Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year rum

Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year

Jamaica | Aged | 43.0% ABV

Appleton Estate 12-Year Rum is a blend of several rums aged between 12 and 18 years in American oak barrels after being distilled using small-batch copper pot stills.

The rum is produced on the Appleton Estate, which sits in the Nassau Valley in Jamaica. The estate’s origins date back as far as 1655 when the English overthrew the Spanish to rule the island and Frances Dickinson, grandfather of the distillery’s founders, received the land as a reward for his role in the overthrow.

7.0/10
653 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
10
10
37
110
223
204
45
8

Rate Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

653 Appleton Estate Extra 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Ronald Broers 🇳🇱 | 17 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Definately a good aged rum. Nice spipper, would buy it again any day...

Case 🇬🇧 | 15 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This was my introduction to the Jamaican style of rums - strong, very aromatic and unapologetic. I remember on my first sips I was shocked and disappointed. This was nothing like the sweet and balanced rums I had tried so far. Later, now that the bottle is almost empty, I have grown to love this Jamaican spirit. It's harsh and raw, very spicy, hits your palate with a sting, quite dry. A fantastic, truly different rum.

Zeck 🇫🇷 | 61 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Une des références à goûter.

larry johnson 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

very nice tasting a little strong after taste I order this if they have it a the bars over Bacardi silver

SlowRain Taiwan, Republic Of China | 36 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

This one is difficult for me to post about because it's so loved by others, but I just don't like this one neat. There is something harsh in the finish that makes me cringe. I can't be bothered to drink stuff like that. However, having said that, this is one heck of a great mixer! I'd give it a 4 or 5 if it was just neat, but my rating of 7 is because of the wonderful flavor it adds to mixed drinks.

Markku 🇫🇮 | 12 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

This is quite complex, well aged, nutty, powerful and not too sweet rum. Aftertaste are quite harsh in the first place, but give it time, swirl the glass and then it becomes smoother a little bit. Cheapest 12 years old spirit I have ever seen and definitely not the worst!

JJ Geewax 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

Not a bad one, obviously the older ones are a bit tastier.

Sakulnikov 🇨🇿 | 17 ratings
Posted 9 years ago

I like its dark colour however I can't say the same about its aroma. I just don't smell anything in it. Well the taste is significantly better than the aroma - caramel and some nuts. The taste is full with and has a decent finish. For me it is an average rum (well I expected a more complex taste and aroma from a 12yo - without knowing it I'd guess this rum is 7-9yo). It could be good sipping if you don't have much experience with rums and also a good introduction to 12yo rums but nothing more.

Robert 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Though I find Appleton runs dry, I enjoy them. I agree with an earlier review that a 12 year old rum should have more character but that withstanding this is still a very drinkable rum. Its fairly smooth and displays mild oakiness and vanilla hints. Has a decent finish. Good Value.

SaltwaterTom 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Relatively smooth, rich, a good drink.

Mike McPhee 🇨🇦 | 13 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Appleton Rum is OK at the best of times. The 12 year old does hold a smoother taste than the regular bottles. Colour is attractive and can be enjoyed on the rocks but there are much better options such as El Dorado 12.




Brand Details

Name: Extra 12-Year
Company: Appleton Estate
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 43.0%
Aged: 12

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading