Siesta Key Toasted Coconut rum

Siesta Key Toasted Coconut

United States | Flavored

Siesta Key Toasted Coconut rum, a version of their Silver Rum that’s infused with real toasted coconut and natural spices. Honey is added before it’s bottled at 70 proof.

via American Rum Report
7.5/10
34 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
5
16
5
3

Rate Siesta Key Toasted Coconut

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

34 Siesta Key Toasted Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Michael N 🇺🇸 | 72 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

A friend of mine brought this bottle back from Florida for me since it is unavailable in my state. Having tried and rated the spiced offering from Siesta and reading the reviews on this one I was excited to try it. First off, I am a big coconut fan, so I knew I would like it. I tried it first neat, then with I cube of ice. The toasted coconut flavor is subtle and fantastic. This has smooth character and great flavor. Overall I preferred it with 1 ice cube just to settle down how sweet the rum is. This is the best coconut flavored rum I have come across. Too bad I can’t get it here because the bottle is almost empty.

RedBlaze6 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I'm going H.A.M.! Hot damn, this is good. First tasted this at the 2016 Miami RumFest. I quickly tracked it down at Total Wine and bought two bottles. This rum, which is 70 proof, actually has a toasted coconut flavor (as labeled) with a nice rich rum taste at the forefront. It is not overly sweet and can be enjoyed on its own, but is a champ in tropical drinks. I'm sure this will become widely available due it's great flavor.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 520 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This is one of the better coconut rums I've tried, and I've tried a lot. So why a 6? Because it's a flavored rum, which I don't like nearly as much as aged rums. Still, I scored this higher than most of the other coconut rums I've tried. As of this review, my favorite coconut rum is the Koloa Kaua'i Coconut.

Tastes of toasted coconut, spice, vanilla, honey, and pie crust.

Jaybird 🇺🇸 | 48 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

First thing you get is A LOT of vanilla. Almost no coconut in the nose. Soft ethanol and vanilla dominate with perhaps a bit of honey.
Flavor is vanilla heavy with hints of coconut coming through and a fair amount of sweetness. (from the honey?) Drinks smooth & easy like a Sunday morning. Vanilla all the way through with coconut coming in just about halfway and then fading in the finish. A little bit of chocolate there as well.
Overall this one is easy to sip but a little would go a long way for me or anybody that likes a more pure, dry expression. I would think spiced rum lovers would drink this up big time. I could see some use for this in creating some fun crowd pleasing cocktails.
The distillery assured me that all the coconut, vanilla and other spices are all natural spices and no artificial or man made substances are infused into the rum, which is an unaged Florida molasses based rum in case you wanted to know.
A decent product but perhaps a little weak on the coconut and a little to heavy handed on the vanilla.

ProfessionalFloridian 🇺🇸 | 13 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Dumping flavors into young spirits is one of my biggest pet peeves. If you're a small upstart, of course you need time to age and perfect your product. But all the rums I've had from Siesta Key felt phoned in and shortcut. A good white/silver rum or blend is a fine way to start. Going for the low hanging fruit with flavored rums for people who don't know or care about the differences is a huge turnoff. My hope is the folks at Siesta Kay have some rum packed away in casks and in 8 to 10 years we'll see some more refined and crafted rums, and the winecoolerish candy sweet syrup rums will go away.

XenoCorey 🇺🇸 | 43 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Incredibly underrated, probably due to rarity. This casts a long dark shadow over any other rum posing as coconut flavored.

Hornet1968 🇺🇸 | 22 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Smell is sweet and alcohol. Once you taste it though, it's surprising mellow. Absolutely not too sweet. A perfect balance

Scott T 🇺🇸 | 122 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

This is an excellent rum to sip if you like the taste of toasted coconut. i am not sure it would hold up well in fruity tropical drinks as it is probably not assertive enough. But why would you want to when it is sooo good on its own?

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This stuff is positively delicious. It's a flavored rum, but without any sickening sweetness or questionable additives. The toasted coconut flavor is positvely resplendent with soft, buttery tones and genuinely rich, fruity goodness. Available at Total Wine for $23.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Elsewhere in a review I wrote a while back I proclaimed Koloa Coconut to be the best coconut rum. Now it's tied for first with Siesta Key Toasted Coconut rum.

First off, it was tough trying to track down a bottle in the first place. I had read how good this rum is online and decided to try it but no one for a while could get a bottle. I emailed the company back in November, 2015 and it turned out the demand was so high that they just ran out and wouldn't get more out the door until February, 2016. This rum has gotten very popular. Eventually I got a bottle to try.

The folks at Siesta Key have another absolute winner.

First it is a beautiful straw/light gold color. Swirling it in my snifter reveals good long legs as well as a good cling to the wall of the glass only to slowly slide to the bottom.

The fragrance is also absolutely outstanding. None of that cloyingly sweet artificial coconut smell most cheap rum emit. Rather this smells like toasted coconut mixed in with a noticeable sugar cane aroma. Very nice.

The flavor is exceedingly nice. Definitely sweet with vanilla undertones to go with the toasted coconut but none of that cloyingly/sickenly sweet stuff the cheap rums offer. No significant burn. A nice warmth from the 70 proof rum. Not sure if it is aged in oak barrels but there is really is little, if any, oakiness present. Very smooth.

Now if you want a massive coconut flavor along with alcohol in your tropical drink get the cheap stuff. But if you want a coconut rum worthy of sipping neat then Siesta Key Toasted Coconut is one of only two coconut rums I would recommend (see first paragraph above for the other).

The good folks at Siesta Key rums are doing things right in that part of Florida and word is getting out at how good their rums are. Their products will spread and demand will continue to increase. I expect good things for them.

Captain_Tyson 🇺🇸 | 88 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

If you’re looking for a coconut flavored rum, this is it. Top of the charts




Brand Details

Name: Toasted Coconut
Company: Siesta Key
Type: Flavored
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading