Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged | 43% ABV

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10
679 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
10
11
38
112
236
211
46
9

Rate Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

679 Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Cultov 🇨🇿 | 49 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

intense alcoholic odor. warm taste full of wood with hints of orange peel and vanilla

Barlee 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Love Appleton Estate products. Excellent price for such an easy drinking rum. Every personal bar should stock this one.
Great crowd pleasing rum.

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 147 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Slight woodsy nose, but few distinct notes carry through. initial taste is not sweet or dry, just right in the middle. Long, spicy finish - but a nice spicy that isn't overwhelming or too harsh.

In general, I wanted a little more character for a 10+ aged rum. The woodsy oak with a hint of molasses is balanced, but needs something extra to make a very good rum.

Trini Yank 🇹🇹 | 41 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

I try to keep this on my shelf at all times. It is less smooth than other 12 yrs but is so deeply flavoured, I'll take the trade off. I sip this, sometimes with a splash of coconut water. Only thing I don't like about it is its price. Wouldn't pay the $35 and up they charge in the US, but in the Caribbean it is a bargain, particularly at duty free where it can be as low as $19.

MMihran 🇨🇦 | 27 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Good taste

Boutique-rhum.com 🇫🇷 | 25 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Very good rum for a very good price. I prefer it straight up, but it 'll be good in mixed drinks as well.

Don Tucker 🇺🇸 | 193 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

I haven't found a bottle of this yet for my collection, but tasted this for the first time at a friend's house. It is a very nice sipping rum. A nice step up from the V/X and Reserve.

Nick 🇺🇸 | 53 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

A good addition to the cabinet. nice flavor, not too sharp and it's pretty versatile.

Yablo Dratch 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 11 years ago

Decent value, every cabinet should have a bottle.

chango 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 12 years ago

Dryer than the Reserve and V/X, this Estate rum begins the journey towards the sublime sippability of the 21 yr. Still mixable, though... this rum in a Mai-Tai is ridiculously good.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Appleton Estate
Country: Jamaica
ABV: 43%
Name: Extra 12-Year
Years Aged: 12
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Luxurious Drinks
2. The Drink Shop
3. Total Wine
4. Total Wine
Loading...