right now to your closest liquor store and buy a bottle of Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, try it out and you will never ever even think about Jonah's Curse again.

Gordon Gladstone 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted almost 5 years ago

After a while, I decided I liked spiced rum. After trying a few brands, I settled on Cruzan 9 for about a year. Then I had Sailor Jerry/rocks in a bar and switched to that for almost two years. Then, I found Jonah's Curse Black Spiced Rum and I stopped looking. Smells good, tastes good, high proof but no alcohol burn, mixes with the usual. I mix it with Trader Joe's Green Juice. It also works with Sir Banana, a milk/banana mixture i found in the milk case at the supermarket. For the past two Thanksgiving/Christmas seasons, it even mixed with store bought egg nog, even though one usually uses a light rum for that. Jonah's Curse is also good straight or on the rocks, with or without a squeeze of lemon. Highly recommended.

Mike 🇺🇸 | 25 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

It's not bad by any means, tasting it straight to try and understand it. Tastes like vanilla, smells exactly like those bottled Starbucks Frappuccino drinks. Not bad but definitly artificial. Not my cup of tea.

Jacob Darrah 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Another good spiced rum, mixes well, wonderful aroma

Nathan French 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

A splash of water is all it takes to quell the bite and unlock this rum's smooth vanilla and caramel. I don't know about the aroma but it sure smells good!

Chet 🇺🇸 | 191 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This is an excellent Rum and Coke Rum. Excellent Vanilla nose, smooth and at 92 Proof it packs a punch if your not cautious. This is my go to on Friday Nights.




Brand Details

Name: Black Spiced
Company: Jonah's Curse
Type: Spiced
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading