El Dorado 8-Year rum

El Dorado 8-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 8-year is a medium-bodied premium rum which has been recently added to the El Dorado portfolio. Distilled from fermented molasses, it is a nice option between the heavier 12-year and lighter 5-year counterparts.

6.8/10
263 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
21
54
114
56
9
3

Rate El Dorado 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

263 El Dorado 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 6 years ago by Craig ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 16 ratings

Lambs Amber is my usual base mixing rum for rum and soda drinks. Most of my friends who are Cuba Libre drinkers are also Lambs Amber fans. Not being a fan of this drink myself I can't compare how E.D. 8 enhances the drink. I do however like it in a nice rum cocktail. For the price this is certainly a step up from a Lambs or Captain Morgan.

Posted over 7 years ago by thefatrumpirate ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 121 ratings

A complex balanced and heavy bodied flavourful mixing rum.

Very enjoyable the 15 Year Old lover's mixer.......try the 5 Year Old as a mixer if you prefer the 12 Year Old.

Posted over 7 years ago by murf ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 10 ratings

this has a bit too much alcohol on the throat to drink neat.... However it makes an awesome rum old fashioned. Definitely worth having an ever-present bottle on the shelf

Posted over 7 years ago by YMHC ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 162 ratings

El dorado 8 is een prima rum om puur te drinken. Een complexe smaak, banaan, tabak en fruit.

Edit:
Kon wel eens de beste El Dorado zijn. Met 'maar' 8-15 gr/L suiker.

Posted over 7 years ago by Ian Rea ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 4 ratings

This is the first rum that I have enjoyed sipping, slightly sweet with nice caramel taste and a smooth after taste. Too nice to add anything else.

Posted over 7 years ago by James Young ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 21 ratings

Entry level sipper and superb in a rum cocktail. Beats all the other rums in this bracket

Posted over 7 years ago by Kogfather ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 6 ratings

For the price excellent I enjoyed it on the rocks as a sipper and with coke.... For a little extra cash though might as well man up and buy the 12

Posted 8 years ago by Helena Tiare ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 110 ratings

I find this rum to stand in between the 5 yo and the 12 yo. The 15g/L added sugar takes down my rating.

Posted 8 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 116 ratings

Although this one can be sipped, I would recommend it for drinks. But you get quite a good rum compared to the price.

Posted over 8 years ago by Amalas ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 68 ratings

A bit of a bite at the first sip, but very smooth finish. Has a whiskey vibe to it, likely due to the 8 year cask aging. I was initially surprised to see that it is made in Guyana, as you don't normally associate Guyana with rum. Would definitely recommend this either on the rocks.

Posted over 8 years ago by BerodeQuentin ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท | 40 ratings

A beautifull rum, hugh step from the 5yrs old too light for me. I like the structure and the balance...

A every day rum...




Brand Details

Name: 8-Year
Company: El Dorado
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2886
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
540
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
513