Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged | 43% ABV

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10
678 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
10
11
38
112
235
211
46
9

Rate Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

678 Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Cultov 🇨🇿 | 49 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

intense alcoholic odor. warm taste full of wood with hints of orange peel and vanilla

YY 🇯🇵 | 9 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Good opportunity to think about Jamaica,Thanx!

forrest loftis 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

If I stocked it I would use it for mixing. Too harsh for a sipper and difficult to distinguished specific flavors. Rather much of a burn which I don t care for. It's come to be what I expect when buying Appleton or Bacardi . Both these giants need to catch up to their great completion in quality sipping rum for the limited budget.

Jay Crandall 🇺🇸 | 12 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

The Appleton Estate Rum is (in my opinion) neither fish nor fowl- It self advertises as "the best Jamaica offers" yet doesn't present itself as a Notable "on the rocks" or "Straight up" drink. Perhaps the older variations have a more impressive taste to them. For me, it's too raw-

Dai 🇬🇧 | 15 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

If you haven't tried this rum yet I suggest you do it is an excellent rum full of flavour.

Daniel 🇺🇸 | 29 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Decent flavor with barrel flavor but very little body.

Case 🇬🇧 | 15 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

This was my introduction to the Jamaican style of rums - strong, very aromatic and unapologetic. I remember on my first sips I was shocked and disappointed. This was nothing like the sweet and balanced rums I had tried so far. Later, now that the bottle is almost empty, I have grown to love this Jamaican spirit. It's harsh and raw, very spicy, hits your palate with a sting, quite dry. A fantastic, truly different rum.

Zeck 🇫🇷 | 61 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

Une des références à goûter.

larry johnson 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 10 years ago

very nice tasting a little strong after taste I order this if they have it a the bars over Bacardi silver

SlowRain 🇻🇳 | 36 ratings
Posted almost 11 years ago

This one is difficult for me to post about because it's so loved by others, but I just don't like this one neat. There is something harsh in the finish that makes me cringe. I can't be bothered to drink stuff like that. However, having said that, this is one heck of a great mixer! I'd give it a 4 or 5 if it was just neat, but my rating of 7 is because of the wonderful flavor it adds to mixed drinks.

Markku 🇫🇮 | 12 ratings
Posted almost 11 years ago

This is quite complex, well aged, nutty, powerful and not too sweet rum. Aftertaste are quite harsh in the first place, but give it time, swirl the glass and then it becomes smoother a little bit. Cheapest 12 years old spirit I have ever seen and definitely not the worst!




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Appleton Estate
Country: Jamaica
Name: Extra 12-Year
ABV: 43%
Years Aged: 12
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

Loading...