Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve rum

Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

Multiple | Aged

6.5/10
227 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
10
26
57
104
22
4

Rate Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

227 Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Simones 🇸🇰 | 42 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Classical rum feel. Semi sweet with alcohol aftertaste. There is smoke and cane taste like in classical rum.
Average, which will not destroy mood

Dan-Fix 🇸🇪 | 113 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

This rum changed me from being a single malt whiskey drinker to a rum sipper. I got my eyes on it in the local liqueurstore and I thought to myself why not try something new and not spend a fortune on a single malt whiskey bottle. For the price it cost i thought if it taste like crap i could use it for cleaning the wounds on my neighbours dog after being attacked by wild cats and dont feel bad about it. After this plantation rum i dont feel the need for expensive whiskey anymore when you can get this so much cheaper. It smells like raisins and banana with an inviting note. The taste is great, sweet and tones of vanilla, raisins and banana. A bit young in taste, 3 years altogether on casks give it a more sharpness to the taste instead of roundness. Although i cannot give more then a 6 because of me being a rookie in the rum world. I need to try more rums first to compare it with, can't give a ten on my first rum. Then i can maybe bring up the score on it.

dejvix 🇸🇰 | 35 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Vôňa nie je výrazná, farba svetlá, fľaša pekná "reprezentačná" (asi aj dôvod prečo som si ho kúpil) :). V chuti je cítiť dub (až bourbon - po zrení v sudde), trošku vanilku a pre mňa akurátnu jemnú nasladlosť. Na konci to prechádza až na jemné trpnutie jazyka, úst a hrejivý pocit :) Rum som kúpil za 17€/fľaša, neurazil, stojí za ochutnanie, ale napr. Pampero Aniversario mi prišiel zaujímavejší.

Václav 🇨🇿 | 78 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Well, this rum is nothing superior. But also, it doesn't make itself something, it isn't. And yet, it becomes great rum. And great friend. It have very very smooth taste with little sweetness, very simple but understanding palate of taste, rather light and fruity and very pleasant spring smell. And that makes it excellent relaxing sipper. Kick-less, friendly, familiar, soothing. At room temperature diluted with small drip of water, it could accompany you for hours, leaving you relaxed. My favourite blend but soothing sipper. As sipper for common relaxing occasions - excellent. As complex rum for tasting and deep enjoying - hardly no. AS mixer - any drink kill it's perks, especially Cola. So no. take a word from my review and turn another cheek for this friendly fellow.

pmcl 🇨🇦 | 7 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

The title says it all. Hard to believe that you can buy a ‘good’ sipping rum for under $30 (Canadian). Very smooth on it’s own with just a hint of alcohol astringency. At the price there’s no shame in mixing it either if that’s your thing.

Rorschach 🇧🇬 | 32 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Note: I'm a sipper. My opinion is based on sipping characteristics.

If there's a bad Plantation, this might as well be it. To me personally this is a fizz-like drink. It tastes like some sort of watered down fermented glucose syrup or something. There's no maturity here whatsoever. Feels like the result of bunch of leftowers dumped down a cask and set aside for few months. Might be good for mixing but is totally unsuitable for sipping. Plus, you can get Barcelo Gran Anejo for less and that's a pretty damn good golden rum.

Chris 🇳🇱 | 71 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I really just started to explore rum so not a lot to compare but this is one you should get at least once! Good taste, nice price and just a good drink overall!

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 499 ratings
Posted 5 days ago

Glänzend helles Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase erfrischend fruchtig. Feine Düfte schmeicheln dir mit tropischen Früchten, Vanille, Karamell und ein wenig Holz.
Am Gaumen leicht und delikat. Frisch aufgeschnittene tropische Früchte fallen in eine grosse mit Vanillecreme gefüllten Holzschüssel. Einige Spritzer Karamellsauce machen das Ganze recht süffig. (16 gr./l)
Im Abgang ist eine leichte alkoholische Note zu vernehmen. Vanille, Karamell und die leckeren Früchte machen dieses Manko aber wieder wett.
Ein toller, günstiger Rum für alle Tage, der Einsteiger und Geniesser anspricht.
Plantation Verkostung bei SCHÜWO.

Shiny light amber in the glass.
Refreshingly fruity on the nose. Fine scents flatter you with tropical fruits, vanilla, caramel and a little wood.
Light and delicate on the palate. Freshly sliced tropical fruit drops into a large wooden bowl filled with vanilla cream. A few dashes of caramel sauce make it quite drinkable. (16 gr./l)
There is a slight alcoholic note on the finish. Vanilla, caramel and the delicious fruit make up for this shortcoming though.
A great, inexpensive rum for all days, which appeals to beginners and connoisseurs.
Plantation tasting at SCHÜWO.

slawekr 🇵🇱 | 47 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Tropcal fruits, vanilla and coconut. My second favourite Plantation rum.

Kaps_Gr 🇬🇷 | 26 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

A good rum with nice colour.
Interesting and balanced to the nose. Not alcoholic, with floral and predominat fruit tones.
Smooth and easy going to the mouth, warm experience, cask wood and flavours,and smooth fruity notes. Definitively it has some complexity for a young rum.
However the aftertaste is limited and poor, not lasting.
At the end of the day is a good choise for the money, especially you think that the plantation original dark is too sweet for you.
Recommended to everyone who want to try a decent rum for sipping and mixing without spending a lot.

Bjornsonen 🇸🇪 | 3 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

If I would introduce someone new to the world of rums I would start with this one. A bit of a sting at first but smooth and with a nice finish. This one always comes with me when I go glamping with my hammock in the woods. A good simple rum for a good price!




Brand Details

Name: Barbados Grande Reserve
Company: Plantation
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading