Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Bumbu Original rum

Bumbu Original

AC
Andy avatar image
CR
had this rum recently

Barbados | Aged | 40% ABV

6.3/10
879 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
17
52
48
100
153
208
150
92
42

Rate Bumbu Original

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

879 Bumbu Original Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Bplottel 🇨🇦 | 27 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Probably one of the better mixing rums there is. almost any casual person will enjoy however borders on the edge of being a liqueur rather than a true Rum. Be warned it is EXTREMELY sweet and syrupy. So if that is not your cup of tea steer clear.

Jake1799 🇨🇦 | 12 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

If you are into artificial banana and added sugar than this might be for you, its not for me

Cowboy Neal 🇺🇸 | 31 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Good mixer, it has its place. Just not good for sipping unless you like loads of sweet

1000 Beaches 🇨🇦 | 1 rating
Posted over 4 years ago

First of all anything under 80 proof should not even qualify as rum. Then to replace the missing alcohol with sugar water and banana flavouring makes it a liqueur at best. Yes, they also have an XO version at 40% but it is still way too sweet. This is really just a marketing afterthought because they buy it from a completely different distillery and just slap their name on it. I cannot believe some of the high ratings as no serious appreciator of rum would ever consider this stuff good. As a side story I recently witnessed a top-knot in a suit order this in a bar with a full coke mix. I see dialysis in his future.

Peter 🇺🇸 | 29 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

If you like your rum to taste like syrup with banana flavouring then this is for you, otherwise I'd stay away! I ended up using mine to soak rasins for baking with! Far too sweet and artificially flavoured for me!

dwight.schrute 🇧🇬 | 8 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

This rum is a joke, and the joke is on everyone who paid good money for it. A mockery of a rum in a laughable bottle, my daughter's bubblegum has got a more solid and convincing banana taste. Crap, crap, crap in a glass. Faaar too sweet, fake chemical taste, zero complexity, just horrible. Considering its priced way above, say a 5 yo Barbados plantation just adds insult to injury. Never again!

OdysseusUnbound 🇨🇦 | 40 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

I don't know what this is, but it isn't rum. It's a sugary liqueur filled with artificial flavours. Gross. It's a no from me.

Foggyrumrunner 🇨🇦 | 50 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

I’m indebted to Bumbu for re-igniting my interest in rum. Last year when I tried it I thought it was one of the very best rums I’d ever tried. Having sampled a few more since, I can see the criticism levied against it: too sweet, too much vanilla, more like a liqueur, etc. Yes, those are fair critiques but is that a complete portrait? Having not touched it in a year, I tried it again today and here’s how I see it. The nose has a nice mix of oak, vanilla and toasted coconut. It’s not complex but is certainly far from repugnant. The palate is rather simple too, with sweet vanilla but also something like a maraschino note or almond extract. Yes, it’s sweet, but is it as absolutely unpalatable as some suggest? No! In fact I like this better than Captain Morgan Private Stock, with which it shares some similarity with in terms of overall profile. Both are “dessert” rums, if one had to suggest a name for the category. I think this would be a good rum to serve guests who were not used to rum. The sweetness would be appealing, just as it was for me a year ago. It’s easy to simply “copy cat” criticism here, but while I see this rum’s limitations, I don’t really think it’s as bad as some suggest. De gustibus non disputandum est - there is no disputing taste! Some will like, some won’t. I think it’s ok - neither great but not horrible, either.

NobleEskimo 🇨🇦 | 59 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Bumbu is the best selling "premium" rum in the liquor store I work at, and for good reason. It's sweet but not artificial, and the aromas of banana are welcoming, reminiscent of time spent on a beach somewhere. This is an extremely approachable rum for those looking to expand their palate, so long as you're looking for a lighter in flavour, and more tropica feeling rum.

Lewis 🇬🇧 | 13 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Was disappointed by this, should Be marked up as a spiced rum

Kanu 🇩🇰 | 5 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

A bit sweet, but man, I would like to drink this rhum again.




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Bumbu
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Name: Original
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Pure blend (1 distillery)
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Chips Liquor
2. RumRatings
3. Total Wine
Loading...