El Dorado 8-Year rum

El Dorado 8-Year

Guyana | Aged

El Dorado 8-year is a medium-bodied premium rum which has been recently added to the El Dorado portfolio. Distilled from fermented molasses, it is a nice option between the heavier 12-year and lighter 5-year counterparts.

6.8/10
263 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
4
21
54
114
56
9
3

Rate El Dorado 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

263 El Dorado 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 6 years ago by Craig 🇨🇦 | 16 ratings

Lambs Amber is my usual base mixing rum for rum and soda drinks. Most of my friends who are Cuba Libre drinkers are also Lambs Amber fans. Not being a fan of this drink myself I can't compare how E.D. 8 enhances the drink. I do however like it in a nice rum cocktail. For the price this is certainly a step up from a Lambs or Captain Morgan.

Posted 9 days ago by PapaKielbasa 🇺🇸 | 32 ratings

The dark molassesy, brown sugar notes on this one punches well above its weight and can carry any recipe calling for a demerara rum. Super value for the price!

I personally like this in my coffee with a punch of banana liquer on Saturday mornings and in my three dots and a dash recipe.

Posted 12 months ago by wayoutwest 🇬🇧 | 60 ratings

Initially I felt like all the goodness - the depth, complexity, the dark brown sugar, strange funk - was kinda buried under too low ABV and too much column still distillate.
Now, I'm beginning to appreciate it more. The top notes are slightly grassy and subtle. The way they lift the finish and a gentle dark sugar sweetness is lovely.

Yes, its pretty sweet. Up to now, my runs have all been bone dry to balanced. This is new venture, in order to sample the Demerera style I'd heard so much about.
I like it. Happily drinking it neat, and look forward to tying out as a mixer.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kenneth 🇬🇧 | 69 ratings

This Rum has more of an alcoholic kick than I expected, but nonetheless it is a good quality tasting Rum with a nice molasses flavour and a wonderful nose of deep smoked oak. An enjoyable aftertaste finishes it off nicely. I really enjoy sipping this rum, so much so that the bottle has gone down way quicker than I had intended. I would love to try the 12 year El Dorado next.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Vin 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings

Id say this is a pretty good all rounder. For the price, it's not amazing at any one thing, but it does OK with everything. You can sip this quite easily.. it won't be a luxurious sip, but it's definitely sip-able. It will mix well with sodas and other drinks too, it may not be the ideal mixer for that specific mix, but it will work.

It's a bit sweet, vanillas, and dried fruit but not too saturated, a bit of bite and burn. It's fair all around.

Posted over 6 years ago by Ghandimaster CZ | 29 ratings

Typical demerara flavour. Strong, molases rum like taste. Caramel and woody flavour are in nice balance. Like it.

Posted 7 years ago by Marty 🇺🇸 | 102 ratings

My number one go to aged rum. And for the price, there is little else that compares. Rum is my drink of choice, but I have not yet learned to review and distinguish all the nuances and subtleties. I just know what I like. And I like this one very much. I have tried nearly every El Dorado rum that I have had the opportunity to purchase.

Posted 3 months ago by lulabrooks 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings

Good to keep around. Sip it or mix it. Much more complex than the 5.

Posted 3 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) 🇫🇷 | 120 ratings

Pas fan de ce genre de rum. Mais ce n'est que mon goût.
Il sera apprécié par les amateurs de rums de tradition britannique

Posted 8 months ago by Murky 🇨🇦 | 3 ratings

I tried this rum a few days ago and enjoyed it thoroughly. The best way I can describe this rum is it's like drinking a warm molasses bun.

Posted 9 months ago by ZTrain1177 🇨🇦 | 70 ratings

I really liked this rum. It has hints of caramel and brown sugar. Can be enjoyed on its on or with your favorite mix.




Brand Details

Name: 8-Year
Company: El Dorado
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
540
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
513