Panama-Pacific 9-Year rum

Panama-Pacific 9-Year

Panama | Aged

7.2/10
13 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
1
2

Rate Panama-Pacific 9-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

13 Panama-Pacific 9-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

I tried this at a rum festival, and was very impressed with the smoothness and balance of this offering. Indeed, it was among my favorites at the event. Highly recommended.

Edit 8/2017 - Rich, slightly sweet, and pleasantly bottled at 47.3%ABV. Priced under $30, this is an ideal "Spanish style" mixing rum, that can also be enjoyed neat. Still highly recommended.

7+

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I was so impressed with the 23 year old that I went back to grab the 9 the very next day. I'm a firm believer in side by side tasting. It's not enough to just say the sky is blue, wiki has 67 shades of blue listed and without 2 points how can you measure?
Beyond the obvious age difference it should be noted that the younger of the two is bottled 5% higher at 94.6 proof. I most certainly had to let them breath for a few minutes to clear the air so to speak. These are big rums and I did need to resort to a salted baguette crisp or two for a little palette cleansing while sampling.
The nose is pretty non-discernible, conventional wisdom says the elder is softer and it is, but here's the thing, big brother is not much heavier with barrel notes. The Oak in the younger is there but it's wispy. I absolutely love and agree with the 9 being bottled at a higher ABV. It cuts the less refined and mellowed sugars of it's elder and in doing so becomes multifaceted. It's closer to the stalk and more vibrant. Hitting the 9 with a splash of H2O cutting the burn left me with the distinct mind set that the Panama-Pacific rums are 100% about the quality of the cane and the aging is solely for the intricate nuances. Which is the obvious function of aging most everything anyways. Ultimately everything ages and pairing these siblings side by side can easily turn the evening into a metaphysical exercise.
At the very least I came away with a better grip on what the long idle time does too fermented distilled sugar as it basks in oak at equatorial climates.
Finally in a clean dry glass tilt test as well as a swirl test our mature girl gives up the legs a little quicker. I think I'd like to live with the 23 but at $30 out the door the 9 is steamrolling.

Alas 🇵🇷 | 228 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

I dont like overly sweet rums so if you like that then this is an 8, but solid complex taste for sipping great peppery bite on finish. Exactly what you’d expect from Panama. Good job i hate that I dont like it more wish it was less sweet, maybe age it bourbon barrels?

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 464 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

I have been wanting to try this rum for quite some time, so I picked up a bottle today. The aroma is alcohol and oak with the same two flavors going down the pipe. Holy moly! Does it ever burn! Then I read the fine print on the label which states that it is 94.6 proof. This is definitely rum for whiskey lovers and it is quite dry. For me, it is best enjoyed on the rocks and this is when the other flavors finally come out. It is not very complex at all. It is just pure and simple rum. However, as a mixer it ruined a perfectly good Pepsi.

Update December 1, 2018: While watching DVD's of fairly recent live Rolling Stones concerts in anticipation of their upcoming USA tour in the spring of 2019, I sipped this one on the rocks as I first recommended. After drinking Flor de Cana 7, this one pales in comparison. It is just too dull and boring and too much overproof. I have no choice except to lower my rating from a 7 to a 5 and will never buy this one again.

In my overall rankings, I now have a much cheaper bar staple being rated about 7 points higher. Between $7 per bottle of the bar staple versus $29 per bottle of this Panama Pacific, I will gladly choose the bar staple for both taste and price. This is really quite sad! Don't be fooled by rums from this distiller! By the way, the bar staple is not from Bacardi or Captain Morgan.

Matthew Brown 🇺🇸 | 27 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Crisp, refresing finish from a drier Central American rum. I was expecting something closer to Zafra or Ronnie Z but this is much more balanced and nuanced. I recommend this one Old Fashioned or just a splash of water to open it up. Complex and balanced. Wish it had a full bouquet on the nose to add an even bigger element of complexity, but what are you going to do

MaxMunafo (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 67 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Update: Test showed 0g sugar **(my hydrometer is not super accurate though)**
Bumped rating up to 8 because of this, plus I found a store selling it for $16 USD!

Everyone seems to disagree about whether this juice is legit (by that I mean true age statement, no flavoring, etc.)

I've read everything from "best I've ever tasted" to "gasoline and paint", but to me this is a solid mid-range sipper with just enough proof be memorable. Now I really need to find the older expressions.

Notes of butterscotch, cinnamon, blackberries, and a very spicy oak finish.

filovo 🇨🇿 | 404 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

barva : jantarová
vune karamel vanilka
chut: na panamu docela težký rum, vanilka, karamel,
zaver : dubový záver, teší
hodnoceni 7,3
koupit ano z 40%
Alcohol 47,3 %

Mujuru 🇺🇸 | 135 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

I think I have discovered that Panamanian rums are just my jam. This was a rum that, based on descriptions, I didn’t think I would really like...I was wrong again. This was a delightful combination of strength and character at a great price point. The nose is a perfect aromatic balance of vanilla, raisins, and nougat. The first taste has a wonderful smoothness that coats your tongue (without being viscous) and the palate opens up with a pleasant blend of caramel, bourbon, and spice. Despite the strength and other reviews I detected no burn. The aftertaste has bourbon and light caramel notes. The experience is not quite as impressive as Zafra but this is nonetheless definitely a rum I will be adding to my cabinet given the character and price point. What a wonderful combination. I am not a cigar smoker, but if I was I would pair a good cigar with this rum.

Nose: 7
Palate: 7
Aftertaste: 7
Smoothness: 7
Versatility: 9
Price: 7

Total: 7.3

je_farley 🇺🇸 | 106 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

The nose and burn on the tongue tell you up front that this is a higher proof, not for sipping. The real find here is the way it blends adding distinct tastes with different mixers. Coke, lemon-lime, ginger ale, etc., every one brings out different flavors in the rum.

It made for a great night to discover the many facets of this rum and will look forward to finding the 23.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2994 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Enjoyed a glass of Panama Pacific 9y with my friend while road tripping through 18 states and 5,000 miles. Nice and unique bottle and label design. Amber color. Plenty of oak, mild smokiness and some vanilla to the nose and palate. Quite a strong burn at the end. Whisky lovers can easily add 2 points.




Brand Details

Name: 9-Year
Company: Panama-Pacific
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 9

Loading

Loading

Loading