Posting your rating...
896 8-Year rum

896 8-Year

Barbados | Aged

6.5/10
27 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
10
11
2

Rate 896 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

27 896 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 304 ratings

I admit right up front that I am a fan of Barbados rums.

This rum has a nice rich amber hue that borders on mahogany. It has a very nice aroma. Swirling it in my snifter reveals long, slender legs. A subtle aroma with hints of sweetness.

The flavor is surprisingly mild. Smooth enough for sipping but rather plain. Some initial sweetness at the outset and some oak undertones but mild. It's the best word I can come up with: mild. Not much of a burn for an 80 proof rum. It does have some butteriness to it and noticeable vanilla undertones. Could be sugared a bit. I am not sure. Doesn't seem to be much, if any.

This rum is kind of an enigma...sort of tasty but something is lacking. Can't quite put my finger on it. I may have to revisit this review sometime down the road.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Chet from United States with 190 ratings

For an 8 year old rum I would expect more. Decent with a splash of coke or in a cocktail but "NEAT" it is not.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Robert from United States with 84 ratings

Not much flavor. Good with cola but not much else.

Posted 4 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 55 ratings

Total Wine and Spirits had this rum available for $21.99. Advertised with a 93 rating from the Beverage Testing Institute and 4.5 stars from customers. As a fan of Barbados rums I thought I'd give 896 a try. It's very good for the price, but as others have said here it's more of a mixer than a sipper. Expected a little more complexity for an 8 year rum.

Posted 5 months ago by Roadking1997 from United States with 20 ratings

Good rum, much better than the 5 year. Especially good flavor for the price.

Posted 7 months ago by Djmillard (TASTING CLUB) from United States with 24 ratings

Was tempted into this by the sleek labeling and the on-sale price tag of a mere $18 (if memory serves).

Mild, bordering on unexciting, but quite smooth. Moderately sweet as well. Gentle and caramely on the nose with only a slight alcohol nip. Maybe just a touch of vanilla, but flavors are really quite muted.

I do think this is quite a nice mixer, and have enjoyed a couple of great rum'n'cokes with it already. For sipping it's a bit uninteresting but fine for a quick dip now and then, as it's hardly unpleasant.

Posted 11 months ago by KrisE from United States with 1 rating

Nose is pleasant
Feels a bit watery and cheap
But has some upside might make a better cocktail rum then a sipper

Posted 1 year ago by jackw625 from United States with 36 ratings

The flavor is what I’m looking for but it doesn’t com through enough

Posted over 1 year ago by AntonioPatriarca from United States with 7 ratings

I purchased this to be a mixer and it does quite a nice job. I would not consider it a sipper.

Posted over 1 year ago by Kevin Guske from United States with 6 ratings

Too strong for 8-year aging, but 896 has a nice flavor once you can feel your tongue again.