896 8-Year rum

896 8-Year

Barbados | Aged

6.6/10
30 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
10
12
4

Rate 896 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

30 896 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

poly.pop 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

On the nose, noticabley hotter than comparable bottles (Doorlys 8, etc) and less complex. Some caramel and vanilla up front, oaky almost bitter on the tail. Lacks the depth and fruity richness you'd expect from an 8yr Barbados rum.

Ken 🇺🇸 | 71 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Great aged flavor for every day. Nicely balanced and deep richness. Good for sipping on the rocks. Very good price. Not a 9, but a solid 8

poosu 🇺🇸 | 40 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

I though this one might be nice and I was not disappointed. Not sure why it hasn't gotten higher ratings. I like the taste and it' pretty smooth. I paid more than some other raters but it still was reasonable. If I could get nothing else for the rest of my life i would be happy.

Steve Zuckerman 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted 4 years ago

a tasty, inexpensive, all around good sipping rum, ideal to have around as a versatile house rum.

Troy 🇺🇸 | 29 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

By far it not a bad rum, but it missing something. I always use a lime when mixed with coke, but this brand needs one. I am at a lost for an eight year old rum. I would buy it again only if my other specialty rums were out of stock. If you never tried it, I would recommend it.

Dean 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Fairly mild at first and a spicy finish. Probably a decent mixer.

Bob 🇺🇸 | 74 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

It's noticeably smooth to drink but in muting the harshness they seem to also mute the flavors. There are some mild dried fruit flavors with a bittersweet vanilla finish. It's good and smooth but nothing pops. I will revisit this as I do most of my reviews.

Michael Roberts 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Slightly above average aroma and taste, but the finish was not the best - a little harsh.

GregS 🇺🇸 | 27 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I've been keeping an eye on this rum for a while. It's bargain priced and the BTI rates it at 93. I had to give it a shot.
It has a beautiful, dark copper color and nice legs. Aroma is a little sweet but with a tiny bit of smoke. I don't taste the sweetness that the aroma hinted at, but I do get a little bit of what may be toffee. Finishes normally and doesn't really have a lasting aftertaste.
A bit odd to me is there is a lot of tingling on my tongue. Unlike most of the other rum I've tried. But it's fairly smooth. I look forward to trying this one's 5 year old sibling. I'll keep a bottle of this in the cabinet.

Herman 🇺🇸 | 103 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Purchased for $21.99 in Delaware. At first I did not expect a good sipping rum for the price, but it received a Silver Medal from Total Wine & Liquor, so I thought I'd give it a try. It does have a rich dark color and decent legs which is not expected from a $20 bottle of rum. First taste was rather surprising, very good, quite smooth, but not as complex in flavors as other rums. For the money, it is a good choice.

NutterSipper 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Initially I thought this was a 6, but given that I keep going back I will give it a 7. Taste profile somewhat similar to K&S 12 or Pampero, not as thick, nor sweet as either one of those two. Notes of vanilla, leather and vintage trunk. You may want to say, that is an awful description, but in the back of the palate it tastes very nice.




Brand Details

Name: 8-Year
Company: 896
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 8

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading