Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Panama-Pacific 9-Year rum

Panama-Pacific 9-Year

Panama | Aged

7.0/10
21 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
0
0
3
3
9
3
3
0

Rate Panama-Pacific 9-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

21 Panama-Pacific 9-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 321 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I tried this at a rum festival, and was very impressed with the smoothness and balance of this offering. Indeed, it was among my favorites at the event. Highly recommended.

Edit 8/2017 - Rich, slightly sweet, and pleasantly bottled at 47.3%ABV. Priced under $30, this is an ideal "Spanish style" mixing rum, that can also be enjoyed neat. Still highly recommended.

7+

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

I was so impressed with the 23 year old that I went back to grab the 9 the very next day. I'm a firm believer in side by side tasting. It's not enough to just say the sky is blue, wiki has 67 shades of blue listed and without 2 points how can you measure?
Beyond the obvious age difference it should be noted that the younger of the two is bottled 5% higher at 94.6 proof. I most certainly had to let them breath for a few minutes to clear the air so to speak. These are big rums and I did need to resort to a salted baguette crisp or two for a little palette cleansing while sampling.
The nose is pretty non-discernible, conventional wisdom says the elder is softer and it is, but here's the thing, big brother is not much heavier with barrel notes. The Oak in the younger is there but it's wispy. I absolutely love and agree with the 9 being bottled at a higher ABV. It cuts the less refined and mellowed sugars of it's elder and in doing so becomes multifaceted. It's closer to the stalk and more vibrant. Hitting the 9 with a splash of H2O cutting the burn left me with the distinct mind set that the Panama-Pacific rums are 100% about the quality of the cane and the aging is solely for the intricate nuances. Which is the obvious function of aging most everything anyways. Ultimately everything ages and pairing these siblings side by side can easily turn the evening into a metaphysical exercise.
At the very least I came away with a better grip on what the long idle time does too fermented distilled sugar as it basks in oak at equatorial climates.
Finally in a clean dry glass tilt test as well as a swirl test our mature girl gives up the legs a little quicker. I think I'd like to live with the 23 but at $30 out the door the 9 is steamrolling.

Rumrun11 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 125 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

9 years and 47.3% ABV is first issue for me. In my humble opinion a rum with that much alcohol should be aged more than 9 years to allow other flavors to take hold other than alcohol and wood. I did not even notice the ABV until after it was purchased. Totally my fault!!! Anyway, nose was as expected alcohol and bit of wood. tried neat and no way! At least cleared my sinuses for a few moments. I let breathe for 15 minutes added some ice and improvement was obvious but still just too much alcohol taste and hints of wood and raisin and banana that try to come out but just don't seem to make it. Not a bad rum but just a rum without an identity. I will for sure try the 23 year at some point as I know the ABV is lower and reviews are really positive. Have no clue why the other offerings are at a lower ABV and this one is jacked up but it just really does not work for this particular rum. That being said it is slightly above average with semi-sweet and semi-dry taste.

revsteph (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 382 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Purchased in Topeka. Tasted May 15, 2023.
Aroma: heat and sweet, some vanilla
Flavor: caramel, vanilla, sweet goodness
This is a delicious sippable rum.
Edit: 6/11 I'll add white pepper to the flavor profile. I'm still loving this rum.

Alas 🇵🇷 | 510 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I dont like overly sweet rums so if you like that then this is an 8, but solid complex taste for sipping great peppery bite on finish. Exactly what you’d expect from Panama. Good job i hate that I dont like it more wish it was less sweet, maybe age it bourbon barrels?

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 472 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I have been wanting to try this rum for quite some time, so I picked up a bottle today. The aroma is alcohol and oak with the same two flavors going down the pipe. Holy moly! Does it ever burn! Then I read the fine print on the label which states that it is 94.6 proof. This is definitely rum for whiskey lovers and it is quite dry. For me, it is best enjoyed on the rocks and this is when the other flavors finally come out. It is not very complex at all. It is just pure and simple rum. However, as a mixer it ruined a perfectly good Pepsi.

Update December 1, 2018: While watching DVD's of fairly recent live Rolling Stones concerts in anticipation of their upcoming USA tour in the spring of 2019, I sipped this one on the rocks as I first recommended. After drinking Flor de Cana 7, this one pales in comparison. It is just too dull and boring and too much overproof. I have no choice except to lower my rating from a 7 to a 5 and will never buy this one again.

In my overall rankings, I now have a much cheaper bar staple being rated about 7 points higher. Between $7 per bottle of the bar staple versus $29 per bottle of this Panama Pacific, I will gladly choose the bar staple for both taste and price. This is really quite sad! Don't be fooled by rums from this distiller! By the way, the bar staple is not from Bacardi or Captain Morgan.

Matthew Brown 🇺🇸 | 27 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Crisp, refresing finish from a drier Central American rum. I was expecting something closer to Zafra or Ronnie Z but this is much more balanced and nuanced. I recommend this one Old Fashioned or just a splash of water to open it up. Complex and balanced. Wish it had a full bouquet on the nose to add an even bigger element of complexity, but what are you going to do

ShadowDragon 🇺🇸 | 76 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

I'll be honest, I don't recall which ages I tried since this was the first rum of the night at a local rum tasting, but I tried two different offerings from Panama-Pacific and they were both very similar. Dry, a bit harsh up front, not very complex, but ok lightly aged rums. Would probably make for a good mixer.

dakob 🇨🇿 | 105 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Aroma hints at oak, pepper, and subtle smoke. Taste reveals oak, pepper, and delicate vanilla notes.

ripperussr 🇨🇿 | 545 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

Dried fruits, caramel, vanilla, coconut and scent of banana in aroma; butter caramel, vanilla and spicy body with barel finish; mild warming pepper tail.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Panama-Pacific
Country: Panama
Years Aged: 9
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No
1. Total Wine
Loading...