loading

El Dorado 5-Year rum

El Dorado 5-Year

Guyana | Gold | 40.0% ABV

The blend of El Dorado 5-Year rum's is distilled in a both column and wooden stills before maturing for five years in bourbon oak casks.

El Dorado 5-year rum is produced by Demerara Distillers Ltd. of Guyana. Sharing its name with the Demerara River, Demerara Distillers first started production in 1670.

6.2/10
187 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
6
26
81
46
18
3

Rate El Dorado 5-Year

Tap to Rate

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

187 El Dorado 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

BallerAND1P 🇬🇧 | 9 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Certainly taste the chocolate and banana coming through. Very smooth for a £21 bottle.

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted almost 8 years ago

This has only a little bit of the good flavors and body which make ED 12 and 15 so enjoyable to so many fans. You'll taste the smoky sweetness which is common to El Dorado rums thanks to their practice of sugaring their products, but the flavors compete with an alcohol aftertaste that isn't very pleasant. This is not terrible rum, but there are so many better ones out there. Glad I tried it, but I won't ever be buying a second bottle.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 470 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

ABC liquor store started carrying the Eldorado brand years ago. Occasionally they are sold out of 12 and I tried 5, first considering the young aging and intro pricing this rum holds it own. Not my go to but not bad either. Solid 5+-6.

Stuart 🇦🇺 | 8 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

I have spent a lot of time in North Queensland and this rum took me straight back there! I can understand how some people would see it as harsh or unrefined, but it is these very qualities that have endeared to me. A sip of this rum takes me straight back to when I was a child and my parents would give us " me and my sisters" a piece of sugar cane to chew on while we were traveling the long distances of Queensland. The taste of this rum is so reminiscent of the smells that were eminating from the many sugar mills and refineries that we would drive past that it is a real emotional experience drinking it.
At the end of the day , it may be pure emotion, but I really enjoy this rum.

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 223 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Sugar: 12 gpl. It's better than Bacardi Gold for mixing but it's not a sipping rum like the older brothers in the El Dorado line. At the Duty Free shop I was tasting it when a chap from Guyana told me it was Peasant Rum. Ouch, that is harsh! Similar taste profile as with the 12 but not as sweet or complex. Tastes of Oak, Vanilla, and Caramel and starts off with some heat but it passes quickly. I have enough mixing rums so I passed on it this time. Good value mixer.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 548 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

I tried this alongside some of the more aged El Dorado's (12, 15, and 21), and (no surprise) this was my least favorite. It's a fair step down from the 12 as it lacks in sweetness and complexity. The smell is weaker, and the taste is harsher.

Brendan S 🇨🇦 | 55 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

When buying rum from Guyana you expect that sweet dark molasses Demerara taste, which this just does not have.

Nose: Not much except alcohol.
Body: Non existent. A little harsh but nothing you wouldn't expect at this price point.
Taste: Little sweet at the start but very boring. Has almost the least amount of aftertaste of any rum I have reviewed.

If you want a rich Demerara at this price point then I would recommend Lemon Hart (also not affiliated) over this any day for any purpose.

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 256 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Im a big fan of the ED 12, and though the ED 5 does not come close to that level of quality, its very obvious that these rums are related. The Aromas are very much alike in character. The palate is also with the same robust demerara fingerprint. The ED 5 Has a medium melasse sweetness, that rolls off into a spicy and slightly edged oaky, tobaco finish. Only tried it neat so far, but i imagine that its robust and nice character would compliment a cocktail extremly well. Nice value

PirateKristen 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

This is my go-to #3 rum for Martin Cate's book - wonderful tiki cocktails come with this- and this in a daiquiri is heaven.

Toast 🇺🇸 | 39 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Very smooth. Nice toffee flavor. Sweet but not overly done. Would recommend.

henrik pedersen 🇩🇰 | 167 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

En rum der til nød kan drikkes rent. Jeg bruger den mest til cocktail, men jeg vil dog anbefale 5 Year.




Brand Details

Name: 5-Year
Company: El Dorado
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 5

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading