Foursquare 2004 Zinfandel Cask Blend 11-Year rum

Foursquare 2004 Zinfandel Cask Blend 11-Year

Barbados | Aged | 43.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

8.4/10
102 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
7
31
45
12

Rate Foursquare 2004 Zinfandel Cask Blend 11-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

102 Foursquare 2004 Zinfandel Cask Blend 11-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

JackOrion ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 61 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

No added sugar or flavors. Everything is coming from distilling and barrel aging. I am interested to learn where foursquare is getting their zin barrels from. The nose is extremely heady and floral. In a blind tasting I would probably never guess wine but knowing it's there sends you searching and it is indeed detectable, floating up top in the back of the nose. The palate is rich and thankfully it's bottled at 43%. I can't help but wonder how the blender came to this ratio of bourbon and zin and how the line can be tipped one way or the other.
I bought this along with the amazing 2004 so I could gain side by side perspective. The zin has far less charred white oak that so dominates the 2004! This gives it a multi dimentional quality and would be perfect pairing with a well rounded charcuterie platter.

Bottom line, these R.L. Seale rums in the Foursquare line are stellar.
Unless your favorite rum is El Dorado 12, in which case I'm truly sorry for you, your going to want to get this.
A note on packaging... It's bare bones no frills screw cap bottling and thats okay. Whats inside truly speaks for itself.

Graham Davie ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 65 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I bought this after reading all the rave reviews claiming this rum to be amongst the best available. I have to say on my first tasting, I couldnโ€™t see what all the fuss was about. I almost thought it was bland.
Having made no secret that DF Res is my personal favourite, this was a million miles away.
However, after the second visit, I hope that I am truly now appreciative of what this โ€œ true rumโ€ offers.

Itโ€™s naturally sweet, has little burn, leaves a long warming aftertaste that makes the throat glow.

I do not add my normal 1 ice cube, just take it as itโ€™s meant to be, nothing added.
The more I try it the more it grows on me.

43% and still exceptionally smooth, nothing added, as natural as it can be.

Iโ€™m converted.
Graham.

Alan ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 89 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Zinfandel Cask Blend has a stunning continuity between aroma and taste. No additives allow the master blender's art to shine, revealing a wealth of rich and complex flavors.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 535 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

I like Port more than I like Zin, and I love the Foursquare Port, so I thought for sure I'd like that more. But this is even better (imho) than the Foursquare Port!

This has a wonderful pepper spice to it, and though not too sweet, it's not too dry either. Smells and tastes of molasses, pepper, toffee, marzipan, oak, and cinnamon. I also noticed a little Zin flavor after looking for it (because well it is a Zin rum).

This is another fantastic aged rum from Foursquare. I'm REALLY impressed with the quality of their aged rums - especially for the low price of under $50 ($49.99 at Mission Liquor).

mistercoughy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 239 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This is Seale's Zin-Cask rum and it is out of this world. Whereas the port-finish offering from last year overpowered the rum rather than added to it, this Zin finish marries so easily with the rum to produce a luscious bouquet and delicious flavor throughout the tasting. It's very dry, yet full of fruity overtones and spicy goodness. Excellent product. Straight up all the way.

Rhoffer97 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 61 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Very nice! Slight aroma, slightly sweeter than I expected (but not sweet). Very smooth and balanced

Andy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 126 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Deep brown sugar nose. Smooth molasses flavour with the Zinfandel cask coming through well - quite an interesting wine-type initial note, but Iโ€™m not an enormous fan of it. Serious spice lasts forever with smokey and woodsy tones. Unique for sure, just not my cup of tea

Martin Kennedy ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ | 237 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I loved the port cask and was looking forward to trying another Foursquare classy rum. It didn't disappoint... Beautiful fruity aroma upon opening , then after leaving in the glass for 5 mins my first sip... amazing taste , fruit , wine cask and a little pepper. Its dry but not too dry and the aftertaste is the best I've experienced so far... just great rum ! Vintage cask next.

nealc ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Rum was one of my first favorite spirits.. However for past decade or so I haven't really had much, looking into other things. Recently I thought I should get back into rum but came across so many different unfamiliar labels and didn't really know what to be looking for and what was just hype. So I was at TJ and saw this one, and the price was decent and a quick phone websearch showed it was supposed to be OK. Brought it home and wow - balance, beautiful fruit aroma (maybe a slight suggestion of black cherry from the zin), smooth flavor, alluring sweetness, and balance again. blown away, and brought me back to rum.

nomad ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 137 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Took more than 20 minutes for the big alcohol aroma to dissipate.
I find this common with new bottles. That's not a detriment, just an observation. Nutty, oak, a little hot in a good way; the grapes are there, on the sides of the tongue.
Long finish at the back of the mouth. Walnuts? A solid pick, if you like them dry.




Brand Details

Name: 2004 Zinfandel Cask Blend 11-Year
Company: Foursquare
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 43.0%
Aged: 11
Distilled: 2004

Loading

Professional Reviews

Articles

Loading

Loading