Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV

6.4/10
664 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
10
12
39
36
76
117
161
107
69
37

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

664 Bumbu Original ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Ronald Broers 🇳🇱 | 17 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Not what I was expecting. Very sweet with strong flavours of banana and caramel. It appears to me as a liquid desert. Taste is good for a liqueur, not so much for a rum...

Rumislove 🇫🇷 | 5 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

True nice bottle with a gold cross. The cork is coated with wax. Color is good smell is toffee, alcohol and something else strange...
First sip and... It taste like child cough syrup and it is almost sweet.
Definitely a deceipt, once again marketing won.

Paddyspubb 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted almost 2 years ago

A fairly sweet rum that brings a nice change of pace to the traditional tastings. For some it may be a bit too sweet, and if it is to be mixed it should definitely be mixed with a diet soda or it may be overpowering in sweetness. Can be purchased for around 35 dollars in Arkansas and Missouri, and with a really cool glass bottle. It makes for an awesome inexpensive gift!

Foggyrumrunner 🇨🇦 | 50 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I’m indebted to Bumbu for re-igniting my interest in rum. Last year when I tried it I thought it was one of the very best rums I’d ever tried. Having sampled a few more since, I can see the criticism levied against it: too sweet, too much vanilla, more like a liqueur, etc. Yes, those are fair critiques but is that a complete portrait? Having not touched it in a year, I tried it again today and here’s how I see it. The nose has a nice mix of oak, vanilla and toasted coconut. It’s not complex but is certainly far from repugnant. The palate is rather simple too, with sweet vanilla but also something like a maraschino note or almond extract. Yes, it’s sweet, but is it as absolutely unpalatable as some suggest? No! In fact I like this better than Captain Morgan Private Stock, with which it shares some similarity with in terms of overall profile. Both are “dessert” rums, if one had to suggest a name for the category. I think this would be a good rum to serve guests who were not used to rum. The sweetness would be appealing, just as it was for me a year ago. It’s easy to simply “copy cat” criticism here, but while I see this rum’s limitations, I don’t really think it’s as bad as some suggest. De gustibus non disputandum est - there is no disputing taste! Some will like, some won’t. I think it’s ok - neither great but not horrible, either.

SirZalka 🇨🇦 | 7 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Like others have said, it's definitely sweet with a lot of banana. I definitely enjoy it, but if you don't like sweet rums, this might not be for you. That said, if you're just getting into rum and are looking for something smooth, this is far from a bad choice.

Immiketoo 🇬🇷 | 60 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I bought this on the recommendations of several people I know in real life. The bottle has great presentation and looks appealing.

I was excited to try a new rum and I was seriously disappointed with this one. In fact, I wouldn’t call it rum at all. It has a very chemical taste. It’s sweet but with no definable flavors and the aftertaste is horrible. So bad in fact, I needed to wash the taste out with some good rum.

If this was the only rum available I’d pick any other alcoholic beverage first. Moral of the story? Find people here who’s ratings you trust and research before buying. I’ll give this back to the store if the guy wants it. I wouldn’t even give this to guests unless I didn’t like them :)

Jaybird 🇺🇸 | 48 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

The first thing you can say about this drink is that it definitely has plenty of banana. I hesitate to call it rum. As others have said it's more of a banana/vanilla liqueur. The first sip confirms the aroma.... with a bunch (no pun intended) of banana and vanilla. Warming and then a slightly bitter banana (surprise) finish. I don't think I'd want to have to drink this very often.

There is not really much if any rum character that I can find in this. Too much spice, banana, vanilla etc. It's sweet but not sugary if that makes sense. The flavor of the drink coats the palate and lingers on and on. The longer I sit here with it next to me the more I dislike it. The aroma is overpoweringly banana. I like sweet rums, dry rums and those right down the middle but I don't like this.

I'd have a hard time recommending this to anyone who wants to taste rum. There are a lot of people out there who like spiced rums and think that is what rum is all about but even to them I'd say just stick with Captain Morgan or CM Private Stock. It's infinitely better and much less expensive.

At $36 in Ohio it's WAY, actually obscenely overpriced. Don't waste your money.

Benglea 🇨🇦 | 1 rating
Posted over 3 years ago

Taste more like a candy than a rum. This is too sweet and almost artificial ! There are so many rum from Barbados.better than that one

Jan Mynar 🇨🇿 | 53 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Podle legislativy EU tohle neni rum a už vubec by nemeli prezentovat ze je z Barbadosu ... hnus

Jason 🇺🇸 | 2 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Bumbu is a high additive mess that barely resembles a rum. If you're looking for a sugary rum liqueur, you might like it. I do not.

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Sugar: Off the charts at an estimated 45 -50 GPL. This is a rum liqueur and is only 35% ABV.
It has an interesting bottle and I give that a point as it looks good on the shelf. As for taste it's very sweet and my opinion is that it tastes like Cream Soda or bananas with syrup. It's an after dinner rum for doing a quick shot of sugar caused you missed desert. Yeah it's gimmicky and not really a serious rum, and it's okay to have it in your bar even if it's just for the bottle.




Brand Details

Name: Original
Company: Bumbu
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading