Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV

6.4/10
643 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
10
11
35
34
73
115
157
104
68
36

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

643 Bumbu Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 years ago by Jaybird πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 48 ratings

The first thing you can say about this drink is that it definitely has plenty of banana. I hesitate to call it rum. As others have said it's more of a banana/vanilla liqueur. The first sip confirms the aroma.... with a bunch (no pun intended) of banana and vanilla. Warming and then a slightly bitter banana (surprise) finish. I don't think I'd want to have to drink this very often.

There is not really much if any rum character that I can find in this. Too much spice, banana, vanilla etc. It's sweet but not sugary if that makes sense. The flavor of the drink coats the palate and lingers on and on. The longer I sit here with it next to me the more I dislike it. The aroma is overpoweringly banana. I like sweet rums, dry rums and those right down the middle but I don't like this.

I'd have a hard time recommending this to anyone who wants to taste rum. There are a lot of people out there who like spiced rums and think that is what rum is all about but even to them I'd say just stick with Captain Morgan or CM Private Stock. It's infinitely better and much less expensive.

At $36 in Ohio it's WAY, actually obscenely overpriced. Don't waste your money.

Posted over 5 years ago by Daniel Lether πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 67 ratings

The owner of my local liquor store ( also a rum drinker ) showed me this rum. He had a open bottle for tasting because that is where this rum is special.
Again just as the plantation pineapple this is a fruity rum. The rum itself is a pretty smooth sipper not to sweet, but then you get hit with a sweet wave of bananna. Cool experience and a definate contender for summertime cocktails!

Posted almost 5 years ago by TommyVinegar πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ | 46 ratings

Tons of added sugar (sticky lips), added banana extract and vanilla extract, an ugly, childish bottle that screams 'themepark giftshop': this is a joke. Those 'professional' reviewers on spirits/lifestyle-websites that say this is good rum have either been bribed by Bumbu or have no idea what rum really tastes like. This is not rum, this is a banana licqueur It is so sweet, I was sick after half a glass. Only if your diet consist of liters of sugary energy drinks - and your ability to discern anything but sweetness has long since died - could you appreciate this rum. It's a disgrace.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mic πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 4 ratings

This crap is overpriced and overloaded with an unnatural sweetness. There is strong smell of alcohol, vanilla extract, and banana laffy taffy as you lift your glass to take a sip. The body is weak and sugary with a finish that is chemical tasting sprinkled with peppered bananas. This stuff is only good for maybe making mixed party drinks. I can definitely see a bad hangover from over indulging in this one due to the high sugar content. Traditional rum drinkers this is a pass. There are A TON of better rums out there for $30+ that I paid for this one like appletons 12 year rare blend.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Darrell πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2 ratings

Being a bit new to the rum world and after trying the mainstream brands , I want to try something different . What drew me to this was the bottle . Reminds me of pirates ( and I love anything pirate) . I like the color almost whiskey like , the nose gave me hints of vanilla and bananas foster. The taste was about the same with a hint of caramel , I don't think you can add enough O's in the word smooooooth . If you can find this rum I highly recommend it

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 514 ratings

I really liked this rum, except the added banana flavor. Might have been an '8' rating had they not added all that banana.

Smells and tastes of banana, vanilla, sweet caramel, spice, nuts, and cinnamon. Not bad, except the banana flavor. :-p If you like natural banana in your rum, then you might like this a lot more than I did.

Posted over 5 years ago by Jeff Hamilton πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 1 rating

Got this rum as a Christmas present from my kids, acting on a recommendation from our local liquor store - evidently they can't keep up with the demand!
Very attractive presentation with pirate-like "X marks the spot" bottle design and a big cork stopper.
The taste was notable, BIG banana flavour, will plenty of vanilla and caramel in the background, quite a sweetness to it, and very minimal finish with little after-burn. Very smooth, and the first glass was gone before I even realized it.
I do agree with some of the "not like a true rum" reviews others have posted, but taken for what this is, which is more of a dessert drink or almost a liquor, this is a very nice addition to the bar, to be enjoyed straight up on a cold day.

Posted over 3 years ago by catalyst_245 πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί | 6 ratings

I tried this once. It's watery and sweet. The fact it's bottled at 35% to save on taxes yet costs as much as a premium blend is not forgivable. Stay away.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Canadian Captain πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 66 ratings

Quite tasty, but overwhelmingly banana flavors hit you. If this was marketed as a dessert rum, or a banana liquor, it would be a different story. But it's a rum, and an eye-catching one at that.
I think this would mix very nicely into a rum punch, but I've only ever had it neat. And, as the picture will show, I've had a few glasses. Maybe one day I'll mix it up...

Posted almost 5 years ago by Cardene πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ | 17 ratings

More of a sweet liquer than a rum. Too much banana, toi sweet and not enough depth or complexicity.

Posted 1 year ago by Jake1799 πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 12 ratings

If you are into artificial banana and added sugar than this might be for you, its not for me




Brand Details

Name: Original
Company: Bumbu
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2908
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
546
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
514