El Dorado 8-Year rum

El Dorado 8-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 8-year is a medium-bodied premium rum which has been recently added to the El Dorado portfolio. Distilled from fermented molasses, it is a nice option between the heavier 12-year and lighter 5-year counterparts.

6.8/10
263 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
21
54
114
56
9
3

Rate El Dorado 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

263 El Dorado 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 6 years ago by Craig 🇨🇦 | 16 ratings

Lambs Amber is my usual base mixing rum for rum and soda drinks. Most of my friends who are Cuba Libre drinkers are also Lambs Amber fans. Not being a fan of this drink myself I can't compare how E.D. 8 enhances the drink. I do however like it in a nice rum cocktail. For the price this is certainly a step up from a Lambs or Captain Morgan.

Posted almost 7 years ago by snowlock 🇨🇿 | 10 ratings

It tastes good. I feel the aroma of walnut. I´m already looking forward to its 12y-old brother.

Posted almost 7 years ago by HammerHead 🇳🇱 | 28 ratings

For a rum aged 8 years it's still got a lot of heat from the spirit. It's reasonably tasty though. Apparently the 12 year old should be much better. So let's move on to that one.

Posted almost 7 years ago by tang 🇺🇸 | 10 ratings

Great rum. I stored it on it's side and much of it leaked out, but only because I'm an idiot.

Posted almost 7 years ago by mamajuana 🇺🇸 | 148 ratings

This rum offers a value entry into el Dorado but is nothing special. It tastes like it sounds it entry level sipper at best but is too young in profile to compare to its better aged counterparts.

Posted 7 years ago by Chris Williamson 🇨🇦 | 81 ratings

smooth rum but missing a lot of flavour or finish and not a ton of body

Posted over 7 years ago by DelectaBlee 🇺🇸 | 59 ratings

Have not tried the full lineup of ED but I like this one. Flavor is rich, similar to a Jamaican but less pungent with a subtle smoky flavor, somewhat whisky like. It's definitely a keeper.

Posted over 7 years ago by Pielor 🇨🇦 | 25 ratings

I really like El Dorado rums, I had the 5 years, the 12, the 15 and the 21. I also tried the spiced rum and the original dark, all of them I enjoyed, and the 21 years being my favorite and perhaps, the third best rums I experienced. My expectations were high for the 8 years, but unfortunately, it did not do it for me. I prefer the 5 years.
Not to say it is a bad rum, but there is better 8 years aged rums out there.

Posted over 7 years ago by Dave 🇺🇸 | 36 ratings

I've had the 21, 15, & 12, with the 21 being my favorite rum. Tried the 8 straight and just felt it was inferior to most runs I've had. For the money, I feel there are better selection in that price range. Was good mixed with coca cola.

Posted over 7 years ago by Dobso 🇸🇰 | 40 ratings

Chutný, mierne korenistý rum, ktorý má všetko čo má mať. Cena/kvalita je ozaj super

Posted over 7 years ago by Grand Master Jay 🇬🇧 | 80 ratings

Hmmm I would go for the 5 much better. Its okay mixed but at the price try the 5 far better. Not like their premium rums.




Brand Details

Name: 8-Year
Company: El Dorado
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
540
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513