Posting your rating...
Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve rum

Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

France | Aged

6.5/10
218 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
10
25
54
99
22
4

Rate Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

218 Plantation Barbados Grande Reserve ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

This rum changed me from being a single malt whiskey drinker to a rum sipper. I got my eyes on it in the local liqueurstore and I thought to myself why not try something new and not spend a fortune on a single malt whiskey bottle. For the price it cost i thought if it taste like crap i could use it for cleaning the wounds on my neighbours dog after being attacked by wild cats and dont feel bad about it. After this plantation rum i dont feel the need for expensive whiskey anymore when you can get this so much cheaper. It smells like raisins and banana with an inviting note. The taste is great, sweet and tones of vanilla, raisins and banana. A bit young in taste, 3 years altogether on casks give it a more sharpness to the taste instead of roundness. Although i cannot give more then a 6 because of me being a rookie in the rum world. I need to try more rums first to compare it with, can't give a ten on my first rum. Then i can maybe bring up the score on it.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by dejvix from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Vôňa nie je výrazná, farba svetlá, fľaša pekná "reprezentačná" (asi aj dôvod prečo som si ho kúpil) :). V chuti je cítiť dub (až bourbon - po zrení v sudde), trošku vanilku a pre mňa akurátnu jemnú nasladlosť. Na konci to prechádza až na jemné trpnutie jazyka, úst a hrejivý pocit :) Rum som kúpil za 17€/fľaša, neurazil, stojí za ochutnanie, ale napr. Pampero Aniversario mi prišiel zaujímavejší.

Small stl177468

Posted 5 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 76 ratings

Well, this rum is nothing superior. But also, it doesn't make itself something, it isn't. And yet, it becomes great rum. And great friend. It have very very smooth taste with little sweetness, very simple but understanding palate of taste, rather light and fruity and very pleasant spring smell. And that makes it excellent relaxing sipper. Kick-less, friendly, familiar, soothing. At room temperature diluted with small drip of water, it could accompany you for hours, leaving you relaxed. My favourite blend but soothing sipper. As sipper for common relaxing occasions - excellent. As complex rum for tasting and deep enjoying - hardly no. AS mixer - any drink kill it's perks, especially Cola. So no. take a word from my review and turn another cheek for this friendly fellow.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by pmcl from Canada with 7 ratings

The title says it all. Hard to believe that you can buy a ‘good’ sipping rum for under $30 (Canadian). Very smooth on it’s own with just a hint of alcohol astringency. At the price there’s no shame in mixing it either if that’s your thing.

Small rorschach film

Posted 1 month ago by Rorschach from Bulgaria with 27 ratings

Note: I'm a sipper. My opinion is based on sipping characteristics.

If there's a bad Plantation, this might as well be it. To me personally this is a fizz-like drink. It tastes like some sort of watered down fermented glucose syrup or something. There's no maturity here whatsoever. Feels like the result of bunch of leftowers dumped down a cask and set aside for few months. Might be good for mixing but is totally unsuitable for sipping. Plus, you can get Barcelo Gran Anejo for less and that's a pretty damn good golden rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 71 ratings

I really just started to explore rum so not a lot to compare but this is one you should get at least once! Good taste, nice price and just a good drink overall!

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by slawekr from Poland with 38 ratings

Tropcal fruits, vanilla and coconut. My second favourite Plantation rum.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Kaps_Gr from Greece with 22 ratings

A good rum with nice colour.
Interesting and balanced to the nose. Not alcoholic, with floral and predominat fruit tones.
Smooth and easy going to the mouth, warm experience, cask wood and flavours,and smooth fruity notes. Definitively it has some complexity for a young rum.
However the aftertaste is limited and poor, not lasting.
At the end of the day is a good choise for the money, especially you think that the plantation original dark is too sweet for you.
Recommended to everyone who want to try a decent rum for sipping and mixing without spending a lot.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Bjornsonen from Sweden with 3 ratings

If I would introduce someone new to the world of rums I would start with this one. A bit of a sting at first but smooth and with a nice finish. This one always comes with me when I go glamping with my hammock in the woods. A good simple rum for a good price!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by JKNitro from Finland with 49 ratings

To me, this is the one I got in to rums and still it is my go to, if I just want a simple, good, reliable rum for sipping.
Oak, toffee, fruits on the nose. Vanilla, toffee, citrussy, oaky, pretty dry on the palate. Nice gentle alcohol taste, quite long lasting. I have coke on the side, if I feel like it, but it does not need it.